We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Nilaveli Beach Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Nilaveli Beach Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

428 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 315: English reviews
Start your review of Nilaveli Beach Hotel
 Click to rate
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The minute we got to our room, we were disappointed. The room was very dated, smelled like mould and wasn't the luxury hotel we had expected. To be honest, the staff were overly friendly and welcoming which was nice. The issue is the hotel ambiance feels sterile, and dull. Combined with rooms that don't have double or queen mattresses, are...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Daniel Z
Prem K, General Manager at Nilaveli Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your feedback. We have noted your comments. We wish you all the best.

Kandy, Sri Lanka
Reviewed 20 January 2017

This is nice hotel with access to one of the most beautiful beaches in Sri Lanka. Rooms were pretty good but there are areas to improve. Generally the food was also pretty good and the staff were quiet friendly. Once again there is room for improvement if you need to excel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Uthz_w
Prem K, General Manager at Nilaveli Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks a lot for your feedback. Your suggestions help us to further improve our services. We are happy that your stay was good. We hope to see you again at Nilaveli Beach Hotel.

Riga, Latvia
Reviewed 17 January 2017

Very pleasant welcome and the staff were super friendly. Rooms were old fashioned but comfortable and clean. This adds to the ambiance of the place as its surrounded by a lot of trees and has a 'hidden in the jungle effect'. All 3 meals we had were very tasty and had a big spread. Love the pool. Direct access to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ashrun_fernando
Prem K, General Manager at Nilaveli Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your feedback on your stay at Nilaveli Beach Hotel. We are very pleased to note that you enjoyed your stay with us. Looking forward to serving you again.

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 1 January 2017

Drove from Colombo to this hotel. As others have mentioned, the reception desk is extremely over-staffed to the point that it feels uncomfortable to those checking in as its as though there is an audience to the whole transaction. In any case, check-in was simple enough and we were taken to our rooms. We were travelling as two families of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elle4
Prem K, General Manager at Nilaveli Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks a lot for your review and would like to mention that your comments were noted. Also, we are glad that the upgrade of your rooms and the discount was appreciated. We ensure our services at all times.

Reviewed 27 December 2016 via mobile

It is inviting and spacious. The rooms we were provided (#1 & #2) offered a spectacular view of the beach, which was an easy walk away. The food was first class. As we arrived on the Christmas weekend we were able to enjoy a magicians show and a night of dancing as well. A few complaints though, the water in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gayanka C
Prem K, General Manager at Nilaveli Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks a lot for the review. We are glad that your stay was pleasant. We have noted your comments. We hope to serve you again.

Reviewed 20 December 2016

We visited a Hotel near the Nilaveli Beach Hotel. Because that hotel couldn't offer any dinner possibilities, we went to the Nilaveli Beach Hotel to eat something. Over there the staff was very rude to us. They saw that we weren't visitors of the Nilaveli Beach Hotel, so they decided to ignore us for more than half to give only...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ivo D
Prem K, General Manager at Nilaveli Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback and we noted your comments. We will inquire and take necessary steps with our findings.

leeds
Reviewed 10 December 2016

As it was out of season there were very few guests in this hotel. We arrived in late afternoon and were greeted very nicely at the clearly overmanned reception desk. As I was short of small notes I asked to change a 1,000Rp note so I could tip the porter - away went the guy only to come back with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank imacbeth
Prem K, General Manager at Nilaveli Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Your comments were noted and we are grateful for your feedback. Hope we will be able to serve you better next time.

Colombo, Sri Lanka
Reviewed 8 December 2016

We stayed 6 days. It is located in very nice quite environment. Good for a relaxing with a calm environment and beach.No Wifi at rooms only restaurant and lobby area. Friendly and flexible staff. Rooms are clean and specious. Bathroom is not very big, but very clean. Pool keep open till 8.30 pm. Deep end of the pool is small....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sach902
Prem K, General Manager at Nilaveli Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for your feedback and noted the comments. We are pleased that your stay was good. Hope to see you again.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 November 2016

The main intention for staying here was to visit Pigeon island for snorkelling. However, as it was during the changeover period to the off season, most days were too rough to visit by boat. I finally visited on the day of departure. Snorkelling was amazing with black tip reef sharks and turtle. Coral was also very healthy. I recommend the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jackie T
Prem K, General Manager at Nilaveli Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing our hotel again after 10 years. We are grateful for your comments. Hope to see you again.

Mexico City, Mexico
Reviewed 13 November 2016 via mobile

Great stay for 3 nights off season. Large room and bathroom were clean and comfortable. Located on less developed part of this fabulous beach and devoid of other tourists which was great. The nomadic fishermen were mesmerising as they quietly swayed tirelessly pulling in their nets all day long . Staff accommodated our request for Sri Lankan breakfast of string...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cleverclogs150800
Prem K, General Manager at Nilaveli Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your comments and your remarks are noted. We will ensure that your visit next time will be pleasant.

353 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (353)
Viewed
Dining (36)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (98)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (46)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (137)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nilaveli
1.8 km away
Nilaveli Beach Resort
Nilaveli Beach Resort
#2 of 5 in Nilaveli
130 reviews
0.3 km away
Anilana Nilaveli
Anilana Nilaveli
#1 of 5 in Nilaveli
407 reviews
10.3 km away
Amaranthe Bay Resort
Amaranthe Bay Resort
#1 of 10 in Trincomalee
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 km away
Trinco Blu by Cinnamon
Trinco Blu by Cinnamon
#2 of 10 in Trincomalee
1,167 reviews
0.0 km away
Pigeon Island Beach Resort
9.4 km away
Uga Jungle Beach
Uga Jungle Beach
#1 of 1 in Kuchchaveli
878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Nilaveli Beach Hotel

Address: Nilaveli, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Eastern Province > Nilaveli
Price Range: RM196 - RM562 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Nilaveli Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Nilaveli Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Nilaveli Beach Hotel staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Nilaveli Beach Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“beach side cabanas have a good view of the see.”
 of 5 bubbles Uthz_w, 19 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Rooms closer to the beach better!”
 of 5 bubbles ashrun_fernando, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for an updated room!”
 of 5 bubbles Elle4, 1 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Rooms 25 - 32 (superior rooms) all facing the pool/beach area”
 of 5 bubbles Thuperpev, 28 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Stayed here twice and have had good rooms!”
 of 5 bubbles johnsQ6476BN, 14 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5