We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Carmichael Guesthouse

Booking.comUS$106*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
15/05/2017 16/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Carmichael Guesthouse
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

309 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Carmichael Guesthouse
See the most recent reviews
Showing 228: English reviews
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 July 2016

I stayed with three colleagues on a work visit to Cape Town. The Carmichael Guesthouse offered us a peaceful base for a very hectic week of meetings. The breakfasts were fantastic and the hosts warm, generous and very welcoming. I particularly enjoyed the fresh grapefruit juice from the tree in the garden!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank caitlinb239
Carmichael G, Owner at Carmichael Guesthouse, responded to this review

Dear Caitlin, Thank you for your very kind comments. It's been an absolute pleasure hosting you, Julie & Claire whilst on a business trip to Cape Town. Please send them our regards. Wishing you a pleasant weekend and a warm summer. Best regards / Yves

Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 22 June 2016

I stayed at Carmichael guesthouse for 3 nights during a business trip. The accommodation was superb and breakfasts absolutely delicious. They also went out of their way to accommodate my unforeseen late check-in. Would definitely recommend this guesthouse.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Janin10
Carmichael G, Owner at Carmichael Guesthouse, responded to this review

Dear Janin, It's been a pleasure hosting you, and we are really gladly that you've enjoyed your stay with us whilst on business in Cape Town. Please don't you worry about arriving late, that was perfectly fine. As a matter of fact we sometimes have to stay up quite late for guests arriving on international northbound carriers landing in the...

Stellenbosch, South Africa
Reviewed 22 June 2016

Carmichael is undoubtably one of the top guesthouses I have stayed in around the world. I do not usually bother to rate places, but this was great. Lovely, large old house run by a super interesting and friendly couple.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank joewV9365ZA
Carmichael G, Owner at Carmichael Guesthouse, responded to this review

Dear Joe, I know that you don't like posting reviews that much, and that makes us feel even more grateful, since you did so for us. Thank you so much. Even though, you are not so far away, we are hoping to have the pleasure to host you again soon. We have been blessed by regular visits of CIEE Managers...

visitor
Reviewed 21 June 2016

Lovely old furniture, paintings, decor. The needs of the guests taken care of with little touches of thoughtfulness. Fabulous breakfast, What a spread...lovely juices, fruits, cereals, yogurt, good coffee, choice of teas, variety of essential foods to start the day, home cooked eggs, meat to your tastes. Double security gates/doors. Near campus of U. of Capetown, very convenient. Walking distance...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SpiritoftheWind
Carmichael G, Owner at Carmichael Guesthouse, responded to this review

We are really glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our beautiful house, not only to have great character, but also to be so conveniently positioned. Thank you for mentioning this. We would be only too happy should we get to host you again in the near future. In the meantime, keep well. Best regards / Yves

Sandton, South Africa
Reviewed 20 June 2016

Average, found the bed very uncomfortable. Generally was average. Poor choice of TV channels and a tiny screen for such a big room. Breakfast was satisfactory the owners very polite and helpful. The location is very convenient

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank suen198
Carmichael G, Owner at Carmichael Guesthouse, responded to this review

Dear Sue, Thank you for your critical review. This comes as a surprise, since you seemed to be enjoying your stay, and that you never mentioned anything about any of this whilst you were staying with us. As a four star guest house, we pride ourselves in providing the best quality service and product. Amongst those is the bedding standards....

Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewed 9 June 2016

This guesthouse is run by a very passionate couple. Reserved pretty late but this was professionally handled and I was impressed at arrival. I would rate this as a 4 star facility as far as services are concerned

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sylvanus W
Carmichael G, Owner at Carmichael Guesthouse, responded to this review

Dear Sylvanus, Thank you for your rewarding review. We trust that you will have a fruitful year in Cape Town. Best regards / Yves

new jersey
Reviewed 29 May 2016

We visited our son's girlfriend who was studying abroad at University of Cape Town. The location is perfect. Hosts Yves and Valerie are the most wonderful people. Yves cooks the best breakfast every morning and our family looks forward to this every morning as we enjoy breakfast in the sunroom. Valerie is very knowledgeable and assisted in planning our local...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank chowpaul01
Carmichael G, Owner at Carmichael Guesthouse, responded to this review

Dear Shih-fen, Thank you so much for having posted such rewarding review. It's been a pleasure hosting the four of you. I believe Brandon had also a nice time on his own. We've noticed with experience that guest staying longer enjoy Carmichael Guesthouse to it's fullest, having more time to see all the fine details. It's true that 1 nights...

Brooklyn, New York
Reviewed 9 May 2016

It's the little things, folks: cold water in the fridge, hosts who address you buy your first name, a grapefruit tree, a whistling host, off-street parking, but also the big things: spotless room, comfortable bed, beautiful house and common area, accessibility to the city, and soft towels!!! I will stay here every time I'm in Cape Town!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Warnaak
Carmichael G, Owner at Carmichael Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank you so much for such having posted such refreshing review. I regret the grapefruit weren't ripe whilst you were staying with us. The branches are getting heavier and heavier by the day and yet none of them seem to be ready as yet. We've been harvesting quite a few pawpaws though, and you must have them in our daily...

Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 5 May 2016

Stayed at the Carmichael when visiting our daughter who is studying at UCT. We had a group of five staying in one of their suites. The rooms are all quite spacious with all the expected amenities. Yves and Valerie were very helpful before and during our trip with helping us arrange dinners, getting around town, and preparing for our flights...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bakerliu2
Carmichael G, Owner at Carmichael Guesthouse, responded to this review

Dear Andrew,. Thank you for having chosen Carmichael Guesthouse for your stay in Cape Town. We are glad that you had a pleasant time. I trust the rest of your stay in SA was also a nice experience. Give our regards to your in-laws. Best regards / Yves & Valérie

Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 29 April 2016

Carmichael Guest House was a great choice. Comfortable, delicious home made breakfast every morning, and wonderful hosts. There was coffee and tea in the guest room as well as water and snacks for a very small price. Something that was a very pleasant surprise in a guest house. I was traveling alone to Cape Town to visit my son at...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lgsinger
Carmichael G, Owner at Carmichael Guesthouse, responded to this review

Dear Leslie, Thank you so much for having chosen Carmichael Guesthouse for your stay in Cape Town. We are really happy that you've enjoyed your stay with us. Thanks for posting such rewarding comment. Best regards / Yves

88 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (46)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (42)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Other (5)
15/05/2017 16/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rosebank
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,357 reviews
Blackheath Lodge
#3 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
An African Villa
#6 of 106 in Cape Town Central
979 reviews
Parker Cottage
#1 of 156 in Cape Town Central
1,002 reviews
Wild Olive Guest House
#1 of 27 in Newlands
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Airport Transportation
  • Concierge
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Our Guest House is a stylish Victorian mansion, offering comfortable accommodation with 6 en-suite tastefully decorated rooms. Situated on the slopes of Table Mountain, our guesthouse is within walking distance to the University of Cape Town (UCT). Carmichael Guesthouse is 15 min away from Cape Town city bowl and Cape Town international airport via easily accessible highways. The original stained glass windows, wooden floors and original Victorian fireplaces add warmth and ambiance. You will enjoy the peaceful garden, resting on a long chair by the sparkling swimming pool. The Guest House is very central. Nearby lie Cape Town's most famous touristic attractions such as Table Mountain, Kirstenbosch Botanical Garden, Robben Island, V&A Waterfront, Constantia Winelands, Rhodes Memorial and many more...Golf courses, Cricket and Rugby Stadiums are also just around the corner. Yves, Valerie and their daughters Chloe and Charlotte will ensure that "home from home" feeling. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Carmichael Guesthouse

Address: 11 Wolmunster Road | Cape Town, Rosebank 7700, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Rosebank
Price Range: RM341 - RM625 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Carmichael Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carmichael Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Carmichael Guesthouse staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
UK
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Carmichael Guesthouse staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“all great rooms”
keith0806, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Great service for the price”
kruegercath, 27 Jul 2016 | Read review
“all lovely, but room we stayed in could easily accommodate 6 in a family”
SpiritoftheWind, 21 Jun 2016 | Read review
“I think any of the rooms would be fine. Guesthouse is located on a quiet street and has nice grounds surrounding it.”
bakerliu2, 5 May 2016 | Read review
“I've always stayed in Room 6, but I have seen all the other guest rooms and there's not a bad one in the bunch.”
bethebarnes, 5 Jun 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$106* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUS$106
Hotels.com
Priceline
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates