We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Holiday Inn Old Sydney

Orbitz.comUS$130*
View Deal
#41 of 175 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$286*
US$130*
US$132*
US$286*
US$131*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Old Sydney
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,307 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Old Sydney
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,131: English reviews
Chingola, Zambia
Reviewed 3 November 2014

The hotel is located very close to the harbour bridge. Opera house is within walking distance. The hotel rooms are very posh & well maintained. Restaurant is also very nice. Services are very good though the hotel staff is very adamant about check-out timings even if you are ready to pay extra charges.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Soumyanath
HMHIOldSydney, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this review

Dear Soumyanath, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel after your visit in December last year. Thank you for your kind words about the hotel, we pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. In regards to late check outs,unfortunately these are subject to availability. With December being our peak month we operate at 100%...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 1 November 2014

Beautiful style hotel in an amazing location! Right in the rocks and near Pancakes on the Rocks -YUM!!! Amazing views of Sydney harbour from the rooftop pool! I bought my Canadian friend here to visit and she loved the view! Great tourist location. The rooms are lovely, although its an older style hotel it is current and up to date...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sarah K
HMHIOldSydney, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this review

Dear David S, Thankyou for taking the time to review our hotel. We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. The views from our rooftop certainly are a great part of the experience of staying at our hotel. Pancakes at the Rocks as you have mentioned is also very popular with our guests! Thank you for...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 1 November 2014

We have stayed in the Holiday Inn Old Sydney five times now and is our first choice due to location. We had a room with two double beds as we had our four year old grand daughter with us. The room was spacious, comfortable and clean and faced to the south so we had a good view of the city...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank David S
HMHIOldSydney, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this review

Dear David S, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Thank you for your loyalty.We were very pleased to read that you and your grand daughter enjoyed your fifth stay with us. Thank you for sharing your tips about the hotel and the local area with others online. We look forward to welcoming you back to the...

Coalville, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 October 2014 via mobile

You walk in and it's a quirky building with fabulous views of the opera house and bridge from the rooftop. Service was fabulous and location close to cafés and bars and a short walk to circular quay to catch a ferry or walk to the opera house and close to the train station. Chill out having a coffee or watching...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sarah D
HMHIOldSydney, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this review

Dear Sarah D, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We were pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you in particular for your kind words about our staff, they are greatly appreciated. Wishing you safe future travels, Kind regards, Rob & Team Holiday Inn Old Sydney

Tampa, Florida
Reviewed 29 October 2014

Trip August 2012 Holiday inn got a strange property to work with here and maximized it. The lobby is beautiful, with a fireplace that was nice to sit by with a drink. On the roof is a deck with a pool (we were there in the winter, so did not use it) with a priceless view of the harbor, one...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank redhead1015
HMHIOldSydney, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this review

Dear redhead1015, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel from your visit in 2012. We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your trip to Sydney and your stay with us. Since your stay with us we have continued to improve the hotel and made some significant changes. Here are some listed below: * New lobby furniture...

Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 October 2014

The position of this hotel was marvellous, right by where the cruise ships come in, at circular quay. Near to shops cafes and restaurants and easy to get anywhere. The hotel staff were very helpful, the reception was always manned by polite well dressed staff. We would certainly reccomend this hotel to anyone staying in Sydney.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank cactustraveller
HMHIOldSydney, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this review

Dear cactustraveller, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your positive feedback about our staff. Thank you for choosing to stay with us. Kind regards, Rob & Team Holiday Inn Old Sydney

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 29 October 2014 via mobile

At $1100 for 3 nights this was a pretty expensive weekend! The location is excellent though, of course, which is why I chose it. The room was absolutely fine and clean, quite small and nothing special...but have great views. We looked on to the CBD and the ferries at Circular Quay. Our room key didn't work on returning to our...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TravelEd73
HMHIOldSydney, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this review

Dear TravelEd73, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. You feedback is greatly appreciated. We apologise for your keys timing out and understand that this would have been quite frustrating. Our hotel has a very convenient location to many transport options and tourist amenities. In fact it is currently peak season for Cruise arrivals which embark /...

Hamilton, New Zealand
Reviewed 29 October 2014

Loved staying at Holiday Inn at the Rocks in Sydney. Glen & Casey who were behind the front desk were fantastic & very helpful. They made a real effort to make our stay enjoyable. Our room was clean & tidy and at a good price. The hotel was right in the Rocks area near all the main tourist sites so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank markwg2014
HMHIOldSydney, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this review

Dear markwg2014, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We were delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate your positive feedback about Glen and Casey who are two members of our Front Office Management team, we have shared your feedback with them. Thank you once again for choosing to stay with us. We look...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 October 2014 via mobile

Emailed in advance and managed an 8 a.m. check in from the lovely Meg... much appreciated! 4th time to Sydney and never saw this part of the city centre... A good experience. It's located on a road alongside circular Quay and took me maybe 3 minutes from the metro on foot. Comped wifi as an IHG member and a nice...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank drdanielmacdonald
HMHIOldSydney, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this review

Dear drdanielmacdonald, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and for your loyalty as an IHG Rewards Club Member. We were pleased to read that you enjoyed staying in our Heritage Listed building which does have a lot of charm to it. Currently we upgrading several areas and we are also about to work on further external...

Reviewed 25 October 2014

Excellent location for visiting the Rocks and Opera House Friendly staff at reception We had room 107 on 1st floor at front of hotel- small room/bathroom Really noisy from traffic- all night- avoid this room if you want to sleep room was very dull/dated looking with painted tiles in bathroom. The paint/sealant was discoloured and showing the green mould underneath...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ozzie Fozzies
HMHIOldSydney, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this review

Dear Ozzie Fozzies, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We apologise that your stay was not as positive as it should have been. Your constructive feedback is greatly appreciated. The rooms on the first floor were actually overhauled less than six months ago in which we double glazed the windows, repainted the entire room and also...

998 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (926)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (94)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (189)
Viewed
View from Room (156)
Viewed
Room/Suite (119)
Viewed
Bathroom (43)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (6)
Viewed
Other (308)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (72)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Other (21)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#19 of 175 in Sydney
1,261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rocks
The Russell Hotel
The Russell Hotel
#38 of 175 in Sydney
894 reviews
Central Business District
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in The Rocks

Neighbourhood Profile
The Rocks
The first residents of the Rocks were convicts and sailors from the old nation. As the oldest neighbourhood in the city, the area's cobblestone streets host more than 100 heritage sites and buildings, including the oldest house in Sydney, Camden Cottage, which was built in 1816. Taste a “midi “ or a “schooner” of beer and dine “al fresco” on the waterfront at some of the oldest pubs in Sydney. The weekend markets at the Rocks are where you can find local artists' hand-made souvenirs, organic food and designer jewelry in a relaxed and friendly atmosphere. To enjoy some of the best Australian and international contemporary art, the MCA museum is open every day and select evenings. At the end of a long day of sightseeing, be sure to save energy to dance the night away at the area's many late night entertainment venues.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Conference Facilities
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Heritage Listed Holiday Inn Old Sydney is one of Sydney's little secrets,uniquely positioned between the Harbour Bridge and Sydney Opera House within the iconic area of The Rocks. Holiday Inn Old Sydney is the closest hotel to the Overseas Passenger Terminal providing a hassle free accommodation option pre and post cruise. The hotel is closely situated to the Circular Quay Ferry and Railway stations also providing easy access to Sydney Airport via the Airtrain. Each of our 176 guestrooms come equipped with a choice of soft & firm pillows, flatscreen TV's, high speed internet access. Enjoy spectacular views to Sydney Harbour or an outlook onto the historic Rocks from the comfort of your room. Stroll down the harbour-side promenade past the museum of Contemporary Art, to lively Circular Quay and experience an excellent selection of restaurants and bars. Here you can catch a ferry to Manly Beach, Watsons Bay, Taronga Zoo or enjoy a fabulous harbour cruise. Holiday Inn Old Sydney is only moments from the majority of Sydney's best attractions and a variety of great shopping options, including the Rocks Markets, Queen Victoria Building, Pitt Street Mall and Oxford Street. Experience spectacular views of Sydney Harbour, the famous Harbour Bridge and the world-acclaimed Opera House from the famous Holiday Inn Old Sydney rooftop, equipped with heated outdoor pool and spa. Holiday Inn Old Sydney also offers a complimentary business centre with computer and internet access to keep you connected whilst away from home. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Old Sydney

Address: 55 George St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > The Rocks
Price Range: RM548 - RM1,415 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Old Sydney 4*
Number of rooms: 176
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, IHG, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Old Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Old Sydney Hotel Sydney
Old Sydney Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Sydney
Sydney Holiday Inn
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Sydney
#40 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#43 Family Hotel in Sydney
#47 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Old Sydney staff and other travellers.
37 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (37)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Old Sydney staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Higher floor rooms would be good if you are a light sleeper”
Anne19472014, 19 May 2017 | Read review
“Our room was on the 5th floor and very quiet.”
262SharonL, 16 May 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a view - I had the back of another building as my view”
kgreenwood, 11 May 2017 | Read review
“Room facing the harbour”
Rafdu, 10 May 2017 | Read review
“Not sure that the "Harbour View" room is worth it. If you want the view, go to the rooftop pool area.”
Chappaquidick, 3 May 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Orbitz.com
US$130* /night
View Deal
Hotels.comUS$132
HolidayInn.comUS$131
AMOMAUS$286
View all 13 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates