We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

731 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 730: English reviews
United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Stayed one night here on business. Staff were friendly, food was good and room was clean, the bed was very comfortable making for a good nights sleep. However caution is required when showering as using the anti slip shower mat actually makes it lethal as it slid from underneath me, i reported this to the receptionist and was impressed that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Simon B
Maldon, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Stayed overnight for an on site Christmas party. The food in the evening and breakfast the following day was good as was the service. Having requested a ground floor room we were allocated one on the second floor. This was changed by the receptionist, unfortunately to the noisiest room (101) where the noise outside the door was still going on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MaldonDW
Essex, England
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Having a rare day off in the week my cousin and I treated ourselves to the special offer spa day at Stoke by Nayland hotel. First impressions were all good - beautiful grounds, lovely clean hotel and smiling staff. This great impression continued for the rest of the day! We had our own table in the restaurant all day, served...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mrsbsouthend
SBNHotel, Marketing Executive at Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to review us. We value all feedback and your responses will be passed on to the appropriate areas. We're so glad you had such a good experience in our spa and we hope to welcome you back again soon! Kind regards, SbN.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

20 of us had a table booked for Sunday lunch at 1pm- when we finally ordered our food and went to the carvery they had run out of stuffing and pigs in blankets so the roast turkey was a real disappointment. We had to go to the bar to order drinks because we gave up waiting for the staff! We...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Cheryl N
SBNHotel, Marketing Executive at Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review

Hi Cheryl, Thank you for taking the time to review your lunch here at SbN. I'm sorry to hear your experience was not up to your expectations. I assure you that your comments have been passed on to the relevant departments to address going forward. Kind regards, SbN

Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

So relaxing! Lovely spa facilities, excellent treatments and the restaurant was lovely. The room was a little dated but still very comfortable. All in all, this was a lovely relaxing night away in a beautiful setting

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jon B
SBNHotel, Marketing Executive at Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review

Hi Jon, Thank you for taking the time to review us. We value all feedback and your responses will be passed on to the appropriate areas. We're so glad you had such a good time here at the hotel. We hope to see you again soon! Kind regards, SbN.

Ipswich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We went here with friends for a 70s night. We had a fantastic night with great food. We were very well looked after by the staff who were all very cheerful. It is also a lovely place and the prices are not to bad. Would definitely recommend and will be going back again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Josso1
SBNHotel, Marketing Executive at Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to review us. We value all feedback and your responses will be passed on to the appropriate areas. We're so glad you had such a good time here at the hotel. We hope to see you again soon! Kind regards, SbN.

Lavenham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A cold, grey, and drizzling afternoon, so we decided to have an outing for tea at Stoke by Nayland Hotel. Just starting to be the build up to Christmas, and the decor at the entrance put us into the right mood, as we walked downstairs to the pool and spa area. We ordered our teas and scones from a very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael W
SBNHotel, Marketing Executive at Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review

Hi Michael, Thank you for taking the time to review us. We value all feedback and your responses will be passed on to the appropriate areas. We're so glad you had such a good experience here at Stoke by Nayland, we look forward to welcoming you back here again soon. Kind regards, SbN.

Suffolk
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Lovely location with fantastic views of the golf course. Spa kept very clean & tidy with lovely facilities. The room was a double overlooking the golf course, a good size bed but the bathroom was in desperate need of an update & a clean. Very disappointing. We chose to eat in the bar in the evening and we were presented...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Happygirlie70
SBNHotel, Marketing Executive at Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review

Hi and thanks for taking the time to review us. We value all feedback and your responses will be passed on to the appropriate areas. We hope to see you again in the future! Kind regards, SbN.

Essex, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Twelve of us booked 2 lodges for a girlie weekend to celebrate special birthdays - we ranged in age from my 88 year old Mum to my 21 year old niece and had the most wonderful time made special by the fantastic staff. The lodges themselves are perfect - really well equipped with everything you need for catering as well...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank essexgirl2016
SBNHotel, Marketing Executive at Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review

Hi and thanks for such a positive review - we're really glad you enjoyed your time with us. Your feedback will be passed on to the appropriate areas and we hope to see you again in the future! Kind regards, SbN.

Beds
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

On achieving the age at which HMG pays you a pension I got to choose where the family would go to celebrate. I selected two of the large lodges overlooking the golf course. I decided that we would play golf on the Saturday. I decided we would have dinner in the hotel restaurant on Saturday night. Everything went according to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TheSmithsBeds
SBNHotel, Marketing Executive at Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review

Hi and thanks for such a positive review - we're really glad you enjoyed your time in the lodges. Your feedback will be passed on to the appropriate areas and we hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future. Kind regards, SbN.

122 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (103)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (77)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leavenheath
13.2 km away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
18.1 km away
Belstead Brook Muthu Hotel
30.5 km away
Seckford Hall
Seckford Hall
#3 of 4 in Woodbridge
887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
35.4 km away
Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa
21.2 km away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
2.2 km away
The Crown, Stoke By Nayland
The Crown, Stoke By Nayland
#1 of 1 in Stoke by Nayland
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Golf Course
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa is an award-winning, family owned AA 4-star hotel with 80 contemporary ensuite hotel rooms. Located within a designated Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty the resort is an idyllic place to relax and explore stunning Constable country, along with the many places of historic interest and charm. The hotel boasts two 18-hole championship golf courses, together with a range of function rooms for weddings, business or corporate meetings, conferences and team building. Guests are encouraged to make use of the fully featured spa, gym and fitness facilities during their stay. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa

Address: Keepers Lane, Leavenheath, Babergh District CO6 4PZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Babergh District > Leavenheath
Price Range: RM402 - RM843 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stoke By Nayland Hotel, Golf And Spa
Stoke By Nayland Hotel, Golf Hotel Leavenheath
Best Western Colchester
Colchester Best Western
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
9 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Avoid room 101 if you want a quiet night.”
 of 5 bubbles MaldonDW, 5 Dec 2016 | Read review
“We didn't stay here”
 of 5 bubbles MichaelW742, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Typical squeeze as many rooms as possible in”
 of 5 bubbles RobertEssex, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Insist on one with air-con in summer”
 of 5 bubbles RicketyBedford, 26 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Look out for bargains”
 of 5 bubbles jwebb44, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay