We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

DeVere Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
DeVere Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

489 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 409: English reviews
North Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed at the Devere Hotel from January 25th to 28th this year and were very happy with the service and location of the hotel. The train station is walking distance from the hotel and there are lots of restaurants in the area. The breakfast that was included with our room rate was also very good. The front desk staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shams74
Oslo, Norway
Reviewed 1 week ago

At first the hotel seemed fair enough: Great location. Friendly staff. Thick soft towels. When rates are reasonable I'm normally willing to accept dated interior/furniture, a noisy old A/C and bad water pressure. However, the stained, smelly carpets and last but not least the cockroaches that came to visit my room on my last night here make me wish I'd...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gunnar N
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The staff was uninformed on their promotions. The person who set up the promotion refused to honor the certificate for thr price I was given and then proceeded to argue with me. Refused to let me speak to a manager or owner. Horrible customer service.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mica S
valvidal, Director of Sales at DeVere Hotel, responded to this review

...we were trying to explain to her that our contract with the company she bought the voucher from has expired 2years ago and was not renewed. We understand she couldn't get it. so recommended to her to call the company she got the voucher from and they will explain to her. but she wouldn't listen. We were explaining not arguing....

staffordshire
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We booked this hotel through an information booth in Sydney last minute, they showed us pictures and the price was good, so we booked.. and when we turned up we were very shocked! Nothing like the photos that we had seen on the website. Instead we had a very outdated, grotty, cheap dismal room.... I asked to leave but unfortunately...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank hauntedkez2905
Greater Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 17 January 2017

Good value budget accommodation, great staff and clean budget room with private ensuite. Can't go wrong if you need a basic private room, great deal and cheap breakfast offer also. Not just backpacker territory, its in the heart of Potts Point, so many beautiful homes, great cafes and restaurants, parks, pubs and harbour down the hill.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CharlieandVic
Sao Paulo, SP
Reviewed 8 January 2017

We stayed at DeVere Hotel for 02 nights and it was awesome ! The staff went out of their way to assist us, always with a good smile. The room is very comfortable and has everything a guest need. The wifi internet was great. Teh location was great close to bars and restaurants. Next time we go to Sydney we...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank San_Fior
Wickenburg, Arizona
Reviewed 19 December 2016 via mobile

Spent a week at this hotel. Rates are reasonable for being in a tourist trap. Location isn't bad, close to a train stop - Kings Cross. Staff was friendly, helped me with directions and suggested places to eat. Wifi was good and fast. My room was small, being by myself I didn't mind. It is located in backpacker country, if...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank a_krrr
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 3 December 2016

Have stayed in this hotel many times, always in a single room [with a view].. The room is quite small but for the price reasonable. A coat of paint and a new carpet would make a lot of difference. WiFi was free. I enjoy walking to Circular Quay through the Botanical Gardens and takes about 30 minutes. Kings Cross station...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Dingo828
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 2 December 2016

Stayed twice in the last fortnight in a front balcony room. Staff were friendly and helpful especially with an early check in for the second stay.The rooms are dated but were spacious and very clean with a great shower and lovely thick towels.Really loved the location and sitting on the balcony watching the locals going about their lives.Very convenient to...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank bernadel89
england
Reviewed 30 November 2016 via mobile

As other reviews state the Hotel is a bit dated but clean and tidy,staff were very friendly and helpful at all times.Breakfast was fine and efficient.it is situated just out of the noisy area and as a bonus we had a balcony at the front.Only downside no free wifi...tut tut time to get into the 21st.century

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank probb

161 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (144)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (32)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (73)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Song Hotel Sydney
Song Hotel Sydney
#100 of 179 in Sydney
1,600 reviews
Y Hotel City South
#113 of 179 in Sydney
301 reviews
Darlinghurst
Ibis budget Sydney East
Ibis budget Sydney East
#123 of 179 in Sydney
617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Darlinghurst
Kirketon Hotel
Kirketon Hotel
#132 of 179 in Sydney
142 reviews
Chinatown
Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels
Darlinghurst
Darlo Bar Darlinghurst
Darlo Bar Darlinghurst
#128 of 179 in Sydney
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Attractive 5-story Hotel located 500 meters from Kings Cross Station, within walking distance of shops, restaurants & nightclubs. ... more   less 

Additional Information about DeVere Hotel

Address: 44 - 46 Macleay St | Potts Point, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Price Range: RM383 - RM1,034 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DeVere Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your DeVere Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Devere Hotel Sydney
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from DeVere Hotel staff and other travellers.
15 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (15)

Questions? Get answers from DeVere Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't stay here simple! And don't book through a third party”
 of 5 bubbles hauntedkez2905, 26 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for the kind of room you may prefer. Kings Cross can be noisy. Plenty of quiet rooms though often available”
 of 5 bubbles jOnathOn49_19, 25 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Go for a room away from the road side if you are easily disturbed by noise”
 of 5 bubbles rossjgoodman, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“A microwave would very handy”
 of 5 bubbles catherinedA4154FZ, 21 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Don't book via Booking .com, it seems you pay considerably more. There are rooms with opening windows, ask for one.”
 of 5 bubbles malcolmwhittle10, 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5