We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Bruce Bay Cottages

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Bruce Bay Cottages
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

30 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 29: English reviews
Winnipeg, Canada
Reviewed 27 September 2016 via mobile

These rustic cottages are a delight. Providing clean and cozy spaces at the water's edge, the woodstove heated cabins are a restful haven from a long day on the road. Arrive early or leave late to take advantage of the canoe/kayak /bicycle options. The 20' hike to the lighthouse is worth the walk (pack a snack for beach and/or the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Max M
Island-Pat, Manager at Bruce Bay Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at our resort. We appreciate your review and look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Elliot Lake, Canada
Reviewed 19 September 2016

Our daughter, son in law and 2 small grandsons wanted to visit but decided it would be better for them if they didn't stay with us with the 2 active little boys. As a treat we paid for their stay at Bruce Bay Cottages. The cabin was cozy and clean, staff great, really good amenities for adults and kids. Excellent...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mrsDin
Island-Pat, Manager at Bruce Bay Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and we look forward to seeing you in the future.

Reviewed 4 September 2016

Two gal pals and I booked last Spring. Wanted the Lighthouse but already reserved. We had cottage # 7 on Aug.29/30 & 31st. Everyone had a great time. Would certainly go again but recommend reserving the lighthouse as the absolute best treat one could ever imagine. Funnymoon,honeymoon, writer's retreat, well worth the drive from Muskoka. If you're into checking your...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RLP Gravenhurst R
Island-Pat, Manager at Bruce Bay Cottages, responded to this review

Thank You for your review it was a pleasure to have you on the islands and look forward to seeing you again

Ottawa, Canada
Reviewed 1 September 2016

I feel chagrined for rating the Bruce Bay Cottages and Lighthouse 'poor', but I must go with how I feel. Hubby thought the cottages were fine and he'd stay there again, but I'm afraid I just didn't feel comfortable. It was just too 'rustic' for my liking. A lot of effort has been put into the upkeep of the Cottages....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Janet1016
Island-Pat, Owner at Bruce Bay Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our cottage resort. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us, as we strive to improve with each and every stay. Our nostalgic lakeside cottages are rustic and we work hard to maintain and preserve their vintage charm. We sincerely apologize if you did not know this in advance. We understand that an...

Sudbury, Canada
Reviewed 28 August 2016

We stayed at cottage 5 for one night while travelling through for our family goal "swim in all 5 Great Lakes challenge" this summer... but the kids wished we could have stayed longer. The charm of the old cottages equipped with old blankets, dishes and decor make you feel like you have gone back in time when things were simpler....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rtandtt
Island-Pat, Owner at Bruce Bay Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our cottage resort. Glad Lake Huron was part of your quest and that our resort was part of it. Hope to see you again in the future.

Reviewed 23 August 2016

Wonderful two days spent on Lake Ontario in a rustic cabin on the water. Nearby town of Bruce Mines has everything you might need, and the lifestyle is low-key and friendly. Cabin was spacious and well-kept, but by no means modern. We will be back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rudi v
Island-Pat, Owner at Bruce Bay Cottages, responded to this review

Thank You for your review and we look forward to seeing you in the future

Reviewed 3 June 2016 via mobile

Beautiful setting surrounded by panoramic views of the North Channel. Old, traditional cottages with clean, comfortable beds and whimsical touches (e.g. hand painted floors and landscapes painted directly on the pine wall boards). The cottages have a sense of privacy with porches, outdoor grills, fire rings and easy access to hiking trails. Staff is helpful and friendly. The Marriott it's...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kitty S
Island-Pat, Owner at Bruce Bay Cottages, responded to this review

Thank You for your review and we hope to see you again in the future

Markham, Canada
Reviewed 15 November 2015

This place is well run, clean and very peaceful... a hidden gem! My family and I had a very relaxing vacation and thoroughly enjoyed our time here. Very quiet and a nature lovers paradise! The kids loved the recreational lounge (with WIFI) on rainy days and walking on the bluffs or hiking around the island was a great way to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ray F
michigan
Reviewed 12 October 2015

We rented the light house. 3 bedrooms. 1.5 bathrooms. It is approximately 2 miles from the main road so there is no street noise. It is a comfortable place with nothing fancy but it is clean. Internet service was not available during this time and it was great to just talk, relax, and read a book. Excellent area for walks,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mich4122
Aurora, Canada
Reviewed 7 September 2015

We 4 adults spend a very happy and relaxing 9 nights at Bruce Bay Cottages. Our hosts, Pat and Larry, were most gracious, and cottage # 7 was cozy, clean, well-equipped and comfortable. The views of the North Channel, the sunsets and moon-rises were delightful, and the swims at the island beaches and Rock Lake were awesome. There's so much...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank susanshaw45
Island-Pat, Manager at Bruce Bay Cottages, responded to this review

Glad you enjoyed our area and hope you return in the future.

32 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (32)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bruce Mines
16.1 km away
Carolyn Beach Inn & Restaurant
8.7 km away
Hilton Beach Inn
Hilton Beach Inn
#1 of 5 in St. Joseph Island
11 reviews
2.1 km away
The Bavarian Inn
The Bavarian Inn
#1 of 1 in Bruce Mines
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Escape to nature on 2 private islands and stay in a cozy waterfront cottage on Lake Huron or the McKay Island Lighthouse. Complimentary bikes, canoes and kayaks. Bruce Mines is 45 minutes from Sault Ste Marie and the International Bridge. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bruce Bay Cottages

Address: 82 French Island Road, Bruce Mines, Ontario P0R 1C0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Bruce Mines
Price Range: RM314 - RM468 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bruce Bay Cottages 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Bruce Bay Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Bruce Bay Cottages staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Bring your stress and leave it at the island bridge!”
 of 5 bubbles 503rayf, 14 Nov 2015 | Read review
“Book early, it has a high demand”
 of 5 bubbles markusr24, 24 Apr 2015 | Read review
“Hard to go wrong here. Just note that for just $30/night more, can rent the secluded lighthouse on tip of south island.”
  • Hanging out at cabin
 of 5 bubbles deanintransit, 1 Dec 2014 | Read review
“All the rooms are good but the Lighthouse offers a premium experience. You will think you are the only people on earth.”
 of 5 bubbles jeffk647, 20 Aug 2014 | Read review
“Any of the cabins are fantastic, but the lighthouse is over the top!”
 of 5 bubbles LisaB259, 13 Jan 2013 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay