We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
176 Cumberland Street,The Rocks Sydney 2000, Sydney, New South Wales 2000 Australia
E-mail hotel
Update from hotel: This property has indicated that they are taking safety precautions against COVID-19.Read more
14 people are viewing this hotel
Hotel direct offer!Exclusive Member Rate
Booking.com
US$202
View deal
Free cancellation until 07/10/22
Priceline
US$202
View deal
Free cancellation until 08/10/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Lol.travel
US$175
View deal
Expedia.comUS$202
Hotels.comUS$202
Trip.comUS$221
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (4497)
Room & Suite (1547)
Dining (325)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
A note from Shangri-La Sydney
Updated 23/05/22

About

#102 of 209 hotels in Sydney
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Shangri-La Sydney enjoys the most coveted position on Sydney Harbour. The unparalleled views of the Sydney Harbour Bridge and Sydney Opera House enhance the glamour of this destination hotel. Nestled in the historic Rocks District, the contemporary hotel features 564 elegantly appointed guest rooms and suites, reflecting the vibrant hues of the harbour beyond. Horizon Club on level 30 is Australia’s most sophisticated guest lounge. The finely-decorated space boasts soaring, 13 metre-high windows spanning four floors, and offers 270 degree views. Altitude restaurant takes dining to new heights. Nowhere else in Sydney will you find an award-winning culinary experience with such extraordinary, all-encompassing views of Sydney Harbour’s glittering jewels. Blu Bar on 36 serves creative cocktails by talented bartenders presiding over a sleek space brimming with Sydneysiders and visitors alike, as the city glistens below. Chi, The Spa is the perfect destination for those seeking a tranquil, urban oasis, drawing inspiration from ancient Asian healing and wellness philosophies to create a place of personal peace, enchantment and well-being. Let the breathtaking beauty of Sydney envelop you in its magic at Shangri-La Sydney.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Babysitting
Airport transportation
Business Centre with Internet Access
Paid private parking on-site
Wifi
Hot bath
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Rooftop bar
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Facial treatments
Full body massage
Head massage
Massage
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Non-smoking hotel
Butler service
Doorperson
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Additional bathroom
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
On-demand films
VIP room facilities
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Harbour View
Languages Spoken
English, Chinese, Japanese
Hotel links
Special Offer:Exclusive Member Rate
8209Reviews96Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 4,707
  • 1,982
  • 791
  • 403
  • 327
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
pursuit wrote a review Yesterday
New York City, New York100 contributions124 helpful votes
First visit to Sydney so wanted to stay in the Rocks. Great location with fantastic views. Like the rest of Australia and New Zealand, shortage of service personnel has affected the hotel operations, but overall experience was positive. Would benefit from a facelift, interiors are rather dated and fading in several areas.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Alex Scott, Other at Shangri-La Sydney
Responded yesterday
Good afternoon, Thank you for choosing to stay with Shangri-La Sydney. I am delighted to hear you had a wonderful overall experience in true Shangri-La style. Kindly advising we have taken note of the issues raised and escalated this to the relevant teams to ensure ongoing improvement of our guest relations. We look forward to hopefully welcoming you again in the future. Kind regards, Alex Scott Director of Operations Shangri-La Sydney
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
kapa12345 wrote a review Aug 2022
London14 contributions4 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
The hotel is great. Despite mixed reviews, mostly on the service side, my experience of the hotel left me in doubt that this is a 5 star hotel. From the moment we checked in, to the moment we checked out, the staff were attentive to every need. We arrived at 4.30PM, and immediately were asked if we needed any help with luggage by the door/bell man. There were no queues for check-in. The staff assigned our room, we were given an upgraded room, explained our benefits with the type of booking we made, which included breakfast, hotel credit and amenity. The hotel elevator requires the keycard to be swiped so you can get to your floor where your room is located. We entered the room. Wow, what a space. We had a pull out sofa bed setup for my daughter with its own tv in the lounge space. We turned the corner into the main bedroom and all of us just looked straight out of the window. What a view. This is what a vacation is all about! The main bedroom itself had multiple usb charging ports and sockets. The AC was quiet and cooled the room to perfection. The bathroom was luxurious, with a separate shower and tub. Always hot water available all times of the day. There were complimentary water bottles provided. The breakfast setup each morning is on the top floor in the main restaurant of the hotel. The first morning we were seated straight away without any wait. The second and third mornings there was a wait to be seated but a maximum of 10 minutes. The hotel does provide literature that explains the busiest times for breakfast service are from 9AM to 10AM. This does not mean you will not get breakfast, just that it may take a little longer to get seated. The breakfast setup was great, with a hot dish provided from a menu which you get a choice. Then a cold buffet setup where you can go multiple times to fill yourself up! The cold choices had a variety of things, from pastries to cereals to breads and cold meats/cheeses. A lot more than I can list. Once seated, the staff offer you a drink (we had great cappuccinos) and then take your order for a hot dish. The view from the restaurant is to die for. Makes eating breakfast so relaxing while watching the city move about its daily business. I got a surprise one afternoon as the door bell rung on the hotel room door and I was not expecting anyone. I saw a hotel employee and he brought in a bottle of wine, a fruit platter and a chocolate bar. He thanked me for staying at the hotel and left. I was a little taken back but then realized this was the hotel amenity provided as part of the booking I made. Nice touch! We visted the bar on the top floor one evening and had drinks and a light bite to eat. We were seated within minutes and even though there was a large party in the bar area, our drinks/food order were taken promptly. My wife did get a sparkling wine drink which was flat and not sparkling at all and we let the waitress know. The bar tender came over and apologized and brought over a newly poured drink. I'm a beer drinker and a few of the varieties of beer shown on the menu were not available. I joked that maybe the last large party drank them all. Checkout time for this hotel is 11AM. On check-in day they asked if I would be requiring a late checkout and I asked for an additional hour which was granted. The hotel itself is in a great location. It is less than a five minute walk to the sydney harbour bridge, and a walk across it in the morning was a nice half day trip. The hotel is also close to a nice pub next door where we went for a few pints and some food. The fish and chips were tasty. Overall the hotel exceeded my expectations. Shout out to the hotel staff and management. They work tirelessly to help guests and this hotel would not get its five star rating alone on the fixtures and fittings. Yes travel is back, and not in the same way as it was before due to the pandemic. I certainly have experienced this in many US hotels. However at the Shangrila they manage this perfectly while doing their best to provide service without cutting anything. For me, its top marks for this hotel, I would stay there again for sure.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Corner room on a high floor
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kathryn Blackwell , Other at Shangri-La Sydney
Responded 8 Aug 2022
Good morning, Thank you for choosing to stay with Shangri-La Sydney. We are pleased you had a wonderful overall experience in true Shangri-La style. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay, the supreme views, the location and that our colleague’s service and dining options delighted you. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Kind regards, Kathryn Blackwell Director of Operations Shangri-La Sydney
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Claire F wrote a review Yesterday
1 contribution1 helpful vote
My husband and I decided to book a deluxe Harborview room for a night away from our three young children Til did we know it was school holidays so there was kids everywhere We were very frustrated when trying to use the pool and spa facilities the kids were running and jumping and their parents weren’t telling them off for doing so We had a darling Harborview room however are situated on level six and all we saw was Bradfield Highway We were very disappointed The only saving grace was the lovely bathroom which had both a shower and bath in it Many of the rooms features were outdated and for a hotel room of this price I was very disappointed if there was no pod machine for morning coffee we did not want to spend the $55 per person for breakfast at the hotel
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Alex Scott, Other at Shangri-La Sydney
Responded yesterday
Good morning Claire, Shangri-La Sydney sincerely appreciates you taking the time to share your perspective and feedback. I am so sorry to hear your experience and the service did not meet expectations. Please be rest assured the points you have raised will be addressed internally. Kind regards, Alex Scott Director of Operations Shangri-La Sydney
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Martyn W wrote a review 14 Sep
1 contribution2 helpful votes
We recently spend two nights at this hotel. We looked forward to traveling from the country and spending a few nights in Sydney, a city we love. Disappointed in the extreme. On-site parking was so expensive we left our elsewhere car else where. Breakfast was also addition at $75 per person per day. We ate elsewhere. The room was tired. Stained carpet and cheap repairs. We will never go back, and we regret ever thinking that this was a place we would like to stay.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Parking is a ridiculous price, especially if you are a guest!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Alex Scott, Other at Shangri-La Sydney
Responded 1 week ago
Good morning Martyn, Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry to hear you were disappointed during your stay and I have taken note of the issues you have shared. Rest assured this has been raised with our team and I hope you will give us another opportunity to restore your confidence in the hotel. Kind regards, Alex Scott Director of Operations Shangri-La Sydney
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Vanessa B wrote a review 13 Sep
Lake Macquarie, Australia56 contributions24 helpful votes
+1
Best view looking over Sydney Harbour with views for Sydney Heads to Parramatta River inclusive of the Opera House and Harbour Bridge. Level 34 offered Level 30 breakfast, high teas snd evening drinks. The service was excellent and the staff friendly and helpful. I want room 3411 next time!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Definitely book a studio! Book dinners after 7.30 do you can enjoy complimentary drinks on...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kathryn Blackwell , Other at Shangri-La Sydney
Responded 1 week ago
Good morning, Thank you for choosing to stay with Shangri-La Sydney. We are pleased you had a wonderful overall experience in true Shangri-La style. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay, the supreme views, the location and that our colleague’s service and dining options delighted you. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Kind regards, Alex Scott Director of Operations Shangri-La Sydney
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
jamesnero wrote a review 13 Sep
12 contributions6 helpful votes
Stayed here one night 10th of Sept actually and added breakfast and valet parking during booking. This was all added to the final price as expected. Upon checking in I asked the desk to confirm my package. They confirmed breakfast and parking had been added. First bad experience was the long line at check in.Second was when I tried to change my breakfast to in room service, I was happy to pay the difference in price. Front desk told me to ring 9 when I was in my room, ring 9 and they are unwilling to budge. Must eat at the buffet breakfast. This is not really a buffet breakfast, they get your plate and portion your meal and no toast. Then when checking out I asked do I need my valet validated. I was told no, it will all get sorted. Sorted alright, I was billed again for parking. I phoned immediately to fix the issue. I was told no one was available to talk to and I would get a call the following day. Response was late in the afternoon and I was asked to prove I paid for the parking. Heading into Wednesday and still not resolved. Not a 5 star hotel at all, do yourself a favour and stay at the Four Seasons, same views, great service and nothing is an issue. Never again……..
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Alex Scott, Other at Shangri-La Sydney
Responded 1 week ago
Dear James, Thank you for sharing your feedback. I am sorry to hear you were disappointed during your stay and I have taken note of the service issues you pointed out in regards to your breakfast and valet parking inclusions. Rest assured this has been raised with our team and we hope you will give us another opportunity to restore your confidence in the hotel. Kind regards, Alex Scott Director of Operations Shangri-La Sydney
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ian G wrote a review 11 Sep
Farnborough, United Kingdom19 contributions34 helpful votes
I am shocked by the high number of poor reviews for the Shangri-la Sydney. Our stay couldn't have been more perfect! Service was impeccable from the moment we arrived to when we left. The view from restaurant and lounge is exceptional, as was the quality of food served. On our last night we ate in the restaurant whilst they had a Michelin guest chef in and it was the best food I've ever eaten! Location is excellent with not much more that a 5 mins walk to circular Quay and the CBD. If I have the chance to come back to Sydney, I'll be staying here again for sure!!!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Kathryn Blackwell , Other at Shangri-La Sydney
Responded 2 weeks ago
Good morning, Thank you for choosing to stay with Shangri-La Sydney. We are pleased you had a wonderful overall experience in true Shangri-La style. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay, the supreme views, the location and that our colleague’s service and dining options delighted you. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Kind regards, Alex Scott Director of Operations Shangri-La Sydney
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
VanSG29 wrote a review Aug 2022
Singapore, Singapore74 contributions3 helpful votes
+1
Visited in July. Had a fantastic stay in Grand Premier room with an awesome view. Had booked for a premiere room but got upgraded thanks to the Manager. Excellent location and room service was great. Though we stay many times in Shangrila, never tried rooms service. With very cold weather we decided to stay indoors, enjoy a nice bottle of wine and great food. Our go to place in Sydney.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kathryn Blackwell , Other at Shangri-La Sydney
Responded 4 weeks ago
Good afternoon, Thank you for choosing to stay with Shangri-La Sydney. We are pleased you had a wonderful overall experience in true Shangri-La style. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay, the supreme views, the location and that our colleague’s service and dining options delighted you. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Kind regards, Kathryn Blackwell Director of Operations Shangri-La Sydney
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Annmaree B wrote a review Aug 2022
Granada, Spain2 contributions1 helpful vote
Fantastic view and paid the extra fee to sit by the window for friend’s birthday celebration. Generally service not up to scratch. Asked for wine list which arrived in tattered state and chose bottle of NV Chandon Brut Rose for four of us. At $95 a bottle ( $30 at local bottle shop) we expected it would be cold. It was poured before realising it was room temperature, although ice bucket was provided. Food was fair and slightly dried out. Asked for scones to be heated in microwave and spoons for jam and cream. Tea selection poor, supposedly five on offer but only four listed by staff. One of these was Earl Grey which was not available….really a five star hotel with no Earl Grey tea ? A disappointing experience, except for view and friend’s company.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Kathryn Blackwell , Other at Shangri-La Sydney
Responded 21 Aug 2022
Good afternoon, Shangri-La Sydney sincerely appreciates you taking the time to share your perspective and feedback. I am so sorry to hear your High Tea experience did not meet expectations. Please be rest assured the points you have raised will be addressed internally. If you would like to discuss this further, please do not hesitate to contact me directly via email sagar.pore@shangri-la.com. Kind regards, Sagar Pore Director of Food & Beverage Shangri-La Sydney
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sunny wrote a review Aug 2022
18 contributions1 helpful vote
Worst check in experience ever. We booked through amex fine hotels. Arrived at 5:30pm, the room was not ready! We were asked to wait for another 30 minutes. Unbelievable! After travelled for a long day, kids were tired and crappy. This just added more stress to us!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Kathryn Blackwell , Other at Shangri-La Sydney
Responded 14 Aug 2022
Good morning Sunny, Shangri-La Sydney sincerely appreciates you taking the time to share your feedback and thank you for bringing your experience to our attention. I am sorry to hear the service provided did not meet expectations. Kindly note that we have made a point of addressing the issues you have raised and do hope you will give us another opportunity to restore your confidence in our hotel in future. For anything further, you may like to contact me directly at kathryn.blackwell@shangri-la.com. Kind regards, Kathryn Blackwell Director of Operations Shangri-La Sydney
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$212 - US$314 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
shangri la sydney, shangri la hotel sydney
LOCATION
AustraliaNew South WalesSydneyThe Rocks
NUMBER OF ROOMS
563
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Shangri-La Sydney
Which popular attractions are close to Shangri-La Sydney?
Nearby attractions include Sydney Pub Tours (0.5 km), Dave's Pub Walks (0.4 km), and ATTY Gallery (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Shangri-La Sydney?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, a rooftop bar, and free wifi.
Which room amenities are available at Shangri-La Sydney?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Shangri-La Sydney?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Shangri-La Sydney?
Yes, paid private parking on-site, paid private parking nearby, and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Shangri-La Sydney?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Grand Pavilion, La Renaissance Patisserie (The Rocks), and Fish At The Rocks.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Shangri-La Sydney?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Shangri-La Sydney have airport transportation?
Yes, Shangri-La Sydney offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Shangri-La Sydney?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Shangri-La Sydney offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.