We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Macdonald Crutherland House

Show Prices
GreenLeadersBronze level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Macdonald Crutherland House
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"}}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,334 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Macdonald Crutherland House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,329: English reviews
Glasgow
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed over for wedding hotel is beautiful it was a bit cold during the day inside however it did heat up at night time rooms were very comfy we had a great sleep it's in a beautiful location !! prices are a bit high for my liking but this was a one off for a wedding so it was acceptable...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank V2378NDlisab
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Great value family room. Clean, comfortable room & pleasant staff. Had to ring room service as only 3 towels provided despite booking for 2 adults & 2 children but room service brought an additional towel reasonably quickly once asked. Can't comment on breakfast as didn't book as previous reviews seemed to suggest it wasn't great. Quite glad as had a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TLJ17021971
Kenilworth
Reviewed 1 November 2016

The grounds looked spectacular as the trees were changing. The room was average but had one or two maintenance issues. The continental breakfast was really disappointing. Breakfast started at 7.30 and when we went in at 8 there was very little left of the fairlyf frugal selection.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David A
G M, General Manager at Macdonald Crutherland House, responded to this review

Dear David A, many thanks for taking the time to provide us with your feedback on Tripadvisor. I thank you for your kind comments regarding our grounds as the trees were changing into their autumnal colours. I am sorry to hear that you found our continental breakfast to be disappointing, due to some items not being replenished quick enough. I...

Berwick-upon-Tweed, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 October 2016

We were were looking for a Spa break for a birthday gift. We searched on Spa Breaks and found this deal for £70 pp which included a full breakfast, use of the leisure suite and a treatment. The bedroom had lots of nice touches including use of robes and slippers, hairdryer, kettle, iron & board, toiletries and was clean and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Joannebo
G M, General Manager at Macdonald Crutherland House, responded to this review

Dear Joannebo, That you for the great feedback which you so kindly left on Tripadvisor. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that your bedroom had lots of nice touches including bath robes, slippers, hairdryer, kettle, iron & board, toiletries and it was also clean and cosy. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming...

Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 October 2016

Booked an Indulge and Revitalise Spa Break. The spa was good. Treatments were fantastic with friendly knowledgeable staff. Dinner was delicious and made an enjoyable experience thanks to attentive and friendly waiter.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank D1197QUrebeccas
G M, General Manager at Macdonald Crutherland House, responded to this review

Dear D1197QUrebeccas, many thanks for providing us with such fantastic feedback after having enjoyed your Indulge and Revitalise Spa Break. I am naturally delighted to hear that the spa was good with fantastic treatments by my friendly and knowledgeable team. I have passed your feedback on to the kitchen and to Jordan in the restaurant who was very attentive and...

Fort William, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 October 2016

Although we don't live in East Kilbride we decided to hold our Golden Wedding there as we have always loved staying in the Crutherland Hotel. What a fabulous night it was thanks to the efforts of the staff who pulled out all the stops to make this a special night for us and our family and friends. We were treated...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Pedder12
G M, General Manager at Macdonald Crutherland House, responded to this review

Dear Pedder12, many thanks for giving us the opportunity to host your Golden Wedding anniversary at Crutherland House Hotel. I am delighted to hear that you had a fabulous night with us, due in part to the efforts of my team who pulled out all the stops to make this a very special night for you and your wife as...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 October 2016 via mobile

My husband and I booked this stay after we recently got married and it was a night away to relax after the big day. On arrival the hotel grounds were lovely and quite, reception was very friendly and the room was fine with a view at the back of the hotel (overlooking the car park and some trees) not the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kirst890
G M, General Manager at Macdonald Crutherland House, responded to this review

Dear kirst890, thank you for your recent feedback on Tripadvisor after having recently stayed with us at Crutherland House Hotel. I am delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us and enjoyed the grounds which were lovely and quite as well as the reception team who were very friendly as well as your bedroom which was fine...

Newton Blossomville, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 October 2016

Comfortable clean quiet room. Plenty of space in the room and bathroom. Endless hot water. The coffee maker made me feel at home. Easy to find with plenty of parking space. All in all a pleasant stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Smiths438
G M, General Manager at Macdonald Crutherland House, responded to this review

Dear Smiths438, many thanks for the fantastic feedback which you recently provided us with after having recently stayed at Crutherland House. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay in one of our comfortable clean quiet rooms, which had plenty of space in the room and bathroom for your needs along with an endless supply of hot water....

Johnstone, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 October 2016

My wife and I were treated to an overnight stay at the hotel all expences paid to celebrate a big birthday by her niece and husband. We were booked in to the Highfield Suite. Very comfortable bed, spacious room, friendly staff, who were only too happy to oblige. Lovely old building, thoroughly modernised with well laid out garden and parkland....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gardentripper
G M, General Manager at Macdonald Crutherland House, responded to this review

Dear Gardentripper Many thanks for your feedback on Tripadvisor after having recently stayed with us at Crutherland House to celebrate a big birthday. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay in our Highfield Suite with a very comfortable bed, spacious room, friendly staff, who were only too happy to oblige. I am sorry to hear that the flowers in...

Ayr, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 October 2016

Poor review in light of very poor breakfast. 3 attempts to get food hot enough. Toast charcoal black For one night B & B break - not ideal to get one of the B's so wrong! Staff , Room and hotel in general ok though so if can sort out food , worth considering ,but need to get basics right

 Report
Helpful?
Thank S916ENjames
G M, General Manager at Macdonald Crutherland House, responded to this review

Dear S916ENjames I am so sorry to read of your poor experience when dining with us for breakfast I have taken your feedback on board and also shared this with both the chef ad the restaurant manager to ensure that there is no repeat of such moving forward. I thank you once again for providing me with your feedback, which...

191 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (166)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (39)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (77)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Kilbride
Torrance Hotel
#4 of 7 in East Kilbride
463 reviews
Holiday Inn East Kilbride
#6 of 7 in East Kilbride
613 reviews
City Centre
Blythswood Square
Blythswood Square
#15 of 95 in Glasgow
2,396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bruce Hotel
#7 of 7 in East Kilbride
308 reviews
Crossbasket Castle
#1 of 1 in Blantyre
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Breakfast Available

Additional Information about Macdonald Crutherland House

Address: Strathaven Road, East Kilbride G75 0QJ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > South Lanarkshire > East Kilbride
Price Range: RM397 - RM806 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Crutherland House 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com and Priceline so you can book your Macdonald Crutherland House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Crutherland House Hotel East Kilbride
Macdonald Crutherland Hotel
Macdonald Crutherland East Kilbride
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in East Kilbride
#4 Family Hotel in East Kilbride
#4 Romantic Hotel in East Kilbride
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Macdonald Crutherland House staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Macdonald Crutherland House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“View to the front.”
 of 5 bubbles Gardentripper, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Don't choose the ground floor or everyone has to go along your corridor to get to the leisure club”
 of 5 bubbles dawnsH7612EK, 20 Oct 2016 | Read review
“1st floor room was the best as close to all amenities”
 of 5 bubbles 36katieg, 19 Oct 2016 | Read review
“All rooms seemed similar so it was not possible to distinguish between them.”
 of 5 bubbles U4485OXrobertw, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Dont accept a room with a badly cracked sink.”
 of 5 bubbles jkwilso5, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay