We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Cliff House Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Cliff House Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

161 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Cliff House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 152: English reviews
atlanta
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2016

This hotel is right on the cliffs overlooking the beach where surfing was going on. Very friendly owner and Maggie was fantastic. She seemed to do it all there. One of the best values I have ever had. Also, said to have the best seafood in the area. I can attest that it was fresh and outstanding.

Helpful?
Thank Hyponic
Fionamary O, Manager at Cliff House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for taking the time to write this wonderful review on Trip Advisor. We very much appreciate your kind words about our staff and our fresh food. We hope to see you again. Kind regards, Fiona O'Callaghan More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2016 via mobile

Great spot. Central bar and restaurant and accommodation with fab sea view. Fantastic food, breakfast Fab lunches any time of day sandwiches anything in the line of food with lovely staff. Couldn't do enough for you. As for evening meals/Dinner, top class meals with top class staff. Why would you go anywhere else. As for bar music, most enjoyable all... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lisacreedon
Fionamary O, Manager at Cliff House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your fabulous review on Trip Advisor, it is always nice to hear our hard work isn't gone unnoticed, a huge thank you form all the team at the cliff house. We look forward to welcoming back to the hotel again next year , as you said yourself "if we'r all still alive " ! Yours... More 

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 6 September 2016

8 golfing ladies stayed in The Cliff House Hotel last week. We just want to say a big thank you to Fiona and her crew, we had a great time and enjoyed the music and the craic. The food was excellent and the rooms were cosy, clean and a lovely hot shower. We would really recommend it!

Helpful?
Thank evelyncoulson
Fionamary O, Manager at Cliff House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Pennys Chicks ! Thank you for taking the time to review us on trip advisor, thank you for all your wonderful comments and a special thank you for choosing us to host your girls golf break away, it was a pleasure to have you here with us. We look forward to having you all again in the future. Kind... More 

Dunstable, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2016 via mobile

Me, my girlfriend and her family stayed here on the 4th September for one night in two separate rooms. The hotel is great and looks really the part but for the price of a room per night we did not think it was worth it at all.. One of our room door locks was dodgy but they said that's how... More 

Helpful?
Thank JamieMardle
Fionamary O, Manager at Cliff House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor, I do apologise that your stay with us was not what you expected, from our records you booked with booking.com and the rate for two people sharing is €120.00 and one person is €75.00 I understand that you thought the room rate for two of you... More 

Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2016

We did not stay in the hotel but we had dinner in the restaurant. Lovely views and staff were very accommodating. We had infant baby and aunt with special needs and staff could not have been more welcoming. Good food options, healthy servings and priced reasonably too. Best place we ate in Ballybunion for sure.

Helpful?
Thank Sergeblanco14
Fionamary O, Manager at Cliff House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your lovely review on Trip Advisor, thank you for acknowledging all the little things we do like caring for your Aunt & baby it is nice to know it didn't go unnoticed. Thank you again for your lovely review, we hope to see you in the future. Kind Regards Mrs Mary Fiona O Callaghan (... More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2016 via mobile

Menu displayed for food no times saying food not been served till 5pm. Sat down order chicken nuggets nd chips for kids tea cake for myself nd the waitress came back said got to wait till 5pm Tis is 4pm to get food. For a hotel what a joke they are wouldn't recommend them

Helpful?
Thank Hazel D
Fionamary O, Manager at Cliff House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Hazel, Thank you for taking the time to re-view us on Trip Advisor, as I said on Sunday we close our kitchen on Sundays only between 4pm and 5pm for 1 hour only to turn our kitchen around for evening service, once again I do apologise that this did not suite you at the time you called in. I... More 

Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2016 via mobile

We were a large party of 14. Busy buzzy place. Excellent menu choices. The food was superb. I had the Atlantic prawns to start and monkfish which was the fish of the day in a peperedelle sauce. Great atmosphere and the service was great.

Helpful?
Thank Liz R
Fionamary O, Manager at Cliff House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your excellent review on Trip Advisor, it is most appreciated. Thank you for choosing us to help celebrate your special occasion, it was as special for us as it was for you. Once Again Thank You ! Kind Regards Mary Fiona O Callaghan ( Known as Fiona ) Manager More 

Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2016

Excellent food and fab views from restaurant. Food fresh and great value. Would recommend visit in relaxed and spectacular setting, attentive serving staff, efficient and all fresh good quality food. even though we were simply having a light lunch the service and standard was not compromised. Imaginative sandwish selection, seafood chowder that possibly could not be followed by a main... More 

Helpful?
Thank patrick h
Fionamary O, Manager at Cliff House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Patrick, Thank you do much for your lovely review on Trip Advisor, it is always lovely to get a nice review and its especially nice that our lunch food & service is up there with the dinner food & service so a huge thank you ! I hope you will visit us again for lunch or dinner. Kind Regards... More 

Dublin
Level Contributor
108 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2016 via mobile

Lovely hotel right at the edge of Ballybunion beach. The views from hotel rooms are super. Rooms themselves are lovely, clean and more modern than I was expecting . The food is of good quality, good choice on the bar/ restaurant menu and breakfast is a combination of self service and table service for hot breakfasts. There is live music... More 

Helpful?
Thank dublinsdelight
Fionamary O, Manager at Cliff House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your taking the time to review us on trip advisor, all comments are welcomed. Thank you for your lovely comments regarding our food. Thank you for acknowledging that " our rooms are lovely and clean with lovely views ". You are right to recommend a sea view. Yes we have entertainment nightly for July &... More 

County Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2016

When the kids were small,we used to stay here all the time.the hotel is overlooking the beach and is only a 5 minute walk away from it.I stayed here lately for the first time in years,and was surprised. the carpet and paint look so dirty and tired! during the night,you could here the people above you walking around and talking... More 

Helpful?
Thank Emily K
Fionamary O, Manager at Cliff House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Emily, Thank you for taking the time to re-view us on Trip Advisor, I see from your re-view you are a repeat customer to the Cliff House, I would like to acknowledge that and thank you for your repeat business. As you could see we have refurbished a lot of the hotel since your previous years of staying with... More 

41 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballybunion
14.8 km away
Listowel Arms Hotel
Listowel Arms Hotel
#1 of 8 in Listowel
327 reviews
27.0 km away
The Ashe Hotel
The Ashe Hotel
#2 of 14 in Tralee
372 reviews
2.1 km away
Teach de Broc
Teach de Broc
#3 of 21 in Ballybunion
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
The 19th Lodge
The 19th Lodge
#1 of 21 in Ballybunion
1,101 reviews
0.2 km away
Kilcooly's Country House Hotel
1.7 km away
The Tides B&B
The Tides B&B
#2 of 21 in Ballybunion
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about Cliff House Hotel

Address: Cliff Road, Ballybunion, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Ballybunion
Price Range: RM362 - RM594 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cliff House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Cliff House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cliff Hotel Ballybunion
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Cliff House Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The view from the sea view rooms is spectacular”
 of 5 bubbles BigNidriFan, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Front higher floors”
 of 5 bubbles racerevellers, 21 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Request a seaview room!”
 of 5 bubbles 78naomis, 13 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room on the front with a balcony.”
 of 5 bubbles Hyponic, 13 Sep 2016 | Read review
“order chowder”
 of 5 bubbles 11patrickh, 25 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay