We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Mabula Game Lodge

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Mabula Game Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

460 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 415: English reviews
Waterberg
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Rooms are adequate however not 4 star quality. Meals are good. Buffet style. Patio furniture would be great. Guests don't all want to sit at the deck or pool. No fridge in room. It will help as you get water but cant keep it cool.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 931charmainev
inkbos737, Public Relations Manager at Mabula Game Lodge, responded to this review

Dear 931charmainev - Thank you for taking the time to share your Mabula Game Lodge experience. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed most aspects of your stay and we appreciate your constructive feedback on the areas where you feel we can improve, and we'll be looking into those immediately.

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed yesterday NEW

We went to Mabula Game Lodge for our wedding Anniversary and the stay was awesome. it was the 5th time at the Lodge The Buffet was Great, however my personal feeling is that there should be less stews during summer..

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 518esmeraldas
inkbos737, Public Relations Manager at Mabula Game Lodge, responded to this review

Dear 518esmeraldas - Thank you for visiting Mabula Game Lodge once again, and we're honoured that you chose Mabula for your very special occasion. We're very happy to hear how much you enjoyed your stay, and we appreciate your constructive comments about the dining experience, which we will share with the chef team.

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I am a travel agent from India and i was on my honeymoon and would love to tell you that i have visited more than 17 countries and stayed over in nearly 100 properties but nevah have seen the hospitality that the staff of mabula has shown. Its simply at its best and leaving behind a big wide smile on...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank A1112k
inkbos737, Public Relations Manager at Mabula Game Lodge, responded to this review

Dear A1112k - Thank you for posting your review of your stay at Mabula Game Lodge. We're delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay and that the Mabula team took such good care of you! Your comments are especially appreciated given how widely you have travelled.

Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Excellent resort ..had a mini family reunion...all activities are well priced..room cleaners were a bit grumpy..loved the game drives a thumbs up to Jonathan and Cameron who made us welcome and did an excellent job at keeping kids interested and enthusiastic on the drive and a big thumbs down to japi whose drive had us all nodding off!! Terribly boring...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mssafiyunasa
inkbos737, Public Relations Manager at Mabula Game Lodge, responded to this review

Dear mssafiyunasa - Thank you for sharing your Mabula Game Lodge experience. We're very happy to hear how much you enjoyed your escape from the city, although we're sorry that you didn't enjoy all your interactions with the Mabula team members. We'll have a diplomatic word with the people concerned and we're sure you'll notice a pleasant difference when you...

Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Mabula delivered exactly what we were looking for: plentiful game sightings and a comfortable, comprehensive service level while at the hotel. This is our 3rd visit and it was just as good as previous experiences. The food was great and so were the staff, especially our extremely knowledgeable game ranger George, who managed to locate almost every animal available in...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank TimGunter
inkbos737, Public Relations Manager at Mabula Game Lodge, responded to this review

Dear TimGunter - Thank you for sharing your Mabula Game Lodge experience. We're delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay, and honoured that you would recommend Mabula to future travellers.

Waterberg
Reviewed 1 week ago

A really lovely place to stay. Family friendly. We booked a family quad biking experience which was amazing and lots of fun. Food was good. We saw great game sightings. This was good value for money and we would definitely go back.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank carona2017
inkbos737, Public Relations Manager at Mabula Game Lodge, responded to this review

Dear carona2017 - Thank you for sharing your Mabula Game Lodge experience. We're very happy to hear how much you enjoyed your time at Mabula, and it's great news that you plan to visit again!

Johannesburg
Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a great place to be if you want good value for money and a bush experience. However the three meals provided per day were mediocre. They looked better than they tasted. For example, the eclair dessert was made with orley whip instead of cream, and the apple pie had no pieces of apple in it. And the Whiskey...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank MauritianPrincess
inkbos737, Public Relations Manager at Mabula Game Lodge, responded to this review

Dear MauritianPrincess - Thank you for sharing your Mabula Game Lodge experience. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed most elements of your stay, but concerned to hear that you did not enjoy your dining experience. We have passed your comments on to our Executive Chef for immediate attention.

Sandton, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at Room 240/241 on 7 Jan 2016. Room 241 is fine. However, my sister at Room 240 fought with mosquitoes and killed over 30 insects and hundreds of mosquito until 1AM. She even found some hairs on the pillow. She had a nightmare and couldn't sleep well. We think you need to avoid this and offer mosquito net...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank huang2017
inkbos737, Public Relations Manager at Mabula Game Lodge, responded to this review

Dear huang2017 - Thank you for sharing your Mabula Game Lodge experience. We're sorry to hear that you were so troubled by insects during your stay - unfortunately this is largely due to the recent rains and is not normal. We appreciated your constructive comments on how to address this - thank you.

Zwingenberg, Germany
Reviewed 1 week ago

We have stayed 3 days at Mabula. It was allright - but it was not as outstanding as I hoped it would be. Solomon our Game Ranger was the best - he tried so hard to show us a lot of Game but sometimes we drove for 30 Minutes without seeing any Animal.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank dorotheem2017
inkbos737, Public Relations Manager at Mabula Game Lodge, responded to this review

Dear dorotheem2017 - Thank you for posting your review of your stay at Mabula Game Lodge. We're sorry to hear that you were slightly disappointed by your experience - naturally this is not at all what we would want you to feel. With regards to wildlife viewing, this year's drought conditions plus the more recent rains have added up to...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I was expecting great things from our weekend at Mabula but it just fell short of the mark. While things were nice they could have been better. The game vehicles were not cleaned inside, and finding someone else's dirty tissues in the seat pocket was just gross and the rain ponchos were all in need of fixing. We had to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Heather B
inkbos737, Public Relations Manager at Mabula Game Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Heather B - Thank you for taking the time to post your detailed review of your stay at Mabula Game Lodge. We're disappointed to hear that your experience fell short of your expectations, and we would like to apologise to you for the areas in which we did not achieve our own high standards. The details you mentioned will...

474 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (462)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (101)
Viewed
View from Room (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (47)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (14)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (8)
Viewed
0:31
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (251)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mabula Private Game Reserve
1378.9 km away
Kwafubesi Tented Safari Camp
Kwafubesi Tented Safari Camp
#3 of 5 in Mabula Private Game Reserve
53 reviews
26.2 km away
Ditholo Game Lodge
Ditholo Game Lodge
#8 of 47 in Bela Bela
56 reviews
4.7 km away
Zebula Golf Estate & Spa
Zebula Golf Estate & Spa
#6 of 47 in Bela Bela
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.4 km away
Itaga Luxury Private Game Lodge
0.0 km away
Thaba Pitsi Private Nature Reserve
16.2 km away
Phumelelo Lodge
Phumelelo Lodge
#3 of 47 in Bela Bela
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Set against a backdrop of lush green mountainous vegetation, Mabula Game Lodge is set in one of South Africa's finest private game reserves. Only two hours north of Johannesburg, this 12000ha reserve is home to an abundance of animal and birdlife, including the "Big 5." All 47 rooms are air-conditioned, contain LCD flat-screen television, en-suite bathroom, telephone, hair dryer, safe and tea/coffee making facilities. Dining venues, outdoor cocktail and whiskey bar, swimming pools, tennis court, children's programme, safaris in open 4x4 vehicles, horseback safaris, archery, paintball, star gazing, eco adventure safaris, guided bush walks, crocodile feeding demonstrations, snake demonstrations and the Ground Hornbill Project and reptile centre. Mabula can assist with all conference requirements, including venues, informal breakaway rooms, private dining facilities and team building activities. Children 0-5 stay complimentary when sharing with parent; 6-11 years pay 50% of the adult sharing rate. 12 years and older pay full adult rate and occupy their own rooms. The lodge is situated in a malaria-free area. Gate entry fees are applicable. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mabula Game Lodge

Address: Rhenosterhoek Spruit Road, Mabula Private Game Reserve 0480, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Waterberg > Mabula Private Game Reserve
Price Range: RM1,202 - RM2,945 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mabula Game Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Mabula Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mabula Game Hotel Mabula Private Game Reserve
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mabula Game Lodge staff and other travellers.
29 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (29)

Questions? Get answers from Mabula Game Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ideal for family visit”
 of 5 bubbles , 8 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The chalets are amazing!!!”
 of 5 bubbles Samkeliso_2016, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Some rooms are a distance away from the central facility. Might be an advantage or a disadvantage depending on what you want.”
 of 5 bubbles ItsZi, 27 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Rooms 102 - 104 have paper thin walls - not good for light sleepers”
 of 5 bubbles FLASHSOUTHAFRICA, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Avoid chalet #50 on Sunset hill, no view, only bush”
 of 5 bubbles C6133ETashleyc, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay