Amansala Yoga And Wellness Resort

Amansala Yoga And Wellness Resort

Carr. Tulum-Boca Paila KM 5.5, Tulum Beach, Tulum 77760 Mexico
From our trip to Amansala eco chic yoga and spa
Traveller (1134)
Pool & Beach (189)
comfortable beds
Room & Suite (172)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Breakfast included
RM 1,296
Breakfast included
Get rewarded with One Key
RM 1,296
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#2 of 2 resorts in Tulum Beach
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Amansala is a beautiful boutique resort located right on the white sandy beaches of Tulum. Bikini Bootcamp takes place almost weekly which is a tune up for the mind, body and spirit. Days start with a power walk on the beach, and include yoga, fantastic fitness classes, tours to see the highlights of the area, healthy natural food, massages, and much more. A perfect place to come on ones own or with a friend for anyone seeking a holiday with a purpose with a good blend of being active but still having time to relax on the beautiful beach. Amansala is one of the oldest hotels in Tulum, although the style has modernized the soulfness of our beautiful hotel has stayed the same.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free public parking nearby
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Yoga classes
Bar / lounge
Beach
Bicycle rental
Airport transportation
Paid wifi
Pool / beach towels
Fitness classes
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Poolside bar
Snorkelling
Spa
Full body massage
Massage
Concierge
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
Room features
Air conditioning
Private beach
Private balcony
Safe
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish

Location

Carr. Tulum-Boca Paila KM 5.5, Tulum Beach, Tulum 77760 Mexico
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 67 out of 100
67
Aerodromo de Playa Del Carmen
63.9 km
See all flights
Cozumel Airport
66.7 km
See all flights
1,141Review32Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 677
  • 191
  • 84
  • 83
  • 106
Traveller safety
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Yats wrote a review Jun 2022
5 contributions
Hotel's Favourite
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My team and I held a retreat here of over 20 people.. and honestly, we couldn't have been more BLESSED with how amazing everything went.
It was all so WELL organised and taken care of and on numerous occasions I remember talking to my team and saying how much of a load was taken off of our shoulders because of how well the Amansala team showed up.

The food was absolutely delicious, the staff were so so helpful with moving things and organising what we needed at the venue. the shalas themselves were gorgeous in the various locations. The rooms had beautiful views...
honestly, everything went so well. I will always consider coming back to have more retreats here because of how convenient, organised it was and the experience that just being in that location provided in addition to the work we were already doing.
Thank you Amansala, again , for such a beautiful experience.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Beachfront rooms even if there's an extra bed in there are gorgeous.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kizzie Mae Lagunzad, Guest Services / Front Office at Amansala Yoga And Wellness Resort
Responded 11 Aug 2022
Thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience with us! We would love to host you again in the future and we hope the rest of your travels were as wonderful as your time with us at Amansala.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Megan wrote a review Aug 2020
Round Rock, Texas16 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
My husband and I traveled to Tulum for a wedding. Days before the trip our previous reservations canceled on us. We were overwhelmed with all the options around Tulum and decided on Amansala on a whim. We generally stay at all inclusive resorts in Mexico but didn’t find the cost of those were justified if we were going to be at wedding events each of the 3 nights we were staying. So I knew going in this would be a slightly different trip that others.

I was hesitant about AC only being available 9pm-9am but we were only in the room the change and sleep and it cooled down quickly.

The garden view room we had was small, but met our needs. Kind sized bed, closet space, safe, and bathroom. It had dispensers for shampoo, conditioner and soap though it didn’t tell me which was which. No hair dryer but I knew that ahead of time and brought my own. Only issue was we didn’t have hot water after day 1. After being out in the sun, I didn’t mind (and even preferred) the cool shower.

The decor and scenery are beautiful. The staff was nice and helpful. Any food and drinks were ordered were brought to us quickly and were all delicious. Plenty of space on the beach or pool whenever you needed it.

The location of the resort was good, but not the best in terms of some of the clusters of resorts and restaurants you’ll have. We didn’t rent any bikes but went walking up the beach for pizza, gelato, and massages one day and it wasn’t too far for anything we needed.

Overall I loved the city and resort. It worked well for this trip.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Brenda B wrote a review Jul 2021
9 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This resort is well located at an intersection that leads into town. Although the traffic on the beach road is pretty bad no matter when you go. We took cabs most all places due to safety - the road has almost no sidewalks and is packed with cars, shuttles, bikes, scooters, pedestrians, etc. Amansala Resort has two buildings, we stayed at “Chica”, the pool, restaurant and main desk are in the other building just a 2 min walk. We originally had a bottom floor “garden double” with wood thatch screened windows. Even though there was AC, it was not cold because there were no sealed windows. We requested to change rooms the next morning and they accommodated us. This new room had all sealed glass windows and the AC was great from 9 pm - 9 am!! The beds and pillows were comfortable. There were soaps, plenty of bath and beach towels provided and a safe for your secure items. The restaurant was tasty, but we only really had breakfast (included without booking) and some pool snacks and drinks. We went out in Tulum for most dinners. Yoga classes were great! We liked that this resort seemed to draw a more relaxed, down to earth demographic than other more pretentious hotels. The WhatsApp method of communication with the resort and staff was well managed and staff were very helpful and responded / reacted quickly. Make sure to note weather and beach conditions prior to traveling, as beginning in June is rainy season and we ended up only having a few days of sun and lots of rain/wind. But we adventured out to cenotes and diving.
We had a great stay!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
RFAnderson wrote a review Mar 2022
San Diego, California82 contributions41 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
on the one hand, the staff was very nice, accommodating and helpful (especially Bernie, our server/waiter for the week) and our room was literally right on the beach. However, things went downhill from there.
1. this was about the most we ever paid for a room, at almost $600 per night. beachfront was nice, but we have had much nicer places beachfront for far less per night.
2. as we check in, we find out that we cannot drink or use the room tap water to Bruch teeth, so they provide large bottles of water. nor can we flush the toilet paper.
3. we pre-booked round trip shuttle, thinking there was a discounted rate, only to find we could have booked the same return shuttle there for less.
4. we pre-paid/pre-booked 4 massages on site. we were both disappointed (not deep tissues as we had requested) with first massage, so we canceled the other 2 and got better massages down the beach for less money.
5. not sure if it was the food or water on site or elsewhere, but 4 of the 6 of us got sick that last 2 days of our week. and another yoga group had about 10 people that got sick
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Fernando Sanchez wrote a review Jan 2021
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I really like the eco chic concept of Amansala. from the moment you enter it is like a fairy land with pretty lights and a beautiful energy. I also loved the location as it was not too far down the road that gets really crowded but at a great location where you can explore Tulum easily. I stayed in a beachfront room although i met some people who booked a small room in the back for a lot less, i would do the beachfront again.

I walked the beach and honestly could not find a better set up or better feel anywhere. I brought my laptop as i work remotely and it was an amazing home office for 15 days.

Great food, great staff and great value. I will definitely be back!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Beachfront Nirvana Amazing Room!!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jask wrote a review Feb 2020
London, United Kingdom14 contributions2 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
I did the beach and bliss yoga retreat. The resort comes with absolutely stunning views and lovely spots. The eco chic vibe is strong, which I loved. I also liked the yoga teachers, in particular Jessy and Kun. The morning routine of meditation, walk and yoga was my favourite part of the program and gave me calmness and joy.

My biggest issue was with the food however. While it was tasty, options for vegans were limited. For every meal I had to go to the kitchen to ask for a vegan option (meals are set and they were never vegan by default). It was especially challenging to get vegan protein. All the kitchen suggested every time I asked for a vegan version, were salad or veggies, which demonstrates a limited knowledge about vegan dishes. The world is changing and in particular people who venture on (rather pricey) yoga retreats will more often than not be vegan. Not offering a single vegan protein dish for breakfast just doesn’t cut it, more so considering all the workouts one does. I was constantly hungry once I ran out of the own stuff I brought. Cooking vegan with local ingredients and offering high protein would be simple (lentils, chickpeas - not just microwaved out of a tin after being pressed, black beans, quinoa...). It was uncomfortable to have to ask for a vegan option every time and to regularly get frowned upon by staff.

Also, note that you can get very different rooms within the same category. The first room they wanted to give me was a dark, humid, unfriendly room with an unfinished front door (reason they then switched me to another nice room at their Chica building).
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Babybaby1116 wrote a review Mar 2022
Stamford, Connecticut45 contributions10 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Amansala- you either love it or hate it. I consider myself a snob, but to me, it was sheer bohemian Paradise. I did the bikini boot camp with a girlfriend and truly enjoyed every minute of the authentic Tulum experience, but there are a few things to know:

*the resort is 2 hours from Cancun airport so we used their transfers to and from the hotel and
were pleased
*plan on being barefoot during most of your stay as the hotel pathways are beach sand
*this eco chic resort doesnt allow hair dryers
*they request you dispose of toilet tissue in the waste basket (this goes for EVERYWHERE in Tulum)
*the food and fresh pressed juices included in the Bikini Bootcamp retreat are fresh and delicious and the resort provides vegetarian/gluten free options. Staff was lovely.
*I did most of the fitness classes during my stay and loved the variety of yoga experiences - Jessy Crystal, Kuun, and Darlene all have their own teaching style and each one is incredible
* Mack’s Afro Beats class was soooo fun and really got me out of my comfort zone
* All 3 excursions visiting the Ruins, Cenotes, and Mangroves were fun and I met some other cool hotel guests. Carlo led us on these trips and he went out of his way to make them extra special for us. We felt very safe with him and even VIP
*if your up for a challenge, the sweat lodge with shamanic healer Maria Luisa was a very memorable Mayan ritual and certainly a team bonding experience. It’s an additional fee, but I totally thought was worth it
*if you want to get off campus my two favorite restaurants were Posada Margarita, an Italian owned restaurant just a few steps away on the beach….amazing shrimp with homemade linguine AND Meze, which has the tastiest wood fired octopus I’ve ever had.
*id definitely return to Amansala, and felt safe enough to travel there alone.
*We stayed in room 31- a double oceanfront room with a balcony and the most breathtaking view.

This truly is such a special place.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from melissa perlman, General Manager at Amansala Yoga And Wellness Resort
Responded 7 Apr 2022
Thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review. We are glad you enjoyed the fitness classes we have a team of knowledgable trainer that take pride in giving the best experience and perfect balance between relaxation time and fitness. As well as enjoying some of our spiritual evening activities..It sounds like you created your own special experience with us. And thank you for clarifying this!! Tulum is a magical experience which is supposed to take you outside of your comfort zone and allow you to journey the long beaches, meet like minded people or simply spend some quality time with yourself. We love that you see what we try to create for our guests. We believe in creating an experience that centers around the natural beauty and resources unique to Tulum. We use natural materials and resources to create simple yet beautiful rooms, a menu full of fresh delicious food and an atmosphere that feels more like staying at a friends beach house than a hotel. We love hosting guests like yourself and do not hesitate to come back again!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lindsey P wrote a review Mar 2022
11 contributions
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I don’t know where to begin… Amansala changed my life. I came to Tulum alone from Chicago for 10 days. I was welcomed and helped with luggage right away when I arrived. I travel with my little schnauzer dog and have had so many problems in past with people not accommodating us. The staff accepted Carmine and went out of their way to make sure his food was stored in freezer for me (prescribed fresh frozen)
Every morning there were bicycles available to take out so I could get my morning workout in! Breakfast is amazing… they serve tea and coffee at 5:30am and then have little buffet of fresh fruits, yogurt, and different egg options! You can sit by the ocean inside their restaurant or by the beach!
I actually stayed here twice and canceled my air bnb at Villa I had bc I loved the hotel so much and the whole staff! Both rooms I had were amazing! Hot water, strong water pressure, no bugs, plenty of storage for cloths, extremely comfortable beds where I’ve gotten some of the best sleep I’ve had in years, bed linens are high end made, mayan honey soaps in each room that smell and make your skin feel great and room stayed very cold with or without purchasing 24-7 air conditioning!
There is a boutique shop connected to the front of the property and you can find some of Tulum’s best jewelry and handmade cloths there as well as copal, and some beauty products!
There hasn’t been a day in the last two weeks since my stay at Amansala where I don’t think about a few of the staff members there. Juan helped me with so much during my stay! He really made my trip extra special just by being so kind and talking every afternoon before I would go lay by beach. He made sure I was ok during my stay and I appreciate the help with translation to some of the restaurant staff!
There are a bunch of activities listed on a board in the kitchen area, which none I took place in unfortunately and regretting it. Carlo runs bikini boot camp and beach walks and he is another staff member that I adore along with his two pups! Sorry to leave a couple more staffs names that I don’t remember. The girl at front desk that checked me in first stay and the gentleman that checked me into room with patio! Thank you!
I highly recommend Amansala! I did meet the owner Melissa and I want to thank her personally for opening such a great place! You are so kind, your work very hard and it shows! I will be back to Tulum soon and of course will be staying at Amansala again! Juan, Carlo and Melissa… thank you for leaving such an imprint on my heart and mind!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Free parking directly across the street! Perfect location!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from melissa perlman, General Manager at Amansala Yoga And Wellness Resort
Responded 5 Apr 2022
Hi Lindsay, thank you for the amazing recommendation. It was truly a pleasure having you stay with us. We greatly appreciate the wonderful nice aura you radiate while your here. We have a great team of knowledgable trainers and guides not to mention great local chefs and staff to ensure you can focus on feeling lighter in mind body and spirit from your experience at Amansala and we are happy you were able to experience that with us while you were here. Not to mention bringing your schnauzer dog with you! it was a joy to have another pup around as we are all dog friendly people here and happy that you were both able to relax in paradise together. I will be sure to pass along to the staff the nice words that you have left behind. We look forward to your next stay with us. See you soon!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
PussyCat G wrote a review Oct 2021
Bisbee, Arizona11 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
My fiancé and I paid $475:00 US dollars for a romantic getaway only to find it disgustingly filthy. I too have never left a bad review anywhere because we are business owners ourselves. We tried to speak to the owner to clear this up but to no avail! The AC is controlled and is not turned until 10pm-7am. At 10:20pm the AC was still not on, We had to request it! The room was filthy and there was fresh blood on the bedding! We took pictures! The shower water could not be turned off all night! When the AC finally came on it was so warm a fan would have been better! Horrible place and horrible experience!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Alexandra wrote a review Jun 2021
4 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Lovely place, upgraded on arrival to a seaview room, which was well worth the money, felt save there even during extreme winds at night. Amazing staff, the service was on point and food is delicious too. Didn't do any activities offered by the hotel such as yoga and others, but the offer is definitely there. Could work a little on the cleanliness in the room and around the public areas.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
2105rileyinut asked a question Oct 2020
Huntsville, Utah3 contributions4 helpful votes
Hi anybody knows the phone number for the front desk please?
Answer from Cy Mario
Westminster, California9 contributions13 helpful votes
WhatsApp is the best way to get a hold of them. They respond very quickly
Linda G asked a question Jan 2020
190 contributions28 helpful votes
I love the looks of this beautiful hotel but is there AC inside the rooms?
Answer from Marty O
Some rooms have sun beating on them during the day and AC at 9 is not sufficient. Feel like my room is unusable because I am sweating my tail off.
Jerell J asked a question Oct 2019
4 contributions
Is this resort all inclusive for food & alcohol?
Answer from artcasac
California1 contribution1 helpful vote
If you book one of our programs Beach n Bliss or Bikini Bootcamp we include meals but never alcohol. We have an amazing program that includes daily beachwalks guided medtation yoga fitness meals tours to local highlight and many more We would love to host you! Darlene
Allison E wrote a tip Mar 2024
Park City, Utah2 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"In hotels at the beach in Tulum ask about music playing. Some places are SO loud all day long. Make sure your room isn’t too close. "
Read full review
Liz C wrote a tip Feb 2024
Minneapolis, Minnesota206 contributions116 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The yoga is great 2 hrs from Cancun but worth it."
Read full review
Mariojasso9496 wrote a tip Feb 2024
3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"When you visit, just stay all day, or stay the night. This intimate boutique hotel resort is Tulums best kept secret."
Read full review
Cindy wrote a tip Feb 2024
Henderson, Nevada7 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Taxis are $$$ rent a car if you plan to see a lot Know you will spend alot as it’s more like California prices"
Read full review
Amber H wrote a tip Jan 2024
3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Taxis are only cash and the ATM is a 15 minute walk."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Tulum Beach area.
PRICE RANGE
RM 1,363 - RM 1,424 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
amansala bikini bootcamp hotel tulum, amansala hotel tulum, amansala resort tulum
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Amansala Eco-Chic Resort + Spa
LOCATION
MexicoYucatan PeninsulaQuintana RooRiviera MayaTulumTulum Beach
NUMBER OF ROOMS
85
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

AMANSALA YOGA AND WELLNESS RESORT (R̶M̶ ̶1̶,̶5̶3̶2̶) RM 1,390: UPDATED 2024 Reviews, Price Comparison and 1,241 Photos (Tulum Beach, Mexico) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Amansala Yoga And Wellness Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Amansala Yoga And Wellness Resort?
Nearby attractions include Tulum Beach (0.1 km), Alumbra Tulum (0.2 km), and Aldea Luum (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Amansala Yoga And Wellness Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a spa.
What food & drink options are available at Amansala Yoga And Wellness Resort?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Amansala Yoga And Wellness Resort?
Yes, free public parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Amansala Yoga And Wellness Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Mezzanine Thai Restaurant & Bar, Kuu Tulum, and Mulberry Project Tulum.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Amansala Yoga And Wellness Resort?
Yes, guests have access to an outdoor pool, fitness classes, and yoga classes during their stay.
Does Amansala Yoga And Wellness Resort have airport transportation?
Yes, Amansala Yoga And Wellness Resort offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Amansala Yoga And Wellness Resort located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.2 km away from the centre of Tulum Beach.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Amansala Yoga And Wellness Resort?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Does Amansala Yoga And Wellness Resort have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
All Tulum Beach HotelsTulum Beach Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Tulum BeachHotels near Amansala Yoga And Wellness Resort
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire