We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Gables Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
The Gables Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

807 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 801: English reviews
Motherwell, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This is an lovely hotel, fantastic fresh food. friendly staff ,good clean rooms, I would come back again and hope to do so around march a big thankyou to all the staff hope to see you soon. Kind regards. W.Canavan

 Report
Helpful?
Thank williamcan1955
James B, General Manager at The Gables Hotel, responded to this review

Hello williamcan1955, thank you for sharing your experience of The Gables with everyone. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and are planning a return. Kindest Regards, James.

Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This was an overnight offer with dinner, bed and breakfast. Comfortable rooms, full choice of the full menus choice of tasty food (especially breakfast). Staff were attentive and very pleasant. We will return.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank BigAl040
James B, General Manager at The Gables Hotel, responded to this review

Dear BigAl040, I am happy to see you enjoyed your visit to us and that you found everything to your satisfaction. My team here do try to make you feel at home and I am glad that you felt that. Regards, James.

Dumfries, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

We stopped here for a quick, light lunch after visiting the Gretna Gateway. Our mistake! After waiting at 10-15 mins for our order to be taken with no luck, we assumed that orders must be placed at the bar (although as we were leaving, a family who had just arrived got table service) so my husband went to the bar...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank GAMcC
James B, General Manager at The Gables Hotel, responded to this review

Dear GAMcC, thank you for taking the time to share your views of The Gables. Your feedback will be discussed and spoken about, but I am very pleased to see you enjoyed the pea and mint soup! Kind Regards, James.

Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

Well we arrived and had been upgraded to a four poster room which was lovely apart from the small amount of mould on the roof of the shower! Otherwise it was very clean! Dinner on the first night was absolutely fantastic and we upgraded to the full menu for £7.50 each which was well worth it! Delicious brilliant service and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alison K
James B, General Manager at The Gables Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Alison K, thanks for the detailed review. I am glad you enjoyed most aspects of your stay with us and your other feedback will be discussed with the team. Hope you return soon, James.

Dumbarton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Great staff,lovely room,food fantastic,so friendly,worth a second visit...a definite.Close to shopping,a lovely place to visit,full of history..myself and myhusband would highly recommend this hotel...x

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shona1961
James B, General Manager at The Gables Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Shona1961, I am glad you picked up on just how friendly and attentive my team is here at The Gables. There are plenty to see an do in the area as you stated, well worth a visit! Kind Regards, James.

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Stayed at this hotel last week on a 2 night DBB deal,on arrival staff were great,room was a family room,when a double was requested,would have liked a small table and 2 chairs in room rather than bunk beds,but accepted that.At dinner a bottle of Pinot Grigio was out of stock,my husband ordered wild mushroom carbonara and the mushrooms were rubbery...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Norma B
James B, General Manager at The Gables Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Norma B, Thank you for the review. Yes sometimes we do use a family room for a double occupancy, but on the plus side the family rooms are that bit larger! I am disappointed you didnt enjoy your meals with us, the ham, freshly honey roasted in house, egg and chips is one of our most popular dishes from...

Paisley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Was looking forward to weekend away after reading reviews, however was extremely disappointed. We had requested a refurbished room but this room was not even clean never mind refurbished. Dust everywhere in room, carpet not particularly clean. In the bathroom the ceiling light was taped on to the ceiling, mould on top of the shower on the ceiling and shower...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank valencia2016
James B, General Manager at The Gables Hotel, responded to this review

Dear valencia2016, I am glad that you found our staff to be friendly but were unhappy with some parts of your stay. I would like to hear from you directly so that I can address the issues that you found in the bedroom. All feedback is taken seriously and will be discussed with my team. Kind Regards, James.

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Reading other reviews the thing that stands out is poor service. This I would strongly agree with. It was terrible in the restaurant, and in the bar and at breakfast. Very short on staff and obviously they have done nothing to address the problem. Yes at the bar you wonder if anyone is ever going to serve you. Breakfast waiting...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank stan2372016
James B, General Manager at The Gables Hotel, responded to this review

Dear stan2372016, Thank you for taking time to post a review. I am disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your stay and would not return. If you would like to address your stay with me personally I would be happy to discuss this. Kind Regards, James.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is the second time that we have stayed at the Gables. The first time was an overnight, this time it was a two night break. The hotel is kept clean and tidy withe staff being friendly and helpful. The accommodation is standard and was clean and tidy with all that you could need. There is free wifi with a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David G
James B, General Manager at The Gables Hotel, responded to this review

Dear David G, thank you for taking the time to provide another review. It was great to have you back with us and hopefully this will not be the last! James.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had our wedding here,and we had a wonderful time! The staff are excellent! Despite being obviously very busy all the staff are warm, friendly, professional and nothing is too much trouble, we asked for more milk and they gave us plenty. The hotel is spotless in the public areas and the room we had was lovely, complete with four...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Caroline S
James B, General Manager at The Gables Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Caroline S, it was wonderful for us to be part of your special day and for it to go off without a hitch! I am glad that you enjoyed all aspects of your day and hope to see you return again soon. Kind Regards, James.

227 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (162)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (34)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (85)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (65)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (33)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gretna
1.1 km away
Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel
1.0 km away
Greens at Gretna
Greens at Gretna
#2 of 5 in Gretna
325 reviews
1.0 km away
Gretna Hall
Gretna Hall
#2 of 4 in Gretna Green
845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
The Gretna Chase Hotel
0.6 km away
Hunters Lodge Hotel
Hunters Lodge Hotel
#4 of 5 in Gretna
140 reviews
0.7 km away
Solway Lodge Hotel
Solway Lodge Hotel
#5 of 5 in Gretna
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Gables is an independent, family owned hotel in the heart of Gretna. This beautiful, grade-II listed Property is steeped in history and has become one of the leading wedding venue hotels in Gretna.From the moment you arrive to the moment you leave, you are assured of a warm, friendly atmosphere where nothing is too much trouble.The Hotels restaurant has earned a reputation for fine, traditional Scottish food, offering the ideal setting to enjoy a relaxing meal with friends and family, boasting a full & varied A La Carte menu complemented by a carefully selected wine list. For those who prefer a less formal setting, our cosy lounge bar offers delicious home cooked bar meals including many traditional favourites. Offering Free Wi-Fi and ample free onsite parking, The Gables Hotel is conveniently situated only a mile from the M(A)74, M6 & A75 giving easy access to Glasgow, Dumfries & Carlisle. Perfect for exploring the colourful heritage of Gretna Green and designer shopping at The Gretna Gateway Outlet village is just minutes away. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Gables Hotel

Address: 1 Annan Road, Gretna DG16 5DQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Gretna
Price Range: RM489 - RM649 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Gables Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your The Gables Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gables Hotel Gretna Green
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Gables Hotel staff and other travellers.
11 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from The Gables Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We were three couples and were given rooms side by side.”
 of 5 bubbles BigAl040, 5 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Comfortable rooms,spotless..”
 of 5 bubbles Shona1961, 3 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Check it out”
 of 5 bubbles normab274, 2 Dec 2016 | Read review
“We had room 38 it was on the ground floor spacious and fabulous en-suite.”
 of 5 bubbles , 19 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Any room ,they are all lovely”
 of 5 bubbles alistear, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay