We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Hampshire Hog

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Hampshire Hog
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

568 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 562: English reviews
Start your review of The Hampshire Hog
 Click to rate
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Lovely comfy room. staff very courteous and polite. Varied breakfast menu, mostly good, shame about the scrambled eggs, on one day, but they will put any complaints right in a jiffy! On the whole, we enjoyed our stay, the B&B was reasonable value, although we thought the evening meals a bit on the overpriced side. We will come again and...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 571susani
HampshirehogPO8, Assistant Manager at The Hampshire Hog, responded to this review

Dear Susan, I'm so pleased to see that you had a comfortable stay with us and that we were able to sort your scrambled eggs on one of the mornings quickly! We look forward to welcoming you back again soon! Kind regards, Connor McShea The Hampshire Hog

Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

It's the little things that make the difference and for me the details were not up to scratch. From mouldy showers not working properly to not even being able to turn the TV on when we arrived and tables not being clean it became a frustrating stay. The worst thing however was turning up in the restaurant to be told...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank mikelI9596QC
HampshirehogPO8, Assistant Manager at The Hampshire Hog, responded to this review

Dear Mike, I'm sorry to see that your stay with us was not up to our usual high standards. With regards to your TV it needs to be switched on at the TV and then with the remote to get it working. Also I apologise if you were not told the kitchen opening and closing times when you checked in....

Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We came for Sunday lunch and the food was superb. My mother has food issues and often finds it difficult when we eat out but she loved the burger she had here and wants to come again soon. I had the carvery and the meal was amazing. Well cooked and tasty. Staff were friendly and made us very welcome. Excellent.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mandy A
HampshirehogPO8, Assistant Manager at The Hampshire Hog, responded to this review

Dear Mandy, I'm so glad to read that you enjoyed your Sunday lunch with us and that your Mother was also able to enjoy her meal as well! We hope to welcome you back again soon! Kind regards, Connor McShea The Hampshire Hog

Cornwall, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Comfortable spacious room and shower. Good car park. Good choice on the breakfast menu. Staff all very friendly. Evening meals available in bar though a bit pricey and limited choice. Convenient location.Would recommend for a few nights stay.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shuzan3
HampshirehogPO8, Assistant Manager at The Hampshire Hog, responded to this review

Dear Shuzan, Thank you for leaving a review of The Hampshire Hog. It's nice to see that you found your room comfortable and spacious and that the staff were friendly during your stay with us! We hope to welcome you back again in the near future! Kind regards, Connor McShea The Hampshire Hog

London
Reviewed 1 week ago

Venue was lovely easy to find. great staff very friendly and area was very clean. The room was lovely more than I expected . The food was lovely breakfast was very nice. Would go again and recommended to friends and family

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank cashij
HampshirehogPO8, Assistant Manager at The Hampshire Hog, responded to this review

Dear cashij, I'm happy to see that the room was more than what you were expecting and that the staff were friendly during your time with us. I'm also happy to read that you would recommend us to your friends and family! Kind regards, Connor McShea The Hampshire Hog

Tamworth
Reviewed 1 week ago

Myself and my partner stayed with our 14 month old. We found the room to be extremely clean, very spacious and full of everything we could need (even a mini fridge!). The bed was clean and spacious, our daughters cot was very clean and just what she needed for the night. We would be very happy to stay again.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank katieh922017
HampshirehogPO8, Assistant Manager at The Hampshire Hog, responded to this review

Dear Katie, I'm so pleased to read that you found the room clean and spacious and that it had everything that you needed. I'm also happy to see that you had a comfortable nights sleep. We hope to welcome you back again in the future! Kind regards, Connor McShea The Hampshire Hog

Redcar
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was a last minute booking via Booking.com Stayed at half original price, which meant it was such a good price. Wouldn't have paid the full price. Clean, tidy, comfortable bed, very quiet. The staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good and set us up for the long drive home.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank N6202WOhelenr
HampshirehogPO8, Assistant Manager at The Hampshire Hog, responded to this review

Dear Helen, I'm so pleased to see that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and that you found the room comfortable and clean. I'm also happy to read that the staff were friendly and your breakfast set you up for the rest of your day! Kind regards, Connor McShea The Hampshire Hog

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Having been here before which unfortunately was for a wake in a professionally laid out function room, thought we would come here for lunch. Nicely laid out pub. Felt very welcome. The young guy who served us was very helpful with my gluten free choices. A fair few. Plumped for smoked haddock with hollandaise sauce (which was excellent in flavour)....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sew298
HampshirehogPO8, Assistant Manager at The Hampshire Hog, responded to this review

Dear Sew, I'm happy to see that the young man who was serving you was able to offer a number of gluten free choices and that you also enjoyed the meals that you had with us. We also do have gluten free bread so next time you visit us you'll be able to have a sandwich! Kind regards, Connor McShea...

Howick, South Africa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Visited this hotel come pub for a Sunday lunch and was very pleasantly surprised. The restaurant come pub was spotlessly clean, hats off the the cleaner, because it was seriously clean. The lunch was good value for money and very generous. Thank you to the staff who were awesome.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank arlene1012
HampshirehogPO8, Assistant Manager at The Hampshire Hog, responded to this review

Dear Arlene, I'm so pleased to see that you enjoyed your Sunday lunch with us and that you found the pub clean and good value for money. We hope to welcome you back again soon! Kind regards, Connor McShea The Hampshire Hog

Worcester Park
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Lovely location. A bit difficult to find but got there in the end. Clean but basic room. Bathroom needed a bit of TLC but okay for an overnight stay. Excellent breakfast. Evening meal a bit disappointing but nowhere else nearby so a bit stuck as you needed to drive.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 183lynnem
HampshirehogPO8, Assistant Manager at The Hampshire Hog, responded to this review

Dear Lynne, Thank you for leaving a review of your recent stay at the Hampshire Hog. I'm happy to see that you found the location of the pub good and also enjoyed your breakfast with us in the morning. Apologies that your evening meal was not up to our usual high standards, I will pass your comments onto the kitchen...

41 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clanfield
14.7 km away
Park House Hotel & Spa
6.7 km away
Premier Inn Petersfield
Premier Inn Petersfield
#2 of 3 in Petersfield
399 reviews
5.8 km away
Langrish House
Langrish House
#1 of 3 in Petersfield
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.8 km away
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Number Four Boutique Hotel
#2 of 38 in Portsmouth
613 reviews
15.3 km away
New Place Hotel
New Place Hotel
#1 of 1 in Shirrell Heath
1,332 reviews
30.7 km away
Lainston House Hotel
Lainston House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Winchester
1,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms

Additional Information about The Hampshire Hog

Address: London Road, Clanfield PO8 0QD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Clanfield
Price Range: RM369 - RM682 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Hampshire Hog 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your The Hampshire Hog reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hampshire Hog Hotel Clanfield
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Hampshire Hog staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Hampshire Hog staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Didnt stay”
sew298, 15 Apr 2017 | Read review
“We book ahead and always ask for a Ground Floor room ~ easy access from the Car-Park with the bags.”
ThomasHosie, 11 Apr 2017 | Read review
“All rooms are great!”
miriamd851, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
“ground floor if disabled and all great views”
ethane2014, 18 Nov 2016 | Read review
“pick a room at the rear of the hotel to avoid noise from bar”
doreenb570, 2 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5