We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Brimar Guest House

PricelineUS$87*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Brimar Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

52 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 51: English reviews
Start your review of Brimar Guest House
 Click to rate
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

The guest house is only 2 stars so I think I should not judge too harshly. Our twin bedded room was clean (with a funny smell, but of cleaning products & nothing nasty). There was a basin in the room and a shared bathroom down the corridor. The bed was so narrow I nearly fell out. And the walls are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarah W
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is a clean but very basic guest house. Noisey most of the time as the walls are plasterboard thin. You can hear every movement made by fellow guests. Shared bathrooms don't help, nor does the lack of tea/coffee making in the rooms. There are guest kitchens to make a drink but I've never come across this idea before in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tony A
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 March 2017

Booked 3 nights as working in the area. Perfect location to stay if you need somewhere quiet and out of the way, Includes breakfast also so overall a pleasant stay. Would recommend the management add refreshments to the rooms wouldn't cost too much. Thanks for a good stay anyway.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ruthh64
Borehamwood, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 October 2016

We were greeted by the man at reception who was friendly but things went downhill when we got to our room after traveling 2 hours we found there was no provision to make tea, heating wasnt on even though the man at reception came and adjusted the thermostat it still didnt come on freezing cold in the morning ,got woke...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank golddigger12
Peter D, Manager at Brimar Guest House, responded to this review

I am so sorry you had problems. We have 2 guest kitchens fully equipped with free tea and coffee making supplies. I am told you were made aware of these when you checked in. We had no other guests mention the heating and when checking it next day we did not find any problems. Perhaps you turned the radiator control...

Worthing, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 September 2016

Until recently, I have stayed here on a monthly basis & have pretty much used every room within this guest house over time all throughout the year . It all pends on what your looking for, after all it is a guest house / B & B. If your looking for 5 * elegance with sea views then this is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DjDazzaoke
Granada
Reviewed 12 August 2016

Positives : Bed, Fair for Money Cons : Communal Bathroom / Toilet, Noisy, Breakfast finishing at 8.30am It was ideal for 1 night. A bit peeved that I missed Breakfast as I assumed that this would still be available at 8.45am.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank banquetmonster
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 July 2016

It has been a while since I have stayed in a hotel / guest house of this nature. It can best be described as being a hybrid cross of a traditional 1970s B&B and a university halls of residence. If you are looking for a perfect little B&B for a romantic escape then this is not the accommodation for you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andy R
Reviewed 10 July 2016

I stayed here with my husband in June. We were greeted by the manager who was friendly and efficient. We stayed in an ensuite room with a huge bed which was incredibly comfortable. We were offered many options for breakfast and decided to have cooked breakfasts. A group of guests at the next table were incredibly obnoxious - they changed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emma W
Newport, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 June 2016

The bed was called a double, but actually two singles pushed together, but no problem. We had an en-suite which was tiny but included a shower with plenty of hot water. Only downside was the wall was a bit thin so we could hear someone talking in the next room. Breakfast was excellent, full English, cereal, eggs, toast - whatever...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank R0se0508
Falkirk District, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 June 2016

plenty of carry out shops and local shops basic hotel but friendly and clean only upset was it was booked via work and I had no en/suite breakfast was 10/10 plus friendly staff it is situated on a quite busy road also be aware of hgv trucks when walking nearby but overall no problems

 Report
Helpful?
Thank raywilki

1 photo of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Totton
2.2 km away
Holiday Inn Express Southampton West
3.5 km away
Premier Inn Southampton North Hotel
4.9 km away
Woodlands Lodge Hotel
Woodlands Lodge Hotel
#2 of 2 in Woodlands
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 km away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#19 of 24 in Southampton
1,685 reviews
8.2 km away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
5.8 km away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#6 of 24 in Southampton
769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about Brimar Guest House

Address: 10-14 High Street, Totton SO40 9HN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Totton
Price Range: RM359 - RM502 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Brimar Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, LateRooms and HostelWorld so you can book your Brimar Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Brimar Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Only tip is there isn't one”
tonyaU7531JS, 1 May 2017 | Read review
“Check when booking if the room is en suite. Not a problem if not ask for a key to the bathroom so it's just for you.”
ruthh64, 8 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Unable to advise. Would conclude that ALL Rooms will be similar and therefore noisy.”
banquetmonster, 11 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Bring earplugs”
emmaw427, 9 Jul 2016 | Read review
“make sure you book en-suite as most rooms have shared facilities”
R0se0508, 29 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Priceline
US$87* /night
View Deal
Hostelworld.comUS$104
Booking.com
LateRooms.com
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates