We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Old Rectory

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
The Old Rectory
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

95 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 95: English reviews
Reviewed 25 October 2016

The hosts couldn't have been any more hospitalible, so friendly, they made me feel like one of the family. A home from home - if only my home was as lovely and decorated as this one, bathroom was like something out of Downton Abbey (the upper part of Downton).....A great 3 night stay. Thank you. Tony

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anthony B
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Reviewed 11 October 2016

Spent 2 nights at this B&B. We had a lovely room at the back of the house which was nice as the house is located on a rather busy 2 lane road and situated on a corner. Breakfasts were good, the only negative I can think of is that it is a long walk down a rather dark lane from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Candu51
Conwy
Reviewed 7 October 2016

We stayed here last weekend to attend a cycle race in Thirsk and the hosts Rachel and Paul made us feel very welcome. The place is quaint and quirky and loads of character as it is a Georgian style property . The hosts were excellent and accommodated our request for an early breakfast. I also asked to chill some wine...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank suej159
theoldrectory, Owner at The Old Rectory, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review we couldn't have wished for more lovely guests! We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you all the best in the future

Reviewed 13 September 2016

We stayed here for one night and found the Old Rectory one of the nicest places to stay. We were made to feel very welcome from the start and the room was amazing, we couldn't have been happier. The breakfast was great the next morning. Our only slight complaint is that Breakfast was served a little early for someone who...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NickBee001
England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 August 2016

We had to find a place to stay in the area as we were going to a wedding. Having stayed there now we would choose to go again. Fantastic rooms, great breakfast and very nice hosts. Book this place if you plan to be in this part of Yorkshire.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dr Trevor M
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 August 2016

This was our second visit and was just as nice as our first. Rachel and Paul made us feel so welcome and at home we nearly stayed in all morning! We like to walk and this B and B is perfectly located for a walking weekend. Their cooked breakfast really sets you up for day. The room was lovely, it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Katherine L
theoldrectory, Owner at The Old Rectory, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely review, it means a lot when your hard work is appreciated! We can't wait for you to stay again! Thank you

Orel, Russia
Reviewed 24 July 2016

road directly outside - impossible to sleep. Not very clean, dirty doors and plumbing . bad smell in the room. Breakfast is made from cheaper products. This is not a four stars, this is B&B. It was cold, there is a battery but they do not work. Shower - it's just a laugh - it is difficult to wash. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lana S
theoldrectory, Owner at The Old Rectory, responded to this review

In 12 years of business never have we met such awful people, who have become threatening and abusive towards us. With a quote from them "congratulations you have just become an enemy"! How insane! I hope anyone reading this can see that out of all our reviews how nice, friendly and helpful family we are. I hope this review shows...

Farnham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 July 2016

We finished off our trip to Northumberland with an overnight stay here to break the journey and were very pleased that we did. The welcome was effusive, the rooms were of the highest standard, and breakfast the next morning was as good as it gets.To cap it all its on a main road, with little traffic at night, easily found,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank barry s
Coventry, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 May 2016 via mobile

Stayed for three nights in the newly refurbished room 1. A stunning room with incredible attention to detail. Everywhere is spotlessly clean, sheets actually smell fresh (both things that are really important to me). Little touches like Ralph Lauren throw, molten brown in bathroom, good quality complimentary tea and coffee table, lots of lovely coffee table books all make for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Libby F
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 May 2016 via mobile

I recently stayed at the beautiful Georgian Old Rectory for a friend's wedding weekend in Coxwold and at Newburgh Priory. Our party of bride, bridesmaid, mother of the bride and friends took over all the rooms, and from the moment we arrived on Friday, to the moment we left in Sunday, Rachel and Paul made us feel so special and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fleur S

71 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (32)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (39)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Other (27)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thormanby
10.6 km away
BEST WESTERN Burn Hall Hotel
14.9 km away
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa
26.0 km away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 46 in York
847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.2 km away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
25.3 km away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
24.6 km away
The Churchill Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
GreenLeadersGold level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Old Rectory is a Grade II Listed 18th Century Georgian residence which was built in 1737 with a later addition built in 1786. Part of the building housed what was a music room for local school children in bygone times, but is now the Drawing Room. The house is set in a large old English Country garden with the original early Georgian garden wall. The village of Thormanby dates back many hundreds of years and has a population of just 118 residents.Grade II listed Georgian Rectory located on the fringes of the North York Moors National Park, More commonly known as 'James Herriot country', with Whitby , and the seaside towns of Scarborough and Filey a convenient drive away. Ideally situated for the Yorkshire Dales, Lake District, Harrogate, and only a 20 minute drive from York city centre. Set in a rural location near the Georgian market town of Thirsk with its popular racecourse. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Old Rectory

Address: Thormanby YO61 4NN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Thormanby
Price Range: RM444 - RM573 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Rectory 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Old Rectory reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Old Rectory staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms are amazing”
 of 5 bubbles anthonybD6704IL, 25 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Large bedroom at back of house is the quieter one.”
 of 5 bubbles Candu51, 10 Oct 2016 | Read review
“We were on the back of the house which was very quiet. Some of the bedrooms have 4 poster beds which were very quaint”
 of 5 bubbles suej159, 6 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Caley Bedroom is a must if you can get it”
 of 5 bubbles NickBee001, 13 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Don't bother - all the rooms are great.”
 of 5 bubbles drtrevorm, 24 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay