We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Railway Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Railway Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

77 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 76: English reviews
Abingdon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our cribbage team plays there and we recently had a team dinner there. The menu was a typical pub menu with a reasonable selection of dishes. The main courses were well cooked and presented and served piping hot! If you have room for a pudding there are several to choose from. There were 2 real ales on offer, served in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brian P
paulineddavidson, Owner at The Railway Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the review Brian. We are so pleased you enjoyed your meals. We enjoy what we do here and i think this comes across from all of us, which makes for a pleasant atmosphere. I know we are a little way out of town at Culham Station but if you like traditional English food then that's...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

A traditional English pub, a rare find nowadays! Second visit, a warm welcome from the lovely landlady Pauline. Highly recommend - if you are looking for a fancy pants wine bar this is not the place for you. If you are looking for a bit of real local life, good customer service and history about the area and excellent value...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Debbie R
paulineddavidson, Owner at The Railway Inn, responded to this review

Thanks Debbie, Always good to see returning customers and new alike. We pride ourselves on being friendly and welcoming, it isn't difficult. We are a traditional pub with a restaurant and good rooms for bed and breakfast. Glad you enjoyed your stay and some wine. See you again sometime

London Uk
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Got stranded at Culham Rail Station (1 train every 2-4 hours outside peak)in this place in "the middle of nowhere".Had a good look around the exterior of The Railway Inn & Grounds whilst waiting.Before 12am it looked deserted.A sign said lunch served from 12.00 with weekend times just a bare metal space.By 11.30 am it still didnt look hopeful.Place in...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank lazenlondonuk
paulineddavidson, Manager at The Railway Inn, responded to this review

Sometimes it is best not to judge a book by its cover, we are 8.4 on bookings.com and our accommodation is always full, and kept spotlessly clean. We have a 4 grade rating on our food, our beers are kept to a high standard. Maybe next time come on in as we are available for 6 am most days accept...

England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed at the Railway Inn in December 2016 as we were travelling to Culham on the train and didn't want to travel far with the kids when we arrived because it was dark when we got there. We walked over the railway bridge and there it was, the staff were lovely, very chatty and helpful. Once settled into our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BessAnd
Hastings, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 December 2016

Stayed just 1 night B&B while visiting family nearby. Made very welcome, & enjoyed my visit. Good real ales in the bar. Room was warm & comfortable, breakfast was fresh cooked to order. Good coffee. Hope to call in again for lunch next time nearby.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tonybythesea
paulineddavidson, Owner at The Railway Inn, responded to this review

Hi, Very pleased you enjoyed your stay. We hope people will feel at home at The Railway Inn. I am very lucky to have staff that enjoy meeting people and chatting. The ales are kept very well by the landlord. Coffee pods in the room are enjoyed by most guests but there is a kettle in the room also. Thank...

Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 November 2016

The Railway is well run and spotlessly clean The rooms are modern and well appointed, supremely comfy, with large bed, coffee machines, refreshments, great shower and bathroom, all a traveller could want The next morning breakfast was served promply and the food excellent it makes a refreshing change to the big "Chain" hotels who seem to forget that we as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris P
paulineddavidson, Owner at The Railway Inn, responded to this review

Some of the rooms at the top of the building do have sloping ceilings which can be a nuisance if very tall but all are kept in the same manner. We all work very hard to make things as comfortable as we can. Thank you for your kind review. Hope to see you again

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 October 2016

While walking the Thames Path, we stopped overnight at the Railway Inn and were delighted with the welcome we received. There's no denying that trains run past the Inn regularly (the name is the giveaway) but hosts Roy and Pauline make you feel really at home. The ale is good and the food excellent. Next morning, after a splendid F.E.B.,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank trillionmates
paulineddavidson, Owner at The Railway Inn, responded to this review

Hi and thank you for your lovely review. Hope your walk continued to be good. It's always nice to welcome people into our home and would like to think that people go away happy. Reviews help me keep my business on track

Reviewed 3 October 2016 via mobile

Stayed here several times over the last few months . Very welcoming staff great service. Rooms were spotless with very comfy beds and excellent showers . Breakfast is a delight order from a extended list ( eggs how you want them ) . As this is called the railway you must expect the odd train past your room but this...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark G
paulineddavidson, Owner at The Railway Inn, responded to this review

Thank you, a very kind review. I like to tell my staff what is said in reviews as they work so hard to keep our guests comfortable. Yes there are trains which don't bother most people. Not sure if the electrification of the railway through this area will make the trains quieter or just a different sound. We will see

Richmond, Canada
Reviewed 23 August 2016

First time in the area (a wedding in Oxford, a trip to Blenheim) and this friendly B&B was exactly what we needed for 4 nights. We were in Room 12 to the side of the main building, generously sized accommodation, clean, very comfortable mattress and well supplied. Breakfast was excellent and quickly served. The real ale at the pub is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PDJemima
paulineddavidson, Owner at The Railway Inn, responded to this review

Hi thank you for your kind review and really pleased you were happy with your stay. Hope you had a good journey on wards, Kind regards

Wigan, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 August 2016

Stayed here for one night whilst visiting Countryfile Live at Blenheim and visiting Highclere Castle. Overall for the price paid, especially with an event in the area, it was a nice place to stay. Check in staff came across as a little rude at first, however it may have just been a bad day. The other staff in the restaurant/bar...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AlecRigby
paulineddavidson, Owner at The Railway Inn, responded to this review

Glad you felt the B + B side of this business was ok. Yes you were right, chef walked out at the beginning of August so was a difficult time food wise but believe we are back on track. Our menu has 4 starters, several home made dishes, pub classics, some lovely puddings and specials changing all the time. We...

17 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Culham
5.1 km away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#1 of 2 in Dorchester-on-Thames
665 reviews
7.2 km away
Hampton by Hilton Oxford Hotel
3.4 km away
The Crown & Thistle
The Crown & Thistle
#3 of 5 in Abingdon
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 km away
Oxford Abingdon Hotel
Oxford Abingdon Hotel
#4 of 5 in Abingdon
424 reviews
5.7 km away
Premier Inn Oxford South (Didcot) Hotel
2.3 km away
Zouch Farm Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about The Railway Inn

Address: Station Road, Culham OX14 3BT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Culham
Price Range: RM459 - RM472 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Railway Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Railway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Railway Inn staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Scarborough, United Kingdom

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Railway Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Express & Freight Trains roar through the station yards away but do not stop”
 of 5 bubbles lazenlondonuk, 25 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Light sleepers might request a room away from the trains. Not easy as the station is next door. Didn't bother me, I'm a bit deaf anyway.”
 of 5 bubbles Tonybythesea, 13 Dec 2016 | Read review
“I cant imagine there is a bad room at this place”
 of 5 bubbles 757ChrisB, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Any room well away from the Trains...If poss a couple of miles away...”
 of 5 bubbles PeteJ261, 8 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Room with separate entrance, lovely.”
 of 5 bubbles PatriciaW495, 7 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5