We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick

Save
Share
Copthorne Common, Copthorne, Crawley RH10 3PG England
E-mail hotel
Update from hotel: This property has indicated that they are taking safety precautions against COVID-19.Read more
Book now! This hotel is likely to sell out soon.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
ZenHotels.com
US$220
View deal
Expedia.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (438)
360
Panoramas (21)
Room & Suite (419)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
A note from Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick
Updated 03/07/20

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value

Finding an ideal family-friendly hotel in Copthorne does not have to be difficult. Welcome to Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, a nice option for travellers like you.

Copthorne London Gatwick Hotel offers guests an array of room amenities including a flat screen TV, and getting online is possible, as free internet access is available.

The hotel offers room service and a concierge, to make your visit even more pleasant. The property also features a pool and a lounge.

If you’re looking for a cafe, consider a visit to Olivers Coffee and Wine or Haskins Garden Centre Restaurant, which are all conveniently located a short distance from Copthorne London Gatwick Hotel.

Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick looks forward to welcoming you on your visit to Copthorne.

Read more
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Babysitting
Airport transportation
Business Centre with Internet Access
Parking
Wifi
Paid wifi
Indoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Shuttle bus service
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Room service
Safe
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English
2123Reviews24Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 592
  • 693
  • 393
  • 234
  • 211
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
EllJay_Ahm wrote a review Aug 2021
1 contribution
Where do I start??? Had the most terrible experience here, I am still furious a week later!! After hours at the airport and then travelling from there to the London, when we arrived, we were only given what can only be described as a child’s snack when we arrived here, despite many of us almost shaking with hunger, feeling ill from not having had anything to eat for hours. This should’ve been an instant indicator of the appalling experience we would have over the next 7 days. The room itself was disgusting. This is supposed to be a 4 star hotel? On what planet?? It was disgusting, dank and filthy, I felt like I was stuck in a cellar. There were cracks in the wall, the decor was completely outdated and there was a horrible musty smell in the room. Back to the food, as I said, what we were given upon our arrival should’ve been an indicator of what to expect. The food absolutely was shocking, baby portions and nothing nutritious, breakfast was a slice of toast - I had to order from external places via Deliveroo/Just Eat several times to ensure I consumed some vitamins. They also DID NOT cater for my diabetic needs either, giving me chocolate cereals for breakfast more than once. They also tried to give me pork (I am Muslim) as they claimed it was ‘all they had’. We were given cold food nearly all week (they even tried to give me a rubbery old burger for breakfast!), which was mostly inedible as it was full of salt and probably nothing else. The only hot food I received from them was on Sunday when I was given a roast dinner. During my stay, we were told we were only allowed out of the room once a day and that we could rind reception when we were ready to go each. Every time I rang, I was waiting hours and hours for someone to come get me. One day, they didn’t even turn up, so I had 24 hours of no fresh air or daylight. When I rang up, they kept saying someone is coming, however, this was not the case. I was livid. The staff were all completely useless, uncaring and rude. They treated you like you were a prisoner. Going forward, I will never recommend this hotel or any other Copthorne hotel to anyone after my experience here. I can also say that responses to previous reviews on Google are all full of lies - no remorse or apologies from the hotel staff. They clearly no longer care about their reputation. FOR ANYONE WHO MUST QUARANTINE, PLEASE AVOID AVOID AVOID AT ALL COSTS!!!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled solo
Helpful
Share
Response from Torsten Puck, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick
Responded 1 Sep 2021
Dear Elle J thank you for your feedback. I am sincerely sorry to hear that you are not able to enjoy your stay. I will see that we can identify the room that you stay in and review the condition of the wall and the facilities after your departure. Naturally we want to offer a clean and satisfactory room to all our guests. I apologize should you feel that the food selection does not suit your personal preference. Having said that, we are offering a multitude of Halal dishes for each meal. We are also able to cater for different items in the breakfast selection to offer a daily change. I will check with chef over the portion size, it should of course be sufficient for an adult and having tried myself on various occasions, I find them in order. For every lunch we have salad options and dinner comes with vegetables, depending on your selection. I am not sure what you mean with lack of nutrition. I have alerted the welfare team and my reception to focus on phone calls, naturally some times of the day are busier than usual and it may be that some waiting times are incurred. I have also addressed G4S regarding the break times, but cannot comment any further as this is not with the hotel. Maybe you could contact me directly and we can discuss this over the phone. I hope you are able to enjoy the remainder of your stay. Kind regards Torsten Hotel Manager
Read more
atripadviser10 wrote a review Feb 2021
Crawley, United Kingdom11 contributions20 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
This review was for a prolonged business stay that lasted over a period of 3 months, due to unusual lockdown circumstances and local work commitments. During this period I had plenty of time to take in my surroundings and to engage with all staff. The room was exceptionally spacious with all mod cons and was always kept super clean by the house keeping team. From day one i was welcomed by the reception team and they were always on hand if required , even printed off work related information for me. The manager I would say is the best i’ve come across in terms of how professionally he engaged with both his team and guests. All In all , I had a slightly longer stay than most visitors are likely to need but I believe you would have the same experience even if you booked this hotel for a one night stop over and definitely try the full English !
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021Trip type: Travelled on business
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Torsten Puck, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick
Responded 18 Feb 2021
Dear atripadviser10 thank you for the kind words. It was a pleasure to have you in house and meet you, socially distanced of curse. I will pass the praise over the team and the breakfast on, this will be very appreciated. I trust you will keep well and we hope to come together soon again. Best regards and stay save Torsten Hotel Manager
Read more
Paulton wrote a review Aug 2021
London, United Kingdom1 contribution1 helpful vote
+1
This place is extremely horrible in terms of customer service. They treat customers like criminals and animals. They treat customers like prisoners. The managers do not listen to the customers’ needs they are only collecting money from the customers and not good services. The food is served on the FLOOR and it is cold and you do not have a microwave in the room probably it is not your eating time to reheat the food. The Bathrooms? What the hell is this? OMG The bathrooms are extremely dirty and poorly designed. The bathroom are not kept clean. Imagine with this PANDEMIC going on and the cleanliness is a disaster Customer service : This is the poorest of all. You have to call the customer service several times before you are attended to. This means that they do not have sufficient staff. The staff are specialising in security and they are not trained. The keep on saying that the accessing the communal: You have to ask someone twice or three times before you are attended too! Pandemic Rules : They have treated customers with their own rules. They have redefined quarantine. They are not follow the regulations. Health and Safety executive should visit this place as it is not fit for purpose nor fit for hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Avoid this place at all
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Torsten Puck, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick
Responded 1 Sep 2021
Dear Paul1151972 thanks for your feedback. I understand that the quarantine is a testing time for the customers. The team and I are trying hard to help and offer as much service as we can. It would be good to get some detail regarding the headlines that you mention. I am happy to have a conversation and see where we can improve. Please also note that most of the contact you may have is with the provider of the security team. These are not employees of the hotel but a separate contractor employed by the government. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly. Kind regards Torsten Hotel Manager
Read more
Wooderina wrote a review Aug 2021
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom26 contributions24 helpful votes
Absolutely shocking hotel. This is NOT a 4 star hotel. If you get assigned this hotel as your quarantine hotel, please REFUSE!! It is horribly outdated with cracks in the rooms. The food is rubbish and the portions are tiny. They wouldn’t even fill a toddler. They let you go out for 10 minutes a day which is absolutely disgusting. They are acting like it’s a prison which isn’t fair at all. If you complain, they say it’s out of their hands and it’s the government but other hotels are not going on like this. They also blame the rubbish staff on being government agency staff but surely it’s not hard to be a decent human being and let people out of their rooms for fresh air and to smoke. Once a day for 10 minutes is horrendous! AVOID AVOID AVOID. This hotel needs removed from the quarantine list ASAP and I will be making a formal complaint. The other 1 star reviews are not lying!!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Just avoid hotel all together. Disgusting and it needs shut down
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
r0shik0 wrote a review Jul 2021
Doha, Qatar37 contributions14 helpful votes
The WORST hotel experience I’ve ever had. This hotel has seriously demotivated staff who are lacking in compassion and drive. The hotel itself is old and dated and in desperate need of a refurbishment to bring it into the 21st century. Some points to make: - It’s July and the heating does not turn off or cannot be turned down at all. We’re so hot and nothing has been done after the matter has been reported several times. I’m really worried about my toddler overheating at night when she sleeps that I’m barely getting any sleep myself. - The food is hit or miss. Usually miss. The hot breakfast is greasy and fried food which comes to us drenched in oil. Lunch consists of limp, soggy sandwiches with very little filling inside. An example of dinner is chicken breast swimming in watered down sauce with either potatoes es or rice on the side. It’s really unappetising. Your heart usually sinks when you open up the package and see it. Last night we had a soggy pie and the meal order slip said it would come with vegetables but it didn’t. When we called reception to ask about the vegetables we firstly got accused of lying about not being sent any. Then we got told that vegetables aren’t included on their menu slips. And they didn’t believe that we had it written on ours. The meals in general have gotten worse since we got here, they are seriously lacking any nutrition and the staff get annoyed at you when you call up to ask anything about the food. - The room wasn’t clean when we came. There were crumbs from previous occupants underneath the bed, poo stains on the wall underneath the toilet roll holder (splash back from the toilet from many, many precious occupants). It’s so disgusting and makes me want to vomit every time it catches me eye. - Cobwebs in the nooks and crannies of the walls. - One of the windows doesn’t open at all (doesn’t help with the heating issue mentioned earlier) - TV speakers aren’t working. Only the picture. - It’s a very dark room and we need to keep the lights on all day to get adequate light in the room. - The bed is comfortable. - The furniture is very dated, but functioning. - There is a kettle and fridge in the room. - The grounds are nice with flowers and a play area for kids. - I asked for fresh bedsheets and the “fresh” ones came to us with huge brown stains on them. Absolutely vile. It took 2 calls to reception to get more replacements given to us. - When you call reception about anything they get annoyed and you’re made to feel that you’re bothering them. Peter the Duty Manager in particular has been really unhelpful, accused me of lying about a food order, is sarcastic and is lacking customer service skills and even basic etiquette. - Perhaps the hotel management needs to give the staff some extra support, motivation, rewards and training to help them get through challenging times, because the way that the staff are not supporting their guests has surely got to come from the top down. - I’m in a living hell here and I’m counting down the minutes until I can get out of here.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Just don’t stay here. You’ll just be frustrated.
See more room tips
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$56 - US$123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
copthorne london gatwick hotel copthorne, copthorne london gatwick crawley, copthorne london gatwick hotel crawley
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandWest SussexCrawleyCopthorne
NUMBER OF ROOMS
227
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick
Which popular attractions are close to Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick?
Nearby attractions include Tulleys Escape Rooms & Games (2.9 km), Gatwick Escape Rooms (5.2 km), and Tulleys Farm (3.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick?
Yes, paid private parking on-site is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick?
Conveniently located restaurants include Sage, Shiraz Bar & Mediterranean Restaurant, and Zeno Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Does Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.3 km away from the centre of Copthorne.
Are any cleaning services offered at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Standen (8.1 km), Sackville College (8.4 km), and The Old Town Hall (13.1 km).