We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Oaks Hyde Park Plaza

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Oaks Hyde Park Plaza
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

792 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 761: English reviews
Start your review of Oaks Hyde Park Plaza
 Click to rate
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Stayed 3 nights in March. The room was spacious and comfortable. Location excellent for business trip and very close to station. Staff helpful and friendly. I'd recommend Oaks for both holiday or business.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank yvonnec82
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

What a disappointing experience. Tired and tatty worn furniture, patched up walls, dirty windows and a seriously unsafe power fitting in the bathroom which would not pass safety standards. We won't be returning

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John C
Asif A, Manager at Oaks Hyde Park Plaza, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay. We are disappointed to hear of the issues encountered in your room and are working with Maintenance to improve the situation. Our friendly and professional front desk are available 24 hours and are happy to assist guests if ever there are any issues. We hope to have the opportunity to...

Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

We booked using the Entertainment Book website and got a great deal on our accommodation. Older style apartment (as advertised) could do with updating but perfectly adequate. Very central and close to the train (which runs straight from the airport and through to Circular Quay) and main bus routes. Friendly staff. Would happily stay there again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amy J
Asif A, Manager at Oaks Hyde Park Plaza, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our property and share your experience with future travellers and guests. We are delighted to hear that you found our facilities suitable for your stay whilst in Sydney. We look forward to welcoming you back to our property. Kind Regards,

Lyttelton, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here for Mardi Gras weekend so the hotel was busy. The location of the hotel is great - centrally located for shopping, entertainment, Hyde Park and Oxford Street. Check in was efficient and friendly, the room, on the top floor, was reasonably spacious and had a large verandah/deck and great views. Fixtures and fittings were dated, and maintenance...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank frankiethe
Asif A, Manager at Oaks Hyde Park Plaza, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We appreciate your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We are currently working on having all room refurbished. This is a lengthy process and we hope to have this completed in the near future. We thank you for choosing Oaks hotels and Resorts and welcome you to...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Friendly and helpful staff. Excellent location When fridge was broken in original room - they moved me to a better room straight away. Good bed and pillows. Very clean I will be staying here again for sure

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank olivia_sophie_haine
Asif A, Front Office Manager at Oaks Hyde Park Plaza, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. It is delightful to know that you had enjoyed your stay at Oaks Hyde Park Plaza and found the location of our property to be desirable for your needs in Sydney. I'm happy to hear the staff were helpful and able to assist you when required. We look forward to welcoming you back...

Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed in a privately owned apartment in this complex. I can confidently say it's the WORST hotel I have ever stayed in. The reception stank, the rooms looked nothing like what was advertised. It was dirty and I would not wish it on my worst enemy. The pictures I have attached sum it up. The state of the room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank caggapop
Asif A, Front Office Manager at Oaks Hyde Park Plaza, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback. As you have mentioned in your post, you booked and stayed in a private apartment managed by Inna which is separate to the apartments managed by Oaks. In relation to the smell in the lobby, we have found a permanent solution to this and the issue has since been rectified. Please book directly...

Zwolle, The Netherlands
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The location is great but other than that way overpriced! Rooms could do with some refurbishing, shower is terrible (very little water pressure and hard to manage water temperature), there's a not so nice smell coming from the toilet constantly and to top it off we found a cockroach in our bed one of the nights. Won't be coming back...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TravelGirlLovingAus
Asif A, Manager at Oaks Hyde Park Plaza, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your valuable feedback. We are currently working on refurbishing all of our rooms. This is a lengthy process as there are few permissions we must pass in order for this to happen. We are hoping this will be completed in the near future. Our front office staff are quick to resolve any issues as best...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We always stay in this accommodation when in Sydney and it just gets better each stay. However, I did note a rather unpleasent smell in reception as another guest has mentioned and there is considerable difference in quality between rooms. We always stay in a refurbished studio overlooking Hyde Park and thoroughly enjoy our stay. However, these rooms do experience...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Greg072
Asif A, Manager at Oaks Hyde Park Plaza, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing Oaks Hotels and Resorts. We are delighted to hear that your expectations are met every time you stay at our property. It is our pleasure to make your stay as comfortable as possible. We look forward to having you stay with us again on your next trip to Sydney. Best Regards,

Zhaoqing, China
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Thai owned apartments. Old but good apartment. location is good.is only a 2 min walk to william st. 5mins to kings cross an 3mins to pitt street. staff were helpful, they do have a tourist office but unfortunately they only deal with Thai tourists. That was not good. So we had to go down to book.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Derikasan
Asif A, Front Office Manager at Oaks Hyde Park Plaza, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your post. I believe there is a slight misunderstanding as the Thai business office located in the building is an education centre and not a tourist office however reception staff are always happy to assist with any tour bookings for guests. Kind Regards,

Berlin, Germany
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Nice apartment, clean, good beds, the livingroom and kitchen was big. We cooked a couple of times and could have used a few more pots and pans. Nice to have the diswasher and good that the hotel supplied the taps. The cleaning ladies did not do our apartment everyday and after one Week I think they should have hoovered the...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank flemmingm551
Asif A, Front Office Manager at Oaks Hyde Park Plaza, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Oaks Hyde Park Plaza. Overall I am glad you had enjoyed the apartment and made use of the facilities within the apartment. I wish to advise that there are different rate packages when booking online and some of these packages do not include housekeeping servicing. I hope...

327 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (284)
Viewed
Bathroom (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (67)
Viewed
View from Room (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (14)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Other (134)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (43)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (27)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Oaks on Castlereagh
#72 of 179 in Sydney
586 reviews
Darlinghurst
Pullman Sydney Hyde Park
Surry Hills
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Stellar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Hyde Park Inn
Hyde Park Inn
#46 of 179 in Sydney
971 reviews
Central Business District
Song Hotel Sydney
Song Hotel Sydney
#101 of 179 in Sydney
1,640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Darlinghurst

Neighbourhood Profile
Darlinghurst
Home of the small bar revolution in Sydney, Darlinghurst has more bars per capita than any other suburb. Themes range from American whiskey bars and 1950’s theme bars to hidden bars requiring secret passwords. Oxford Street is the "Gay Capital" of Australia, where gay and lesbian-friendly venues feature “diva shows” and dancing until the morning. Vintage lovers flock to Crown Street, and small designer boutiques can be found along Victoria and Bourke Streets. Dining in Darlinghurst is a gastronomic adventure. Food from all over the world is on the menu, from American ribs to tapas, sushi to gelato and every ethnicity in between.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Paid Internet
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Oaks Hyde Park Plaza is located right in the heart of Sydney's CBD. Offering accommodation with views across Hyde Park to the city, this hotel is the perfect location for all travellers. The spacious 1 and 2 bedroom apartments, some with inter-connecting rooms, have separate lounge and dining areas and fully equipped kitchens. Studio suites have tea and coffee making facilities. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Oaks Hyde Park Plaza

Address: 38 College St | 38 College Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Darlinghurst
Price Range: RM527 - RM1,267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Oaks Hyde Park Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Oaks Hyde Park Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks Hyde Park Plaza Hotel Sydney
Park Plaza Oaks Hyde
Hyde Park Plaza Sydney
Sydney Park Plaza
Park Plaza Sydney
Hotel Style:
#82 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Oaks Hyde Park Plaza staff and other travellers.
14 questions
Ask a question
10 months ago

See all questions (14)

Questions? Get answers from Oaks Hyde Park Plaza staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Try a room on the eastern side for a more quiet stay.”
 of 5 bubbles maryW1053UK, 21 Feb 2017 | Read review
“You could ask for a room overlooking the park or for one overlooking Oxford Street...both aspects have great views.”
 of 5 bubbles katec477, 30 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Rooms facing Oxford & College Streets receive a lot of traffic noise.”
 of 5 bubbles Harmil_12, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Do not stay here unless you like bad smells, noise and a good location”
 of 5 bubbles mkno8759, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“maybe put some pressure on for room with balcony or facing park”
 of 5 bubbles tepazu, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5