We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Gopeng Rainforest Resort

Save
Share
Kampung Geruntum Jalan Gopeng, Gopeng 31600 Malaysia
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveller (76)
Dining (4)
Room & Suite (3)

About

#2 of 3 hotels in Gopeng
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
We Provide Eco And Adventure Activities Like White Water Rafting, Wet Abseiling, Caving Adventure, Jungle Trekking, Rafflesia Jungle Trail, Etc.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Restaurant
Canoeing
Hiking
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Shuttle bus service
Conference facilities
BBQ facilities
Outdoor dining area
Table tennis
Walking tours
Board games / puzzles
Taxi service
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Shared lounge / TV area
First aid kit
Private check-in / check-out
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Seating area
Private bathrooms
Room types
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Hidden Gem
Family
Languages Spoken
English, Chinese, Indonesian, Malay
50Reviews3Q+A0Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 31
  • 17
  • 2
  • 0
  • 0
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Jia Hao wrote a review Jun 2022
1 contribution
Resort like no other, coming from Singapore, standard of service is exceptional. Orang Asli style houses creates the close to natural vibe and resort location on top of a hill provides the all rounded view of the surrounding green lushes. Recommended for company retreats, family and backpacker friendly.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
June L. Admodisastro wrote a review Mar 2022
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia6 contributions9 helpful votes
My husband and I need a break from our hectic life in KL. I stumble upon this resort while browsing on the internet. This resort is perfect for us. Walking distance to Kuala Razila where we frolicked in the river. The basic kampung style chalet reminds us of our childhood memory. Janice brought us to see the butterfly feeding station and what a sight!! A flutter of butterflies. This resort is surrounded by orchards and plants. At night the temperature drops and is very cooling. No air-cond needed as the chalet was built with good ventilation. David and Janice are excellent hosts. We had a good time chit-chatting with them. Janice is a good cook too which for me is comfort food. We will coming back to this place, that's for sure!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
8 Helpful votes1 Repost
Helpful
Share
Response from Foon Howe, Owner at Gopeng Rainforest Resort
Responded 17 May 2022
Hello June! Thanks for dropping a kind and thoughtful review. We are glad that the both of you enjoyed the time here. Drop me a call when you plan to return!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Logan wrote a review Jan 2021
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia4 contributions1 helpful vote
One of the most beautiful places in Perak is in Gopeng forest. It was tranquil and natural. Place of stay is considerably decent and comfortable esp when you wake up in the morning with mist as your background. The hosts are very friendly and approachable too. Food esp dinner was served with a mixture and variety of dishes, very delicious. It is even more perfect when you return to the resort for bbq after some vigorous outdoor activities. Definitely recommending the Rafting and ATV.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Foon Howe, Owner at Gopeng Rainforest Resort
Responded 28 Oct 2021
Hi Logan, Thank you for taking the time to drop a review. Wish your adventure in Malaysia be fruitful and memorable. Hope to see you again!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Iise Chew wrote a review Dec 2020
Malaysia2112 contributions2435 helpful votes
+1
📍Gopeng Rainforest Resort There was a time when I was in great need of a respite from work, and longed for a dose of mother nature. 🌿🍃 Looking for a campsite, I stumbled upon Gopeng's crystal clear river waters with its surrounding lime caves and the lushest of greeneries. We visited Gopeng Rainforest Resort. Where we pitched our tents, the air was cool and fresh with nearly no mosquitoes at all; I snuggled in my sleeping bag throughout the night, and it was a good night's sleep. We brought our own food supply and equipment. Our caring sisterly nurse, Coria, whipped up Tomyam Fried Rice using a portable gas stove. In the cool environment, the dish was fantastic. It would have done well in any restaurant, I'd vouch for that. Sadly, the rivers were muddy when we came. Rainfall had been torrential the previous day, leaving the water currents to be excessively strong and muddied up. When the pandemic settles, hopefully in the near future, I'd love to be back to experience the cool waters, the white water rafting, the caving, and just fully immerse myself in nature. #throwback #whenwillcovidend
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
11 Helpful votes1 Repost
Helpful
Share
Response from Foon Howe, Owner at Gopeng Rainforest Resort
Responded 2 Jan 2021
Hi iise, Great to hear that you and your group had a great time here. It was great knowing you guys. We appreciate your kind comments and are looking forward to see you guys again. Hope to see you soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Samantha wrote a review Jul 2020
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Jan 2020 marks our fourth time coming back to this resort, I try refraining from exaggeration but euphoric as the description of my feeling would actually be an understatement as Gopeng rainforest resort is the epitome of quality, service, food and beauty among places ive been to. Especially for my daughter, she enjoyed every single bit this resort and Gopeng has to offer. David and Janice had been wonderful hosts with stupendous hospitality and companionship. They are a genuine bunch! Peripherals like transportation to waterfall, renting of BBQ equipments and rubber shoes for rafting are all negotiable. Whatever you ask for, David and Janice will provide to the best of their ability. Just a side note, hot shower is available now to those who needed it badly! To those who come, I strongly recommend white water rafting, caving and jungle trekking with assurance I have experienced.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Try the long house. It is closer to the hill and very calm at night.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Foon Howe, Owner at Gopeng Rainforest Resort
Responded 2 Jan 2021
Hi Samantha, Thank you for the flattering comment and your presence to our resort. We deeply appreciate it. Hope the rafting experience brings you back here a second time. Do come again and take care!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tk Low M wrote a review Jan 2020
17 contributions25 helpful votes
Some how road access to the rainforest resorts takes quite a manouvering to reach ....the resort close to River n rafting activity looked messy unkempt no thought put into building its chalets haphazard. Religious restriction too..no liquor..no couples...blah3... maybe good for local pleasure only. Disappointing coz it's beautiful if well planned !.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Foon H, Owner at Gopeng Rainforest Resort
Responded 1 Jul 2020
Hi TKlowm, Thank you for the comment. However, we don't have any record of a solo traveler arriving at the resort during December 2019 nor any customer by the name of Tk Low. Our chalets and buildings have routine maintenance as well as house keeping for the utmost satisfaction of our customers. We are afraid that you might have mistaken us for other locations. Should you need more clarification/assistance or queries, please contact us at 012-5168200.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
HemTraveller wrote a review Dec 2019
Singapore, Singapore131 contributions6 helpful votes
+1
Had a wonderful 4D3N stay here. Janice and David were excellent, attentive, accommodating and knowledgeable hosts. They have a ecologically friendly estate filled with Durian trees, passion fruit, Moringa, Mint, Avocado, Jackfruit, and many more! We were here to see the flora and fauna of the Gopeng rainforest and were not disappointed. We got up close and personal with the famous Rafflesia (not pungent as what some people say) on our Rafflesia walk; had a terrific time crawling and climbing through caves on our caving trip; saw several types of insects (esp stick insects) and lizards as well as one snake on our night walk; and encountered countless birds (several species of bee eater, kingfisher, heron, as well as Baya weaver, Pipid and others) and even an encounter with a wild otter on our Kinta Bird Sanctuary tour (I had the chance to try my hand at fishing for Tilapia at Kinta too). Our hosts also gave us the opportunity to taste some of the cuisine unique to Gopeng and Ipoh as well as some of their freshly dropped Kampong Durian. The rooms were very clean with attached toilet (with hot water) and nights were a cool 21-23C with no need for air-conditioning at all (there were good ceiling fans to enhance ventilation). Overall, we had a wonderful stay and would recommend it to all my wildlife-loving friends.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Foon H, Owner at Gopeng Rainforest Resort
Responded 1 Jul 2020
Thanks HemTraveller, we appreciate your kind review. Do come back for more exciting adventures and hope to see you again!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Elle B wrote a review Aug 2019
Penang Island, Malaysia51 contributions24 helpful votes
Back to this part of the world, my 4th visit, but this time chose to stay at Gopeng Rainforest Resort. There were 12 of us, age 8 to 70+ and we occupied 3 rooms in tribal house. Very simple and basic. Appreciate that rooms and baths were very clean. No AC and no water heater and yet none of us complained. The tribal house is cooling and there are hammocks just outside our rooms. Everyone loved them. Our rooms had direct access to the gardens where we played badminton, took a short walk to see the famed Raja Brooke that gathered by the brook. The beauty of this place is the warm hospitality of the hosts, Janice and David. Janice took our young girls down the brook to catch tadpoles, showed us where she got the greens (paku) from the wild, drove us to the river and one of the highlights was not even the white water rafting but that she offered our little girls to help her take the durian harvest to the nearby roadside stall to weigh and sell them to the man at the stall! Kids loved it. Lots of photos we took. Oh yes! Did I say durians? David is also friendly and happy to chat about kampung life. We really appreciate him letting our kids, all 5 of them to take over a corner of sandbox. When my nephew decided to let his imagination take over and wanted to build a shed, David watched with amusement and even cut out sticks and big leaves for the shed. That 'construction' kept the kids busy for 2 whole days. In terms of meals, they were simple home cooked meals with 1 o 2 specialties... eg. Herbal soup in bamboo, chicken baked in clay , etc There are bigger resorts nearby which I have stayed and enjoyed. What my sister in law and I like about Gopeng Rainforest Resort is that the property is not too big nor too hilly , which is well and good for the elderly and also for kids to run around without supervision. And the hosts really made us feel right at home. Their attention to our needs and preferences really have our thumbs up! Thank you Janice and David!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Foon H, Owner at Gopeng Rainforest Resort
Responded 1 Jul 2020
Thanks Ellsy for choosing Gopeng Rainforest Resort, we appreciate your kind comments. Do come back for more exciting activities and hope to see you soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lena H wrote a review Jun 2019
2 contributions1 helpful vote
It is situated at Gopeng, Perak, a place for great escape from the hustle of the city. There’s Malay Kampung style and aborigines (orang asli) set up. It is worth visiting as I have seen good and positive reviews in Tripadvisor. Despite of relaxing and chilling, there’s a lot of exciting and interesting activities to be done. Unfortunately my children are young, I can only bring them to the river for some water activity. But still, we had fun! Although the accommodation here was simple but it was hygienic. Facility wise was also splendid. It was so cooling at night that you don’t even need air-con. The hosts – Janice and David were very helpful and friendly. Janice’s cooked food were the best and I highly recommended it, my children and I loved it! David was an amazing man with great energy and super helpful, also easy to talk with. Janice and David could also help to recommend and arrange activities and schedule in our favour.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Foon H, Owner at Gopeng Rainforest Resort
Responded 1 Jul 2020
Dear Lena, Thank you for the review! Hope you had a fabulous family time here. Do come back for more FOOD and nature, we hope to see you soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
sam teo wrote a review Mar 2019
Penang, Malaysia15 contributions6 helpful votes
that are good experience fro adventure activities at this areas, especially White water rafting (good experience for us) and waterfall abseiling. the food provided are above average. reasonable price for all the activities provided. will visit again.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Foon H, Owner at Gopeng Rainforest Resort
Responded 1 Jul 2020
Dear Sam Teo, we receive your review with grace! Hope you had a splendid time here with your friends and family.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
LOCATION
MalaysiaPerakKampar DistrictGopeng
NUMBER OF ROOMS
14
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Gopeng Rainforest Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Gopeng Rainforest Resort?
Nearby attractions include Gua Tempurung (5.0 km), Gopeng Museum (5.2 km), and Gopeng Heritage House (4.7 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Gopeng Rainforest Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, free parking, and kids activities.
What food & drink options are available at Gopeng Rainforest Resort?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, barbeque facilities, and an outdoor dining area during their stay.
Is parking available at Gopeng Rainforest Resort?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Gopeng Rainforest Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Gopeng Antique Kopitiam, Kheng Bee Kopisan Coffee Shop, and Heritage Town Cafe.
Does Gopeng Rainforest Resort have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Gopeng Rainforest Resort offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Gopeng Rainforest Resort?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Chinese, Indonesian, and Malay.