We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Coffs Harbour YHA

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Coffs Harbour YHA
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

143 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 131: English reviews
Start your review of Coffs Harbour YHA
 Click to rate
Reviewed 1 week ago

This hostel was average. It was in a good location and the staff was very nice and helpful. The rooms were nice, but the bathrooms were okay.. It was very hot in the rooms, but other than that, it wasn't too bad!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kasey265
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 January 2017

I was living in this hostel for around 5 months while I was doing my farm work in Australia. The hostel and the people staying in the hostel were what got me through it. The staff are lovely and friendly and show you the same respect you show them and the hostel. They all work super hard to keep the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Megan P
Reviewed 15 January 2017 via mobile

Stayed for 4 month during my farmwork, really good people and the best staff and night managers ,Kate always help you out with everything 🤘if u stay long im sure u feel like family cause its a good size of the hostel

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Amela B
Reviewed 11 January 2017 via mobile

A great place to stay. Handy to shops and the beach. The jetty is also worth a visit...top spot for jetty jumping. A clean YHA with very accomodating staff. A well equipped kitchen but unfortunately no oven. Would certainly recommend for a family friendly stop over between NSW and Queensland.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Karlie C
Reviewed 26 December 2016 via mobile

We arrived late in the evening as we checked out in the morning after that at 10pm, we were asked to leave the hostel straight away because we're not guests anymore. We even weren't allowed to stay at the pool or other common areas. Although the night was quite noisy due to machines which are operating nearby. On top of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Fabian L
YHA_Backpacker, Public Relations Manager at Coffs Harbour YHA, responded to this review

Hi Fabian, sorry to hear that you didn't have the best experience. It's one of the busiest time of the year which explains the $34/night, it's similar to other hostels in the area at that time of the year. You can enjoy the facilities in the hostel after the check out if you pay the small day fee. We aren't...

Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Reviewed 17 December 2016

The worst YHA i've been during my stay in Australia. The hostel seems old and not good maintained. Dirty kitchen, everywhere dirty plates, pots, cutlery and food which aren't cleaned by the guests. Seems that nobody is doing their washing up. Also in the outside area around the pool, everwhere glasses, cans etc. on the tables. Nobody is putting away...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Max W
YHA_Backpacker, Public Relations Manager at Coffs Harbour YHA, responded to this review

Hi Max, thanks for your review and sorry to hear that you didn't have the best experience. We have regular cleaning times during the day to stay on top of the cleanliness and the lights in the bathroom are on a timer as an energy saving measure. Next time feel free to let the reception know if an area needs...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 December 2016 via mobile

Overall I was happy with the hostel. It was clean, close to the beach, had a nice swimming pool and a cool common area with lots of sofas, boardgames and books so it was a good opportunity to meet other solo travellers. They have a chalkboard in the kitchen which was a really unique touch! Only downsides were that although...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Courtney K
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 2 December 2016

The best holiday is where you dont have to go far from your accomodation to do stuff. The shops and restaurants are right there, the beach is over the road and that pool is a god send from the heat. Great spot

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dan24522016
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 November 2016 via mobile

The rooms in this hostel are adequate enough, in line with expectation; clean, comfy albeit quite hot even with the fan on full blast. The common areas were clean and tidy, with a very well equipped kitchen in terms of utensils etc. However, numerous signs plastered on the walls and tables saying 'CCTV; we're watching you' is slightly unnerving and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank TheSunToucher
Michigan
Reviewed 10 September 2016

We stayed here as a family of four (with two very young children). We booked it unaware that it was a hostel (using some hotel site). Once we arrived we quickly realized what had happened but there were no refunds on our booking. The staff were very friendly and arranged it so that we could get a room with a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ferica123

34 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
1:58
Videos (3)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coffs Harbour hotels
1.2 km away
Surf Beach Motel
Surf Beach Motel
#9 of 39 in Coffs Harbour
248 reviews
1.8 km away
Coastal Bay Motel
Coastal Bay Motel
#5 of 39 in Coffs Harbour
73 reviews
4.7 km away
Smugglers on the Beach
Smugglers on the Beach
#2 of 39 in Coffs Harbour
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Aussitel Backpackers
Aussitel Backpackers
#7 of 43 in Coffs Harbour
140 reviews
0.3 km away
The Pier Hotel
The Pier Hotel
#5 of 17 in Coffs Harbour
73 reviews
0.3 km away
Caribbean Motel
Caribbean Motel
#6 of 39 in Coffs Harbour
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Shuttle Bus Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Midway between Sydney and Brisbane, Coffs Harbour YHA makes a great stopover for backpackers travelling the east coast. The purpose-built YHA hostel is located close to the jetty and beach. Choice of multi-share backpacker rooms and en-suite twin/double room accommodation. Spacious dining and common rooms, TV, free Wi-Fi hotspot (Premium Wi-Fi Plus also available), BBQ, pool area. FREE surfboard and body boards hire, and bikes available. YHA member discounts for local tours and backpacker activities at hostel tour desk. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Coffs Harbour YHA

Address: 51 Collingwood St, Coffs Harbour, New South Wales 2450, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Coffs Harbour
Price Range: RM96 - RM666 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Coffs Harbour YHA 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Coffs Harbour YHA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Coffs Harbour YHA staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“choose top floor south side for views of the street”
dan24522016, 1 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Let Brett know in advance if a lift is needed, as he is a fairly busy man. That said, I believe he rarely turns down a request for help.”
6benl, 19 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Very simple rooms available”
TommyGunn88, 11 May 2016 | Read review
“Twin share room is clean and cheap and has attached toilet and shower”
reshp2013, 5 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Rooms are small - 201 is a nice room. Choose second floor first floor very noisy. Not all rooms have TV and some are very small.”
ritj2, 22 Nov 2015 | Read review
5 of 5