We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The York by Swiss-Belhotel

Show Prices
#38 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The York by Swiss-Belhotel
The York by Swiss-Belhotel
Panoramas (35)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

882 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The York by Swiss-Belhotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 821: English reviews
Traralgon, Australia
Reviewed 1 October 2015 via mobile

I am really impressed. Right next to the rocks, circular quay, darling harbour and cbd. 2 bedroom apartment lovely. Awesome views. Great housekeeping. Memorable stay. Quiet enough considering the location. Really comfy beds and pillows.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AlltheMcKees
TheYorkSydney, Guest Relations Manager at The York by Swiss-Belhotel, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time to share your positive experience at The York by Swiss-Belhotel. I am very pleased that you had such an enjoyable stay and I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 30 September 2015

Our family of 5 stayed at the York - fantastic location, few minutes walk to the harbour. And so spacious - plenty of room for all of us, with a balcony that gave us a small view of the harbour. Great service - you are not far from the harbour bridge, so with the balcony doors open, it can be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kazza314
TheYorkSydney, Guest Relations Manager at The York by Swiss-Belhotel, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience at The York by Swiss-Belhotel. I am very pleased that the location was desirable for your needs while in Sydney. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 28 September 2015

Excellent central location within walking distance to the main attractions of Sydney. We stayed in an un refurbished studio on the 4th floor, yes some amenities were a little tired but they were obviously being gradually replaced. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful. Great value accomodation, would definite stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Trish M
TheYorkSydney, Guest Relations Manager at The York by Swiss-Belhotel, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your post. I am very pleased to hear that you found the location to be so convenient. I hope that the next time you are in Sydney you have the opportunity of experiencing one of our new Swiss Super Suites. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Surfers Paradise, Australia
Reviewed 26 September 2015

Hotel is in a good location as it is 5 min walk to Wynyard station and 10-15mins to the Rocks, Darling Harbour and Pitt street. It was nice to have an apartment with sepeart lounge and bedroom but more care needs to be taken with cleaning. I understand there are a lot of apartments to clean but I was there...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SunTan12
TheYorkSydney, Guest Relations Manager at The York by Swiss-Belhotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your experience at The York by Swiss-Belhotel. We were disappointed to learn of your experience at our hotel as we place great importance on exceeding our guest’s expectations, and value your constructive feedback. I would like to express my sincere apologies that we failed to provide you with the...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 25 September 2015

Review collected in partnership with Amoma.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank O5019GLroberth
TheYorkSydney, Guest Relations Manager at The York by Swiss-Belhotel, responded to this review

Tehran, Iran
Reviewed 25 September 2015

we as a family stayed at this hotel for four nights with a very nice experience at 28th floor with a very beautiful view, comfortable and big apartment, nice balcony, furnitures, kitchen facilities and briefly all you need to stay for a short time. the location is perfect and all interesting places in CBD are easily reachable by walk! highly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fakhimi
TheYorkSydney, Guest Relations Manager at The York by Swiss-Belhotel, responded to this review

Dear Fakhimi, Thank you for rating our hotel and publicly recommending us! We hope you and your family have a wonderful memory of Sydney staying at The York by Swiss-Belhotel, we look forward to welcoming you back again when you do visit!

Newcastle, Australia
Reviewed 23 September 2015

Property is in a great location; very close to all Sydney's major tourist attractions. Not 5 star accommodation but very good value for money. We stayed in a studio apartment which was very roomy and had everything needed for an extended stay. Well appointed kitchen and laundry, Cheap parking for Sydney as well. Staff were very friendly and helpful. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mozz012014
TheYorkSydney, Guest Relations Manager at The York by Swiss-Belhotel, responded to this review

Dear Mozz012014, Thank you for taking time on reviewing our hotel! Our serviced apartments feel like a home away from home, consisting of majority of the necessary household items you would require on a daily basis. We hope you enjoyed the concert you planned and ofcourse your stay with us, look forward to your next stay with us!

Kuala Lumpur
Reviewed 23 September 2015

A pleasant stay ! Me and my husband stayed in Deluxe studio for a week during our honeymoon trip to Sydney, Overall, The apartments are clean,new and very spacious with separate dining, kitchen, lounge, bathroom with laundry facilities . Room cleaning serviced daily. Unfortunately,our room faced office block and main road so it was a bit noisy but it is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hazelho
TheYorkSydney, Guest Relations Manager at The York by Swiss-Belhotel, responded to this review

Dear Hazelho, We appreciate you taking some time to rate our hotel. Our location is superb, which you have experienced. The amount of time saved can make the day much more interesting! We hope you had a wonderful honeymoon stay with us, we are glad to have been part of it, looking forward to your next visit in Sydney!

Wakefield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 September 2015

This hotel is very central to everything you want to do in sydney. It very near to the rocks area and the habour bridge and opera house. We had a suite very large and airy on the 18th floor good views from the balcony too. There is a coffee shop just across the road for breakfast too.we found all the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lindaives
TheYorkSydney, Guest Relations Manager at The York by Swiss-Belhotel, responded to this review

Dear lindaives, Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. Our apartments have plenty of space, which fits well for families and friends gathering for a holiday or time off. And our location is one of our best features, takes no time to travel to local landmarks, which gives more time to spend at the destination!...

Townsville, Australia
Reviewed 15 September 2015

Stayed in studio room which was clean and good size for a couple.Kitchen with microwave and cooktop for those who want to cook.Washing machine and dryer in bathroom which is a good size.Hotel is located is a great location, close to the Rocks, Circular Quay and CBD.Staff were very helpful and friendly.We booked some months ago and got great value...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank fishophill
TheYorkSydney, Guest Relations Manager at The York by Swiss-Belhotel, responded to this review

Dear fishophill, Thank you for taking your time in reviewing our hotel! Our location is our key attraction, being so convenient to the Sydney icons is definitely a plus for anyone. Hoping you enjoyed your stay with us, and looking forward to your next visit!

631 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (365)
Viewed
Bathroom (23)
Viewed
Room/Suite (120)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (11)
Viewed
View from Room (48)
Viewed
Dining (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (24)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (112)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (237)
Viewed
Amenities (18)
Viewed
Deluxe Studio Apartment (54)
Viewed
Deluxe Two Bedroom Executive Apartment (106)
Viewed
Pool and Jacuzzi (24)
Viewed
The Hotel (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Mantra 2 Bond Street
Mantra 2 Bond Street
#67 of 179 in Sydney
1,886 reviews
Central Business District
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#23 of 179 in Sydney
1,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Tank Stream Hotel
The Tank Stream Hotel
#45 of 179 in Sydney
598 reviews
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Darling Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Central Business District

Neighbourhood Profile
Central Business District
The Sydney Central Business District is abuzz with energy. Power brokers run to and from high rise buildings and after-work drink places, high-end shoppers tour venues like the QVB, and fine diners frequent the many celebrity chef restaurants. For a dose of culture, walk to the NSW Art Gallery, or visit the Sydney Museum. To escape the hustle and bustle, reconnect with nature at the Sydney Botanical Gardens or picnic lunch at High Park. No matter your interest, be sure to check the full calendar of events hosted by the city, from the Sydney Festival in January to October’s Good Food Month at Hyde Park.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The York by Swiss-Belhotel is located in the heart of the CBD offering a combination of Studio 1 and 2 Bedroom Apartments. Each apartment offers a spacious living area, fully equipped kitchen, 1 or 2 bathrooms, laundry facilities and balconies. Most apartments have views that extend to the City SkyLine, and the Executive Apartments overlook Sydney Harbour Foreshore*.*Views are not uninterrupted ... more   less 

Additional Information about The York by Swiss-Belhotel

Address: 5 York St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Price Range: RM762 - RM1,566 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The York by Swiss-Belhotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your The York by Swiss-Belhotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The York By Swiss-Belhotel Hotel Sydney
York Apartment Hotel
York Apartment Sydney
Apartment Hotel New York
Hotel Style:
#37 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The York by Swiss-Belhotel staff and other travellers.
31 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (31)

Questions? Get answers from The York by Swiss-Belhotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“corner suits have two balconies and a fab view”
 of 5 bubbles helen_greig, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Check your bed first”
 of 5 bubbles 695dond, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We were on the ninth floor. A bit noisy with the early morning traffic”
 of 5 bubbles HappyH805, 17 Feb 2017 | Read review
“High up facing Jamison Street”
 of 5 bubbles Maxim3m, 2 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We needed a 3 bedroom apartment which was on the top level. Was a real find.”
 of 5 bubbles 433clairet, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5