We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The York by Swiss-Belhotel

Show Prices
#35 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
The York by Swiss-Belhotel
The York by Swiss-Belhotel
Panoramas (35)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

863 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The York by Swiss-Belhotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 804: English reviews
Kuala Lumpur
Reviewed 23 September 2015

A pleasant stay ! Me and my husband stayed in Deluxe studio for a week during our honeymoon trip to Sydney, Overall, The apartments are clean,new and very spacious with separate dining, kitchen, lounge, bathroom with laundry facilities . Room cleaning serviced daily. Unfortunately,our room faced office block and main road so it was a bit noisy but it is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hazelho
TheYorkSydney, Guest Relations Manager at The York by Swiss-Belhotel, responded to this review

Dear Hazelho, We appreciate you taking some time to rate our hotel. Our location is superb, which you have experienced. The amount of time saved can make the day much more interesting! We hope you had a wonderful honeymoon stay with us, we are glad to have been part of it, looking forward to your next visit in Sydney!

Wakefield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 September 2015

This hotel is very central to everything you want to do in sydney. It very near to the rocks area and the habour bridge and opera house. We had a suite very large and airy on the 18th floor good views from the balcony too. There is a coffee shop just across the road for breakfast too.we found all the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lindaives
TheYorkSydney, Guest Relations Manager at The York by Swiss-Belhotel, responded to this review

Dear lindaives, Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. Our apartments have plenty of space, which fits well for families and friends gathering for a holiday or time off. And our location is one of our best features, takes no time to travel to local landmarks, which gives more time to spend at the destination!...

Townsville, Australia
Reviewed 15 September 2015

Stayed in studio room which was clean and good size for a couple.Kitchen with microwave and cooktop for those who want to cook.Washing machine and dryer in bathroom which is a good size.Hotel is located is a great location, close to the Rocks, Circular Quay and CBD.Staff were very helpful and friendly.We booked some months ago and got great value...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank fishophill
TheYorkSydney, Guest Relations Manager at The York by Swiss-Belhotel, responded to this review

Dear fishophill, Thank you for taking your time in reviewing our hotel! Our location is our key attraction, being so convenient to the Sydney icons is definitely a plus for anyone. Hoping you enjoyed your stay with us, and looking forward to your next visit!

Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Reviewed 15 September 2015

loved our stay at The York. Two of us were in a Delux studio apartment and three in a two bedroom apartment (a non requested upgrade from a one bedroom). Both were very spacious, clean and appealing. The staff were very helpful and couldn't have been nicer. Close to the Rocks/Quay area, a good start point for just about anywhere...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Cia M
TheYorkSydney, Guest Relations Manager at The York by Swiss-Belhotel, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your feedback following your recent experience at The York by Swiss-Belhotel. We are appreciative of your comments and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Beach Haven
Reviewed 13 September 2015

Stayed in a two bedroom apartment which was basically clean and tidy but all three beds would have to be the worst hotel beds ever! DO NOT TAKE THE AIRPORT SHUTTLE THAT THE CONCIERGE BOOKS. We ordered this which is openly advertised as $45 for a shuttle to the airport. the shuttle arrived on time and it was pretty grotty....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Brenda C
TheYorkSydney, Guest Relations Manager at The York by Swiss-Belhotel, responded to this review

We appreciate the time you have taken to share your feedback online. Service is certainly an integral element of any experience and we are disappointed we have failed to meet your expectations on this occasion. Please rest assured your comments have been addressed with the wider management team regarding your transport issues. We place great importance on training and developing...

Tauranga, New Zealand
Reviewed 10 September 2015

A great location in the heart of the city, close to all transport links and even a supermarket on your doorstep. We stayed in an un-refurbished studio unit. It had everything we needed, a full kitchen and laundry. The decor was a bit tired and the bathroom could do with a refit, but it was what we expected, so we're...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Trish B
TheYorkSydney, Guest Relations Manager at The York by Swiss-Belhotel, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay at The York by Swiss-Belhotel and for sharing your comments. We are delighted to read about your enjoyable experience with us. Thank you for your recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 6 September 2015

Our arrival at this hotel was very welcoming and the location is excellent. The apartments are quite dated, I almost felt like I was stepping into the 70's, however, still very comfortable. The apartments are clean and very spacious with separate dining, kitchen, lounge, bathroom (full bath) and bedroom areas complimented with a private balcony. The bed was really comfortable...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 105Tracey
TheYorkSydney, Guest Relations Manager at The York by Swiss-Belhotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to review our property. Our apartments are categorized in Deluxe and Standard types, but we are in the speedy process of upgrading our apartments to increase our quantity of Deluxe rooms. Looking forward to your next stay!

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 2 September 2015

Even the Executive rooms are a little worn in some respects, but this has to be traded off against the location (which is fantastic), the balcony (a rarity these days) and the very practical manner in which our room was equipped - very functional, comfortable and practical - including the 2000 watt hair dryer (untethered and easy to use because...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Haz2013
TheYorkSydney, Guest Relations Manager at The York by Swiss-Belhotel, responded to this review

Dear Haz2013, Thank you for your rating of our hotel. Our apartments are definitely a home away from home, equipped with necessary needs you would require on a daily basis. We appreciate your feedback regarding the apartment status, we are gradually improving the apartments to create a more comfortable and relaxing atmosphere for our guests. We look forward to your...

Cupertino, California
Reviewed 2 September 2015

We have just spent four nights at this apartment, this is a nice apartment for short and long term stay in a ver central location. It is our first ever visit to Australia, we could have find a better place to star our trip. Location: it is at the corner of York and Jamieson, 10 minutes walk to The Rocks,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eva L
TheYorkSydney, Guest Relations Manager at The York by Swiss-Belhotel, responded to this review

Dear Eva L, Thank you for a detailed review of our hotel. We are glad to hear you made excellent use of our convenient location. It gives you more hours of the day to do other exciting things! Our check-out time is at 10:30am, if there was an available room type the same as your own booking I am confident...

Western Australia, Australia
Reviewed 31 August 2015

We recently stayed here for 4 nights, and were very satisfied with the apartment. The apartment was well appointed ,- with a well equipped kitchen , roomy bedroom, bathroom (with clothes washer and dryer) and lounge/dining. It's ideally located at the start of York street, just a few minutes walk down to Circular Key, and the Rocks and along to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Two-Grey-Gypsies
TheYorkSydney, Guest Relations Manager at The York by Swiss-Belhotel, responded to this review

Dear Two-Grey-Gypsies, Thank you for your review and public recommendation for our property. Our location is a star point for tourists and leisure guests, walking distance to most popular areas. For future reference, our parking is available on-site and secure, cost is $30.00 per night, which is on the cheaper end of the scale for most hotels in the Sydney...

620 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (354)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (117)
Viewed
View from Room (48)
Viewed
Bathroom (22)
Viewed
Dining (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (24)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (105)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (237)
Viewed
Amenities (18)
Viewed
Deluxe Studio Apartment (54)
Viewed
Other (106)
Viewed
Pool and Jacuzzi (24)
Viewed
The Hotel (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Mantra 2 Bond Street
Mantra 2 Bond Street
#68 of 178 in Sydney
1,709 reviews
Central Business District
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney
Central Business District
The Grace Hotel Sydney
The Grace Hotel Sydney
#19 of 178 in Sydney
4,917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#21 of 178 in Sydney
1,201 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Harbourside
The Rocks
The Russell Hotel
The Russell Hotel
#34 of 178 in Sydney
841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Central Business District

Neighbourhood Profile
Central Business District
The Sydney Central Business District is abuzz with energy. Power brokers run to and from high rise buildings and after-work drink places, high-end shoppers tour venues like the QVB, and fine diners frequent the many celebrity chef restaurants. For a dose of culture, walk to the NSW Art Gallery, or visit the Sydney Museum. To escape the hustle and bustle, reconnect with nature at the Sydney Botanical Gardens or picnic lunch at High Park. No matter your interest, be sure to check the full calendar of events hosted by the city, from the Sydney Festival in January to October’s Good Food Month at Hyde Park.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The York by Swiss-Belhotel is located in the heart of the CBD offering a combination of Studio 1 and 2 Bedroom Apartments. Each apartment offers a spacious living area, fully equipped kitchen, 1 or 2 bathrooms, laundry facilities and balconies. Most apartments have views that extend to the City SkyLine, and the Executive Apartments overlook Sydney Harbour Foreshore*.*Views are not uninterrupted ... more   less 

Additional Information about The York by Swiss-Belhotel

Address: 5 York St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Price Range: RM739 - RM1,663 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The York by Swiss-Belhotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your The York by Swiss-Belhotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The York By Swiss-Belhotel Hotel Sydney
York Apartment Hotel
York Apartment Sydney
Apartment Hotel New York
Hotel Style:
#34 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The York by Swiss-Belhotel staff and other travellers.
30 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (30)

Questions? Get answers from The York by Swiss-Belhotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We needed a 3 bedroom apartment which was on the top level. Was a real find.”
 of 5 bubbles 433clairet, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
“A fantastic place to stay.”
 of 5 bubbles dragonavitch, 12 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for higher floor to avoid street noise.”
 of 5 bubbles 484sunshine, 5 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Renovated rooms are really nice or select un-renovated rooms for a lower price.”
 of 5 bubbles 770phillipk, 26 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Deluxe rooms have been refurbished”
 of 5 bubbles rccassilles, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay