Hotel Zulum

Hotel Zulum

Carr. Tulum - Boca Paila Km 6.5, Tulum Beach, Tulum 77780 Mexico
Zimmer mit Ausblick
Traveller (322)
Room & Suite (126)
This is the view of the restaurant in the night
Pool & Beach (101)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

3.5
#2 of 2 villas in Tulum Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.5 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.6 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.1 of 5 bubbles
Value
We are almost sure that after being here only one day you will be thinking about changing your return ticket or even canceling it and staying for good (nothing can be farther from the truth, it happened to us and many other people). but don't worry we have 18 different Cabañas to choose from to make it your new home.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free internet
Pool
Outdoor pool
Free breakfast
Beach
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Restaurant
Sun umbrellas
Room features
Complimentary toiletries
Room types
Ocean view
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Romantic
Languages Spoken
Spanish

Location

Carr. Tulum - Boca Paila Km 6.5, Tulum Beach, Tulum 77780 Mexico
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Good for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 85 out of 100
85
Aerodromo de Playa Del Carmen
Cozumel Airport
67.6 km
See all flights
323Reviews11Q+A32Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 101
  • 72
  • 49
  • 36
  • 65
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
flo wrote a review Feb 2022
Sardinia, Italy1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We enjoyed every minute. Jasmin and the rest of the team were very nice. Food was excellent.
Not all rooms have a separate Toilett, you could smell the canalisation. Other than it was clean. No A/C in our room but a fan.
Free parking is available as well.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Megan S wrote a review Sept 2021
San Diego, California4 contributions1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I loved my stay a Hotel Zulum… it had a great friendly chill vide which I really enjoyed. The location was amazing! Walking distance to pretty very thing you want to do in the beach area and a short bike ride into town. The price is great when compared to the surrounding hotels. The restaurant on site was very good and affordable. No A/C in the room I stayed in but fans are provided for you. It’s a little loud from the near by beach clubs but nothing that really bothered me. Everyone there is super friendly and happy. If you are looking for a laid back , non-pretentious beach vide, this place is for you!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jehangir31 wrote a review Jan 2018
Tulum, Mexico9 contributions15 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel is located along the beachfront strip in Tulum. Before I rate the hotel I should tell you about Tulum. If you've never stayed in Tulum, you have to know that most of the hotel rooms at all the hotels are little cabanas with a bed, shower, and toilet. You can't put toilet paper in the toilets because it will get clogged. You put it in a little basket with a cover next to the toilet after using it. There are a few fancy hotels on the strip that may have very nice looking rooms, but you are going to pay $1000 or more a night during high season (December through end of January) for those hotels. If you are going off season, then you may pay $500 a night for those hotels. Zulum cabanas take up a small section of the beachfront. The vibe is a very chill vibe. They have a raised terrace restaurant overlooking the beach with tables and chairs where you can eat and drink while taking in the ocean and beach. The terrace has a beach vibe, not super fancy, which I like. The beach, like all the beaches in Tulum, is beautiful. There are a few covered areas where you can lay out with the option of being in the shade. We were on the beach by 930-10am so we were able to get those everyday because I need to be in the shade (otherwise I will burn). They give you towels when you first arrive and if you want a new towel, you have to turn in your original towel. You can order drinks and food at the terrace and they will bring it to you on the beach. When I have stayed at places where the server is directly on the beach, I end up spending way too much money on food and drinks. The owners have about 5 dogs on the premises and they are really cute and add to the chill atmosphere. The owner and his wife are very nice and they are frequently seen on the terrace and the beach with their small children (which also added to the chill and natural vibe in my opinion). The staff is also very nice and tries very hard to get you anything you need. If you like an affordable place with a relaxed beach vibe, Zulum is for you. If you are used to all inclusive resorts where you are served like a king, then the city of Tulum is not for you in general (unless you are willing to pay over $1000 a night and spend a lot of cash).
Read more
Date of stay: January 2018
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nicolas D wrote a review Apr 2022
Miami, Florida, United States8 contributions11 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We checked into a room that was smelly, with no AC, dirty towels, and roaches in the shower.
We went to the restaurant for dinner and felt we were bothering the server who was extremely rude.
We could not sleep the first night due to the excruciating heat and heavy noise coming from the next-door venues.
The next day, we asked the front desk person to change our room but were told that nothing was available (although we saw other people checking out).
Finally decided to check out because of all of the above, yet, the attendant refused to give us our money back.
Do not go to this place, it is a scam. The only line pictures are nothing like what it really is and the service is horrible.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Recepcion Zulum, General Manager at Hotel Zulum
Responded 20 Apr 2022
Dear Mr. At Hotel Zulúm we appreciate the minutes of your time in giving us your opinion about your stay. We are sorry that your stay was not entirely satisfactory. On all reservation pages it is specified that the rooms have ceiling or pedestal fans. This is the main reason why you explained to us that there would be an early departure and according to the cancellation policies that you agreed to at the time of making your reservation, a refund was not possible. When we have availability we offer to change our guests, many times at no additional cost to them, in order to achieve the satisfaction of our guests. In the same way we regret that your stay has been affected by the noise from the bars near the hotel, it is something that is not in our hands to solve, however in our pages we clarify about this situation. As for the other points that you tell us about, we will take action on the matter, if that is the case. And we promise to continue working for the satisfaction of our guests. We hope you have found a place to your liking. Best regards
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
nic0lasian wrote a review Nov 2021
London, United Kingdom2 contributions1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We are currently at the hotel. It’s midnight and the music and bass from the club next door is literally shaking the walls. There is no way we can sleep or even think. Deeply regret booking here. The receptionist knew fully well that this music was going to be this loud at night time - it was playing during the day (which we weren’t too worried about as we were going to be out during the day) but she did not tell us it would go into the night.

There is no way this place should charge for rooms. I would not stay here for free. There is no chance you would sleep for a second.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Clem C wrote a review Jun 2022
1 contribution4 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I should have researched more hotels in Tulum before selecting this one. First of all it was overpriced and it was not what I expected. We arrived at the front office and we’re greeted by a teenaged boy and asked us to wait- which was odd since no one else was there. He left and came back about 5 minutes later. When we went to the room, we learned there was no A/C. In addition, the ceiling fan was not working and when we asked for them to check it, the boy said his coworker would come by in a few minutes. They came by about 1 hour later. There were two floor fans and they didn’t seem to make the room any cooler. Just circulating the hot air. It was humid hot and we went to shower. The water was salty - made me wonder if I was showering in sea water. Shortly after, we noticed that the music from the bars would be playing all night and the door to the room was literally a sliding glass door that I would need to leave open if I didn’t want to die from heat stroke because there was only a window in the bathroom. I couldn’t take it anymore and decided to leave. My “special rate” didn’t allow for cancellations. I paid about $200 for 1 night. This place is horrible. I don’t recommend it to anyone. What a RIPOFF!!!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Recepcion Zulum, Director General at Hotel Zulum
Responded 24 Jun 2022
Thank you for contacting us. At Hotel Zulum we appreciate the minutes of your time in expressing your opinion about your stay. We are sorry that your stay has not been pleasant, we are a hotel that seeks to maintain the special touch of Tulum, maintaining the standards of service and attention. As part of our work, we are open to hearing your disagreements to provide a solution as soon as possible and to the extent that it is in our power to do so (on our pages we specify that we have several very popular and noisy bars near our hotel. As well as the clarification of that our rooms have ceiling or pedestal fans, not air conditioning). Our staff are adults of legal age regularly trained to provide the service that our guests deserve. We are sorry that at that time you felt that we did not attend you, surely our partner was helping another of our guests. We will continue working to continue improving our services. Best regards.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jenn M wrote a review May 2023
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Beware! There is no AC at this hotel! The weather in Tulum is ver hot and humid AC is necessary! The fans they give do not help! We left after a few hours due to not being able to handle how hot it was in the room! The power kept going off! The only thing i can say is the staff was nice and it is well located!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: If you are someone that can’t handle the heat do not stay here! There is no AC! The power also...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ben Philip W wrote a review Mar 2020
Lake Tahoe (Nevada), Nevada3 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed here for a last minute trip to Tulum to dive the Cenotes. Great place and location, walking distance to tons of bars and restaurants. Clean room with very friendly staff. Bernardo was the best.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Antonio C wrote a review May 2015
2 contributions19 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed at this hotel with some friends, our plan was to stay one night and the next day leave. Everything was going great, since we saw a cockroach in our room, we killed it and didn't care about it, but our room was not very clean, to say the least.

We went to sleep around 12:30 in our "hanging" bed that only made me dizzy. In the morning my friend woke me up screaming the somebody was in our room and stole from us. It was true, somebody stole my cell phone and all my money. My friend had worse luck the stole her money and her professional camera and lenses which costs around $4,000 USD.

We went to the owner of the hotel but he told us that it wasn't his problem a that he didn't care. He was the worst part of our nightmare!!! He's supposed to take care of the guests with security not turn his head away and look the other way!

Don't stay at this hotel EVER use our terrible experience and don't live it yourselves. They stole our things, I don't know if the owner works with the thieves, but what happens if they stole your kid or something really important to you.

Watch yourself from these kind of places and these kind of people
Read more
Date of stay: May 2015Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Katherine M wrote a review Jul 2014
2 contributions11 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I had the big displeasure of hearing the loud, pointless beating electronic house music blasting out of Zulum's bar EVERY day as it was positioned next to the cabana I was staying in. The whole of Tulum beach is tranquil paradise apart from the area ruined by this horrific place. I kindly asked the owner to turn it down. He initially did, only to turn the music back up even louder a minute later to make a point that he could. This disgusting man then shouted and swore at me, telling me to 'go back to your country' when I asked him again to turn the music down (not off, just down to an acceptable level for the many families and couples trying to enjoy their relaxing holidays). Needless to say the music continued to be played even more loudly throughout our stay - it definitely ruined our honeymoon. Such a nasty, arrogant man who needs to start respecting holiday goers instead of trying to impress his two mates who seemed to be the only people in his bar listening to this awful noise.

Nowhere else along the entire beach stretch seemed to have a noise problem like this, such a shame as the neighbouring cabanas are so nice and the stretch of beach is wonderful.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2014Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Makita64 asked a question Oct 2019
Portland, Oregon19 contributions8 helpful votes
How bad mosquitos situation during a day/night right now?
Answer from RigoMen
Tulum, Mexico4 contributions7 helpful votes
RUN!!! this is the worst hotel in town! really the worst!!!
Answer from Chris V.
Toronto, ON32 contributions7 helpful votes
Not sure. Because we booked through a third party. However they have very attentive staff. So they should pick up.
Kacey asked a question Dec 2016
Upstate NY161 contributions144 helpful votes
Is there music playing loudly well into the night? We will be traveling with two kids. thanks!!
Answer from celesteaviles
Cancun, Mexico17 contributions4 helpful votes
Not at all, Tulum has this "tradition" to turn off music and bars early, and specifically the bar at the hotel is just to chill, no big party intended. It's perfect with kids, the owner sometimes stays there and she has a kid herself, too :)
Jenn M wrote a tip May 2023
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"If you are someone that can’t handle the heat do not stay here! There is no AC! The power also kept going off!"
Read full review
LPettit wrote a tip Aug 2019
San Diego, California4 contributions1 helpful vote
2.0 of 5 bubbles
""Oceanfront" is subjective here"
Read full review
debmolly wrote a tip Mar 2019
New York City, New York31 contributions9 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"higher floors more private and nice since there is no AC."
Read full review
niz wrote a tip Feb 2019
New York City, New York10 contributions4 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"ask for room 2 for 'ocean front'. room 10 is NOT ocean front. its not even ocean view."
Read full review
Katy L wrote a tip May 2018
London, United Kingdom100 contributions6 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"If there are AC rooms it would be worth the extra money, I had a jungle view room and wouldn’t have paid more for the sea view."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Tulum Beach area.
PRICE RANGE
RM 653 - RM 3,272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
zulum beach club + cabanas hotel tulum
LOCATION
MexicoYucatan PeninsulaQuintana RooRiviera MayaTulumTulum Beach
NUMBER OF ROOMS
18
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HOTEL ZULUM: See 160 Reviews, Price Comparison and 517 Photos (Tulum Beach, Mexico)

Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Zulum
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Zulum?
Nearby attractions include Ziggy Beach (0.2 km), Aldea Mangle (0.4 km), and Plaza Comercial Aldea Mangle (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Zulum?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Zulum?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Zulum?
Conveniently located restaurants include Fresco's, Confessions Tulum, and Bagatelle Tulum.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel Zulum?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are pets allowed at Hotel Zulum?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Hotel Zulum have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
All Tulum Beach HotelsTulum Beach Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Tulum BeachHotels near Hotel Zulum
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire