We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Palm House

06/07/2017 07/07/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Palm House
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

78 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Palm House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 75: English reviews
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 June 2015

The Palm House hotel is truly a unique and wonderful place to stay. We stayed here on an emergency trip to South Africa to see our mother in hospital and they staff were not only accommodating but went out of their way to assist us. The rooms are very spacious with all the mod cons you would need and a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kathleen B
PalmHouse, General Manager at Palm House, responded to this review

Dear Kathleen B, Thank you for your positive review. I am delighted to hear that we exceeded your expectations and hope your mother has made a full recovery. Yours in hospitality Shaun Lawrence

Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Reviewed 17 May 2015

We travelled to CT for a school sporting trip. The location was excellent. Staff were very accommodating, helpful and friendly. Facilities slightly shabby but more than adequate for our needs. We had a downstairs room next to the reception and noise did travel from reception and bar area. Very good value for money.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 581leannem
PalmHouse, General Manager at Palm House, responded to this review

Dear 581leannem, Thank you for your review and hope to see you again in the future. Regards Shaun Lawrence

Cape Town
Reviewed 31 March 2015

I attended a conference from the 15th - 20th March and was once again impressed with the excellent faciilites, delicious food and professional staff. The room was clean and comfortable, I will definitely be back again. Thank you!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mike G
PalmHouse, General Manager at Palm House, responded to this review

Dear Mike G, Thank you for your review. We appreciate your positive comments. Take care and will look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Regards Shaun Lawrence

Hampshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 March 2015

A very warm welcome ,and helpful staff........A map was printed out for us with directions to the nearest shopping centre. Room 5 was spacious and looked out over the front garden and drive.Two of the handles on the chest of drawers fell off and the hook from the bathroom door had broken off and found in a drawer!The bathroom needed...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank David B
PalmHouse, General Manager at Palm House, responded to this review

Dear David B, Thank you for your review. I am pleased you had a pleasant stay with us. Keep well. Shaun Lawrence

Harare, Zimbabwe
Reviewed 8 February 2015

Generally good but feel it has gone down a bit since our last visit in 2009. The whole place is looking a little tired and is need of some maintenance. The mosquitoes were bad in our room. We felt the staff were disinterested in doing any work - for example we had to go looking for the waitress for breakfast,...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank lynnec413
PalmHouse, General Manager at Palm House, responded to this review

Dear Lynnec413, Thank you for your review. I apologize that you feel the service standard has dropped since your last visit. We take all reviews seriously whether they be positive or negative. Your comments have been noted and they will be addressed. Sincerely Shaun Lawrence General Manager

Cologne, Germany
Reviewed 5 January 2015

Was absolutely great since it was wonderful estate, super general manager who helped with restaurants etc wonderful balcony with view, and garden , it was quite and the trip downtown was just 10-15 min

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank gabriele867
PalmHouse, General Manager at Palm House, responded to this review

Dear Gabriele867, Thank you for your review. I am delighted to hear that you had a memorable stay with us especially that you were celebrating your wedding anniversary in South Africa. I wish you and your family a FANTASTIC 2015! See you all soon Shaun Lawrence General Manager

Vanderbijlpark, South Africa
Reviewed 5 January 2015

We were received very well on arrival. The receptionist was very friendly and helpful. We were checked in properly and everything was thoroughly explained as was the case over the phone when the booking was done. The surrounding area is quite pleasant and the guest house is very neat both outside and inside. The rooms are very neat and up...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank mmanek2015
PalmHouse, General Manager at Palm House, responded to this review

Dear Mr Kobue, Thank you for taking the time to compile a positive review. At Palm House we strive for service excellence and I am please you were well taken care of. I wish you well for the year ahead and hope to see you all soon. Regards Shaun Lawrence General Manager

Sussex
Reviewed 1 January 2015

Really not much to recommend the Palm House, unless September is not the best choice and may improve in the season. Facilities nothing like the advertising, practically a one man band from arrival at the gates through to leaving somewhat disappointed for the first time after many previous visits to South Africa.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank David E
PalmHouse, General Manager at Palm House, responded to this review

Dear David E, Thank you for your review. I apologize that we did not meet and exceed your high expectations and wish you well for the year ahead. Regards Shaun Lawrence General Manager

Amanzimtoti, South Africa
Reviewed 12 November 2014

Staff looked after us very well, nothing was too much trouble. The view of the back of Table Mountain from the comfort of our bed was an absolute treat. Guests arriving late was a little annoying as they woke us up but then it was possibly due to the location of our room.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lynn E
PalmHouse, General Manager at Palm House, responded to this review

Dear LynnE, Thank you for your review. I am pleased you had a pleasant stay with us and I wish you a joyous festive season and year ahead. Regards Shaun Lawrence

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 November 2014

We are a family of 3, our son is 18 months old. We found that the family cottage was a bit small and the bathroom was very small. I must admit we were somewhat disappointed with the size of the cottage. My son still drinks a bottle and we were unable to warm his milk - you should consider having...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 482shireenc
PalmHouse, General Manager at Palm House, responded to this review

Dear 482SHIREENC, Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with the size of the Family Cottage. We are unfortunately not a self-catering establishment and therefore the rooms are not equipped with appliances. Regarding the smell in the room, two weeks prior to your arrival a guest had left a towel on the...

45 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (23)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
6:37
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
06/07/2017 07/07/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wynberg
0.4 km away
Highlands Country House
Highlands Country House
#1 of 1 in Kenilworth
99 reviews
2.0 km away
The Alphen Boutique Hotel
The Alphen Boutique Hotel
#4 of 5 in Constantia
183 reviews
12.2 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 km away
The Cellars-Hohenort
The Cellars-Hohenort
#5 of 5 in Constantia
401 reviews
0.1 km away
Oxford Cottage B&B
Oxford Cottage B&B
#2 of 3 in Wynberg
16 reviews
0.6 km away
The Terrace
The Terrace
#1 of 5 in Kenilworth
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Surrounded by majestic palms this tranquil retreat overlooks the magnificent Constantiaberg Mountains, taking in the rear view of the "Twelve Apostles" and "Table Mountain" Palm House was designed by a protégé of renowned architect Sir Herbert Baker in the early 1920’s and has been lovingly restored to its full grandeur. The entrance hall with its original oak floors and magnificent staircase greet you after entering the elegant arched entrance. Wood paneling, open fireplaces and rich, relaxing and elegant décor will make you feel as though you are a special guest in a private home. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Palm House

Address: 10 Oxford Street | Upper Wynberg, Wynberg 7800, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Wynberg
Price Range: RM376 - RM657 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Palm House 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Booking.com so you can book your Palm House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Palm House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The two suits are amazing that we stayed in and well worth the price!!!!”
kathleenb804, 17 Jun 2015 | Read review
“No opportunity to see other rooms or suites.”
DavidE465, 1 Jan 2015 | Read review
“Go for the Pool House if its within your budget and you are traveling with a group of 4 adults (+ maybe even 2 children)”
AyushC, 6 Jul 2012 | Read review
“The pool cottages are good for privacy and have sufficient room for a family.”
lamlam_12, 26 Jun 2012 | Read review
“As a family we stayed in one of the cottages. It was great. With three young children I am always conscious of noise - either the noise we make or the noise of young revelers coming in late. We could be as noisy as we needed knowing that we were not disturbing anybody nor were we disturbed by anybody else.”
kernanb, 16 Jan 2012 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
Hotels.com
* /night
View Deal
Expedia.com
Priceline
Agoda.com
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates