We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Holiday Inn Old Sydney

Show Prices
#44 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Old Sydney
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,241 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Old Sydney
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,070: English reviews
Taree, Australia
Reviewed 9 October 2014

Accommodating efficient and friendly staff, most comfortable bed and pillow ensured great sleeps, clean room and oh so central - great restaurants easy walk to circular quay. Very contented. Would stay again.

Review collected in partnership with Skoosh
 Report
Helpful?
Thank hargansm
HMHIOldSydney, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this review

Dear hargansm, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and for your positive review. We look forward to being able to welcome you back to the hotel in the future. Kind regards, Rob & Team Holiday Inn Old Sydney

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 4 October 2014

Pleasantly surprised at this hotel in such a lovely location. We were upgraded to a king room which had a wonderful view of the Opera House and Circular Quay. The room was basic,but clean and spacious although the bathroom was quite tiny.Room service breakfast was generous with a great variety and well priced. Websites including the hotel's own indicated self...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank _KeeptheFaith450_
HMHIOldSydney, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this review

Dear LBBJ0363, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your positive feedback is greatly appreciated. We apologise if there was any confusion regarding our parking facilities. The hotel has a very small underground car park which we offer as a valet parking option. This is...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 October 2014

This is a fairly typical Holiday Inn: large well appointed room with good and roomy bathroom and all the usual Holiday Inn amenities. The rooms are all round an interior atrium. We had requested a quiet room & we got one facing a side street, so it was very easy to sleep. Some small meals are served in the evening,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank global-traveller48
HMHIOldSydney, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this review

Dear global-traveller48. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We were pleased to read that you found our location and staff to be fantastic. Wishing you safe future travels. Kind regards, Rob & Team Holiday Inn Old Sydney

Canberra, Australia
Reviewed 29 September 2014

Lovely, helpful staff. On arrival we were upgraded to a king room but, although large, the room was very disappointing. Only one bedside table. No power points near bed. Only one chair to sit on. No table to eat anything on - had to sit on the bed. Bathroom not big enough to fit two people in it. Dirty, grouting...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Susan D
HMHIOldSydney, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this review

Dear Susan D, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Your constructive feedback is much appreciated. We apologise for any issues which you encountered during your stay. The hotel is in the process of many upgrade projects which include addressing some of the issues which you have highlighted. We have just completed these works on level 1...

Reviewed 26 September 2014

It is a shame to rate this hotel as poor because of its proximity to old Sydney The position is excellent, rooms not bad, overall a good choice when in Sydney But here is the problem, the parking I have stayed there on 2 other occasions pulled up checked in and parked under ground On this occasion i pulled up...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aussietrip77
HMHIOldSydney, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this review

Dear Aussietrip77, Thankyou for taking the time to review our hotel. Your feedback is greatly appreciated. I believe that a member of the Senior Management Team has replied to your review privately via email. We apologise for any inconvenience or distress. The hotel had no control over the road closures and informed our customers to the best of our ability...

london
Reviewed 24 September 2014

This hotel is a converted warehouse and in a very good location for harbour trips, the hop on hop off bus, the opera house and the harbour bridge. We loved the view from the rooftop which was stunning at night with the opera house and bridge lit up. We also liked the hot tub. We didn't use the pool as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank biggles51
HMHIOldSydney, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this review

Dear biggles51, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We were pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your kind words about our hotel and our staff. We also wish to thank you for returning to the hotel for your second visit. Wishing you safe future travels, Kind regards, Rob &...

Orlando, Florida
Reviewed 23 September 2014

This is what you would expect from a holiday inn, except it is in a great location. Close walk to dining, night clubs, museums, the Opera House and Harbour Bridge. The roof has an amazing view, anytime of day or night. There is also a pool there, if you have time for a swim you are likely missing out on...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank PipeDream31
HMHIOldSydney, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this review

Dear PipeDream31, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed our spectacular views from our rooftop. It is a well kept secret in Sydney and is a spectacular vantage point every New Years Eve! We trust that you enjoyed your vacation to Australia. Thank...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 23 September 2014 via mobile

The Holiday Inn is all about location, location and the view. Want to step back in time? If yes then this hotel is perfect. Located in old Sydney it feels like stepping back in time. The property is dated and the rooms and furnishings are below what I expected. The location is perfect for anyone wanting to stay in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ozkart
HMHIOldSydney, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this review

Dear Ozkart, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Your constructive comments are much appreciated. Our hotel is a Heritage Listed building which is a part of the rich history of the Rocks area. We recently upgraded all of our lobby furniture and are about to roll out new furniture and a new live cooking station in...

Reading
Reviewed 22 September 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights on our travels for our honeymoon. We were greeted with a bottle of champagne and chocolates in our room, which was comfortable and clean. Location was great, staff were very friendly and helpful! The rooftop pool & spa was spectacular with views of the opera house and bridge. We loved it up there! Overall...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AmyWightman
HMHIOldSydney, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this review

Dear AmyWightman, As a Senior Reviewer thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. Congratulations on your recent wedding, we delighted that you chose to spend part of your honeymoon staying with us. Thank you for your positive review of the hotel. Wishing you all the very best, we hope to be able to welcome you back on...

Saint-Lazare-de-Bellechasse, Canada
Reviewed 22 September 2014

This is a very good place to stay. The building is a little bit different from the usual Holiday Inn styles - older for better may be. Everything is clean, staff is very good, internet works well. Major restaurants and attractions are just outside and a huge Carnival's cruise liner pulled in overnight ( blocked the view over the bay...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Finn1955
HMHIOldSydney, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this review

Dear Finn1955, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We were pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our hotel is a Heritage Listed property and has a rich history to it. We are one of the few Holiday Inn properties worldwide which have this classification. Cruise season has now arrived however the cruise...

961 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (889)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (184)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (89)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
View from Room (152)
Viewed
Bathroom (43)
Viewed
Room/Suite (117)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (6)
Viewed
Other (287)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (72)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Other (21)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#22 of 179 in Sydney
1,227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
The Rocks
The Russell Hotel
The Russell Hotel
#34 of 179 in Sydney
872 reviews
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in The Rocks

Neighbourhood Profile
The Rocks
The first residents of the Rocks were convicts and sailors from the old nation. As the oldest neighbourhood in the city, the area's cobblestone streets host more than 100 heritage sites and buildings, including the oldest house in Sydney, Camden Cottage, which was built in 1816. Taste a “midi “ or a “schooner” of beer and dine “al fresco” on the waterfront at some of the oldest pubs in Sydney. The weekend markets at the Rocks are where you can find local artists' hand-made souvenirs, organic food and designer jewelry in a relaxed and friendly atmosphere. To enjoy some of the best Australian and international contemporary art, the MCA museum is open every day and select evenings. At the end of a long day of sightseeing, be sure to save energy to dance the night away at the area's many late night entertainment venues.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Heritage Listed Holiday Inn Old Sydney is one of Sydney's little secrets,uniquely positioned between the Harbour Bridge and Sydney Opera House within the iconic area of The Rocks. Holiday Inn Old Sydney is the closest hotel to the Overseas Passenger Terminal providing a hassle free accommodation option pre and post cruise. The hotel is closely situated to the Circular Quay Ferry and Railway stations also providing easy access to Sydney Airport via the Airtrain. Each of our 176 guestrooms come equipped with a choice of soft & firm pillows, flatscreen TV's, high speed internet access. Enjoy spectacular views to Sydney Harbour or an outlook onto the historic Rocks from the comfort of your room. Stroll down the harbour-side promenade past the museum of Contemporary Art, to lively Circular Quay and experience an excellent selection of restaurants and bars. Here you can catch a ferry to Manly Beach, Watsons Bay, Taronga Zoo or enjoy a fabulous harbour cruise. Holiday Inn Old Sydney is only moments from the majority of Sydney's best attractions and a variety of great shopping options, including the Rocks Markets, Queen Victoria Building, Pitt Street Mall and Oxford Street. Experience spectacular views of Sydney Harbour, the famous Harbour Bridge and the world-acclaimed Opera House from the famous Holiday Inn Old Sydney rooftop, equipped with heated outdoor pool and spa. Holiday Inn Old Sydney also offers a complimentary business centre with computer and internet access to keep you connected whilst away from home. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Old Sydney

Address: 55 George St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > The Rocks
Price Range: RM770 - RM1,542 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Old Sydney 4*
Number of rooms: 176
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Old Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Old Sydney Hotel Sydney
Old Sydney Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Sydney
Sydney Holiday Inn
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Sydney
#42 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#43 Family Hotel in Sydney
#47 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Old Sydney staff and other travellers.
29 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (29)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Old Sydney staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Choose a room above the 5th floor. Views of the bridge and terminal.”
 of 5 bubbles B9167WDjamesj, 24 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Plenty of rooms with harbour views”
 of 5 bubbles HoleycowCreative, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for an upgrade and queen bed.”
 of 5 bubbles gregoryl556, 18 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Only stay when there's an unbeatable special on.”
 of 5 bubbles aussiedisney, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Higher floors have harbour views”
 of 5 bubbles T7872QIpauln, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5