We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Old Bell Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Old Bell Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

359 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Old Bell Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 352: English reviews
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 October 2015

Came here for a dad's birthday and if I am being honest this was the second choice as the Old Original did not have a table available at the required time. There were 7 of us in total and we were booked in for 8.00pm when we arrived the table was not ready but I have to give the staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NickDale_67
theoldbellinn, Owner at The Old Bell Inn, responded to this review

Thank you Nick for taking the time to write your review. I do always discuss any points raised through Trip Advisor with all staff concerned at the time, but unfortunately our Restaurant Manager who would have been on duty is away on leave at the moment so will discuss on her return. It seems your wait for the table was...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 October 2015

If you haven't already heard, this pub boasts over 300 different gins and their gin bar is something to behold. Despite there being so much choice, the staff are adept at helping to guide your choices and really know their stuff. It was great fun trying all the different gins, although sometimes it can take a while to get served....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank daz4126
theoldbellinn, Manager at The Old Bell Inn, responded to this review

Hi, thank you for your review. Our Guinness World Record Gin Emporium is indeed a great sight, with now over 600 varieties and our staff do know their gins! It can get extremely busy, but I'm sure you agree it is worth the wait. I am wondering whether you mentioned the fact that you would like vegetarian sausages with your...

Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 October 2015

Ideal location for Saddleworth Moor and adjoining districts. Delph is such a pretty village. It was the perfect location and accommodation for our family get together. Lovely comfortable rooms and the living room was especially welcoming so that we could congregate without disturbing the costumers in the bar areas. The food was first class both the evening meal and breakfast....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Juliejulie65
theoldbellinn, Manager at The Old Bell Inn, responded to this review

Hi Julie, thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay and you found the whole experience here both comfortable and welcoming. Hope to see you again very soon. Kind regards

Reviewed 26 October 2015 via mobile

Had a wonderful experience at the old bell Inn. Lovely food, rooms nicely done, staff are amazing and not forgetting the 404 different gins to try. Would highly recommend to anyone. We will definitely be going again

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Simon D
theoldbellinn, Manager at The Old Bell Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very much Simon for your great review. We are delighted you enjoyed your experience here with us. Our staff are well known for their friendliness and pleased you found them welcoming. Our Guinness World Record Gin Emporium is indeed a great sight and we now have over 600 varieties to choose form, so an ever increasing choice. Kind...

Reviewed 22 October 2015 via mobile

We have been going to the Old Bell for years and always enjoyed it but the current menu takes the experience to a new level. My wife and i opted for the 'taste of pork' medley, which was delicious and visually perfect. The McGuigan's red worked well with the dish, although purists may prefer to opt for a white. In...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David B
theoldbellinn, Manager at The Old Bell Inn, responded to this review

Hi David Thank you for taking the time to write your review. It is great to receive such wonderful feedback from our regular diners and thank you for supporting us, it is very much appreciated. The Old Bell Inn has undergone some dramatic changes recently, as you have obviously noticed. Apart from our extension to the restaurant, giving us also...

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 October 2015 via mobile

I stayed overnight here for work in Oldham. Delph is a pretty village ideally located to commute into Oldham or th e surrounding area. The rooms at the Old Bell Inn are incredibly comfortable and have everything you need. Normally I'd use one of the "Purple Chain" hotels but find these all too soulless and clinical. The bar area of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris L
theoldbellinn, Manager at The Old Bell Inn, responded to this review

Hi Chris Thank you for your very kind review. We are really pleased you enjoyed your time with us and glad you decided to stay in our beautiful village here in Delph. We do like think that we have everything required here to provide a comfortable and friendly environment with a great atmosphere and an array of menu choices and...

Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 October 2015

My wife and I recently stayed at The Old Bell on the nights of the 2nd and 3rd of October and to say that we were disappointed is probably an understatement for the following reasons: We upgraded to a superior room as a result of comments on Trip Advisor at a cost of £120 per night - on arrival the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank richard p
theoldbellinn, Owner at The Old Bell Inn, responded to this review

As you are aware, you contacted me via email on 12 October, 2015 outlining your concerns. I sent you a detailed response on 15 October 2015, (copy of which is below), before your Trip Adviser review appeared. Clearly, your grievances have been expressed in both your email and Trip Adviser review and have been fully addressed. Therefore, your request for...

Worcester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 September 2015

Haven't stayed here for a while, was pleasantly surprised on my return. Much friendlier than I remembered, with attentive mostly young staff. Got a good rate and then got upgraded to a lovely room so no complaints there. Most of the menu was outside my budget but even the more affordable steak pie was really tasty. Excellent cooked breakfast. Good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PAJMcK
theoldbellinn, Manager at The Old Bell Inn, responded to this review

Hi, thank you very much for your very kind review. We are delighted you enjoyed your steak pie and our found our hospitality so friendly and efficient. Glad you returned and hopefully you will return again soon. Our variety of wines, spirits and beers are indeed plentiful, especially our gin collection. See you again soon. Kind regards

Nottingham UK
Reviewed 15 September 2015

Stayed here over the Bank Holiday weekend Interesting hotel , rooms can be a little difficult to access due to the very steep stairs but once in the room very well appointed and comfortable . The restaurant gave some very interesting choices . Breakfast was well presented and freshly prepared. The icing on the cake were the staff, all local...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AndyBNottinghamUK
theoldbellinn, Manager at The Old Bell Inn, responded to this review

Hi Andy, thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay here with us over the Bank Holiday weekend and in particular your breakfast. I will pass on to our staff your comments about them being so friendly and efficient. Something we are very proud of here. The stairs in the main...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 September 2015

We didn't expect this to be a cheap place but a double gin (we had the 209 from San Fransisco) was £9.90 and a small tonic was £3, making it £12.90 per drink. It's perhaps unfair to compare the Old Bell to other locations but the same gin in Weatherspoons including Fentimans tonic was £3.60 for the double (£2.40 a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pauljschofield
theoldbellinn, Manager at The Old Bell Inn, responded to this review

Hi Paul, thanks for taking the time to write your review. I think you are probably quite right that you can't compare The Old Bell with Weatherspoons and our costs are completely different for many reasons, including the presentation of our drinks, the added extras, such as home grown botanicals, the glasses we use, stirrers and fruits plus the relaxed...

67 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (50)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (37)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Delph
1.8 km away
Saddleworth Hotel
Saddleworth Hotel
#1 of 1 in Delph
300 reviews
4.2 km away
Clough Manor
Clough Manor
#1 of 1 in Denshaw
240 reviews
3.5 km away
The White Hart Inn at Lydgate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 km away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#3 of 13 in Oldham
471 reviews
7.5 km away
Premier Inn Oldham Central Hotel
7.5 km away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Smokies Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Old Bell Inn is an 18 bedroomed, four star AA & VisitEngland accredited inn. There is a Brasserie and a Restaurant where local head chef creates exciting dishes using fresh, locally sourced produce. Head Chef's 'Signature Menu' has been awarded a coveted AA Rosette for culinary excellence. Over the past few years The Old Bell Inn has established itself as one of the finest venues in Saddleworth, with an excellent reputation for service, dining and accommodation. This 18th century Coaching House is steeped in history and has been carefully transformed to reflect a clever mix of traditional old English charm with contemporary luxury. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Old Bell Inn

Address: Huddersfield Road, Delph, Oldham OL3 5EG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Oldham > Delph
Price Range: RM378 - RM694 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Bell Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Old Bell Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Old Bell Inn staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Old Bell Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms facing the front will get traffic noise. We did not hear any noise from other people staying at the Inn.”
 of 5 bubbles beng596, 7 Feb 2017 | Read review
“It's a long climb to room 15 but it's good when you get there.”
 of 5 bubbles , 5 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Room 5 is superb. Even overlooking the main road it is very quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles V2912MCericr, 20 Dec 2016 | Read review
“We had a double room which was nice but maybe next time i would choose a larger room”
 of 5 bubbles lynhouston, 12 Aug 2016 | Read review
“They are all good and offer a relaxing experience”
 of 5 bubbles idgbrooks1956, 17 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5