We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Canberra Carotel Motel & Caravan Park

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Canberra Carotel Motel & Caravan Park
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

191 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 190: English reviews
Cairns Region, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It is not a proper caravan park. Old, not maintained. Very few slabs and they are broken, uneven sites, bits of broken concrete around taps and the list goes on. but the worst is the ablution block. No security at all and the showers are disgusting. Health department should visit them. Peeling ceilings with hunks missing and 1m square of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ianlrosecgreen
Robert H, Manager at Canberra Carotel Motel & Caravan Park, responded to this review

For you information the Caravan area is due to be demolished and make way for a residential development hence no money being spent.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The management and staff at the Carotel in Canberra are to praised . I initially made a mistake in booking on line and they contacted me and sorted it out , saving me $$$. I arrived late and the caretaker sorted me out after hours I booked a taxi and when they found out the taxi service ignored my booking...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David W
Robert H, Manager at Canberra Carotel Motel & Caravan Park, responded to this review

Thank you for your very positive feed back. We were delighted to be able to assist you getting to your very important meeting.

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Acceptable older motel room, did the job very well after a long drive up from Melbourne. Bedding was good. Couldn't get their WiFi to work, as others have previously mentioned. Luckily my mobile data did, and had reasonable mobile signal reception. Microwave, dishes and cutlery provided. Generous portion of milk for bar fridge, with more available from the on-site shop...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jstosh
Robert H, Manager at Canberra Carotel Motel & Caravan Park, responded to this review

We are so pleased to receive your very positive response. It sounds like you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward in assisting you again when next in Canberra.

yellowknife
Reviewed 3 November 2016

Stayed here for one night with our camper van. Able to see Kangaroos outside of our van, which being from Canada was exciting, even after seeing them frequently along our drive. BBQs convenient but not as useful as a camp kitchen. Bathroom facilities large. Staff very helpful. Smooth process to book a site upon arrival.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank aikenskb
Robert H, Manager at Canberra Carotel Motel & Caravan Park, responded to this review

It was great that you enjoyed your stay with us. The Kangaroos are an added bonus for our caravan and camping guests. Our staff do there very best in assisting our guests during there stay, so pleased you found them helpful.

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 19 October 2016

When looking for a room top of the list is cleanliness and comfort.The Carotel scores top marks in this area.Stayed the weekend in a family room.The amenities are basic but the bed ( king size ) was comfortable and the cleanliness of the spacious room could not be faulted. Good value for money.The WiFi did not work and whilst most...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cjpmelbourne
Robert H, Manager at Canberra Carotel Motel & Caravan Park, responded to this review

Many thanks for your great review, our cleaning would be pleased to learn you were very happy with the cleanliness of your room. It is also pleasing that you found the king bed comfortable and the room spacious. We are working on improving the WiFi coverage.

Greater Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 18 October 2016

we escaped to Canberra for two nights in the school holidays, five adults and eight young children. We stayed in two family villas which was great for all of us. The villas were lovely and had everything we needed. It was only a ten minute drive into the city centre and didnt bother us as we were out the whole...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bel081cmr
Robert H, Manager at Canberra Carotel Motel & Caravan Park, responded to this review

It sounds like you and your family had a great time staying with us and exploring our major shopping centre. As you would have experienced Canberra has a large selection of retail outlets and great eateries all a short drive from the Carotel Motel.

Nowra, Australia
Reviewed 18 October 2016

Stayed just one night in a family unit was reasonably comfortable although WiFi reception was none existent and the weather didn't help. Staff very helpful and shop on site catered for all those little items we'd missed

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bob L
Robert H, Manager at Canberra Carotel Motel & Caravan Park, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive feed back. We are working on improving the WiFi capacity for our guests. Our staff are very pleased to be able to assist our guests in having a pleasant stay with us. It was great that you found the shop catered for your needs.

Reviewed 18 October 2016 via mobile

Stayed in a family room for 3 nights. It had everything we needed for our stay. The beds were comfortable and the room was clean. The place was easy to find and in a quiet street. Would definitely stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Angie A
Robert H, Manager at Canberra Carotel Motel & Caravan Park, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us over the 3 days. It is pleasing that you found many positive points about your accommodation. We would be delighted to assist you again when next in Canberra.

Windang, Australia
Reviewed 12 October 2016

My husband and I stayed in the small unit which had a king size bed, single bed, fridge, hot plate, tv, small table and chairs, air-conditioner, plenty of storage and a bathroom.We stayed there for two nights and enjoyed our stay. I did comment here that the road outside our unit was a bit gravelly but had got that mixed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gail T
Robert H, Manager at Canberra Carotel Motel & Caravan Park, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive feedback and also for clarifying the mix up regarding the road surface. Please call again when next in Canberra.

Reviewed 8 October 2016 via mobile

Given a sloping and very wet site to try and put up a camper on..very run down amenities...staff were pleasant.. no security gates so random people driving in..I wouldn't recommend it if you are in a camper trailer

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Melanie C
Robert H, Manager at Canberra Carotel Motel & Caravan Park, responded to this review

We are currently in one of the wettest seasons on record and unfortunately some of our flat sites are to wet to drive on so we only had left some uneven blocks. The caravan park area is due to be converted into a residential site hence no new improvements are taking place.

48 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canberra hotels
0.7 km away
Ibis Budget Canberra
Ibis Budget Canberra
#41 of 58 in Canberra
385 reviews
3.2 km away
Quality Hotel Dickson
Quality Hotel Dickson
#22 of 58 in Canberra
296 reviews
7.2 km away
University House
University House
#29 of 58 in Canberra
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Parklands Hotel & Apartments
4.2 km away
Aria Hotel Canberra
Aria Hotel Canberra
#4 of 58 in Canberra
1,287 reviews
12.1 km away
Ibis Styles Canberra Narrabundah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to the Canberra Carotel Motel / Caravan Park which is situated on an undulating 20 acres in a quiet setting, located just 6 km north of Canberra's main shopping hub and ideally located to numerous major attractions. We offer a variety of accommodation catering for individuals through to large groups. We offer facilities for camping, caravanning, staying in motel rooms, cabins, units or villas. We also have two separate self-catering blocks that sleep up to 12 guests in individual rooms. Our large, dedicated and experienced team of staff is eager to assist in making your stay as enjoyable as possible. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Canberra Carotel Motel & Caravan Park

Address: Corner of Aspinall & Zelling Streets, Watson, Canberra 2602, Australia
Region: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Price Range: RM272 - RM805 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Canberra Carotel Motel & Caravan Park 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Canberra Carotel Motel & Caravan Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Canberra Carotel Motel & Caravan Park staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Canberra Carotel Motel & Caravan Park staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The unit we were in was away from the road (which doesn't seem too busy) and very quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles 123gailt, 11 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for one of the newer cabins.”
 of 5 bubbles MM693, 1 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Only stay if there is nowhere else”
 of 5 bubbles 760ricg, 18 Aug 2016 | Read review
“The family rooms (400's and 600's) are the more modern facilities.”
 of 5 bubbles amyhF4009RR, 23 Jul 2016 | Read review
“If you want a quiet room discuss with Management at bookin.”
 of 5 bubbles patricias511, 26 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay