We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Jackaroo Hostel

288 reviews
Save
Traveller (46)
Room & Suite (46)
Dining (9)
Overview
  • Excellent47%
  • Very good27%
  • Average15%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“kings cross”(60 reviews)
“train station”(44 reviews)
“free wifi”(43 reviews)
Free Wifi
Breakfast included
Non-Smoking Hotel
Self-Serve Laundry
Free Parking
Pool
3.0 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (288)Write a Review
There are newer reviews for Jackaroo Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
255 results
Traveller rating
121
68
36
16
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
121
68
36
16
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskings crosstrain stationfree wifitop floorhome from homeaustraliadormharbour
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
21 - 25 of 255 reviews
Reviewed 22 June 2016 via mobile

Booked jackaroo on hostel world from New York and didn't know what to expect as is the case with most of these things. When I arrived the welcome couldn't have been warmer, and what was booked as a weeks stay ended up being over 4...More

Thank Bennett0ali
Reviewed 22 June 2016 via mobile

I spend a long time at Jackaroo Kings Crossy And I Just love the hostel. Raquel, Jade and Rob are nice, warm and very concerned about the hostel and the guests. I would stay again there for sure if I go to Sydney, even not...More

Thank Pilarestayg
Reviewed 31 May 2016 via mobile

Extremely friendly and helpful staff, well located for bars and adult entertainment ;) Always clean, free WiFi, Playstation 3 to play with for free, too, which is awesome and free breakfast. Right next to the Peter Pans Travel Office as well. Absolutely recommendable!

Thank Patrick S
Reviewed 20 April 2016

"-": - Found a giant cockroach on the first night. - The lock on the door. Not secure at all. - Bathroom equipment looks like it can break any moment, windows without handles, etc. - Kings Kross is a red light district of Sydney and...More

1  Thank Максим К
Response from Jackaroo_Crew, Manager at Jackaroo HostelResponded 11 May 2016

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we are glad you enjoyed the location, free breakfast and our friendly staff. We have a pest control contract in place which which does an excellent job at keeping pests at bay. Unfortunately being...More

Reviewed 18 April 2016

Room was decent people at the hostel very friendly and always some sort of group activity going on everyday. Hostel is Clean as well. I stayed at this hostel for around 5-6 months and travelled round australia and still thought this was the best hostel.

Thank Adam N
Response from Jackaroo_Crew, Manager at Jackaroo HostelResponded 11 May 2016

Hi Adam, Thank you for the amazing review, we hope to see you again if you are in Sydney.

View more reviews
PreviousNext
13456751
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Breakfast included
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Amenities
Breakfast included
Self-Serve Laundry
Details
Price range
US$27 - US$76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
US$27 - US$76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (46)
Room & Suite (46)
Dining (9)
Amenities (20)
Family and Play Areas (2)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Andy2042
28 October 2014|
Answer
Response from Jackaroo_KX | Property representative |
Hi, Thank you for your message. We do provide keys for the room. There is a $20 key deposit for the key which is refunded when the key is returned. All rooms have a/c and linen as well. Thanks.
0
Votes
itopia
15 August 2014|
Answer
Response from Jackaroo_KX | Property representative |
Thank you for contacting us. Our building is of an older style without an elevator and all rooms are located on upper levels. I would suggest looking at Hostels in the city centre area for a more wheelchair accessible option.
0
Votes
Room Tips
"If got choice don't"
Read review
"Off street"
Read review
"ROOM 6!! Private bathroom for 4 people, a window that opens lol"
Read review
"Not on the first floor. #17 was relatively good (window to the other side, double bed)"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing