We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Ovolo Woolloomooloo

Show Prices
#2 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Ovolo Woolloomooloo
Ovolo Woolloomooloo
Panoramas (16)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

833 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 802: English reviews
Perth, Australia
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This is the second Ovolo hotel we have experienced and it certainly has lived up to our expectations. This is our favourite location in Sydney and we have indeed stayed at this property when it was under previous ownership and it has certainly only got much better. The accommodation at this boutique hotel is funky luxurious and the service is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Beamer23
Adam T, General Manager at Ovolo Woolloomooloo, responded to this review

Dear Beamer, Thanks so much for the kind words pertaining to your recent, and second, Ovolo experience. We really appreciate the kind words and recommendation you have made to other fellow travelers. I hope to see you again soon. Take care, Adam

Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Great stay with a workable distance from Sydney Harbour. Loft suite worked well to separate younger family members, but lighter rooms in terms of no blackout blinds may need to be considered. Pool was a welcome retreat as was very sociable happy hour. Restaurants leading off from hotel lobby need to be given serious consideration as they are expensive and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Edwina H
Adam T, General Manager at Ovolo Woolloomooloo, responded to this review

Dear Edwina, Thank you for your most lovely review of your recent stay and endorsement of us as a top Sydney hotel. It is always lovely to hear this type of feedback from our valued guests. I will be sure to share this with the team. I do hope to see you again soon. Sincerely, Adam

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

It's not often a hotel in Austrlalia meets expectations, little surpasses them. The Ovollo exceeded my expectation, even after getting excited reading their website. Staff were welcoming and their natural desire to make the experience amazing shone through. I have booked another stay already and am even more excited now I know what's coming.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank melissaj0hns0n
Adam T, General Manager at Ovolo Woolloomooloo, responded to this review

Dear Melissa, It is always hard to meet and exceed expectations when they are set so high to begin with. All I can say is 'phew'! As you can tell by the majority of reviews here, we do aim to impress all of our guests. Sometimes what you aim for though is not what is always delivered. I am grateful...

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This is the best part of Sydney to stay in and the hotel has a fresh young approach. Avoid Darling Harbour and stay here in the warehouse European style hotel right on the wharf where an amazing array of restaurants are. Easy walk up to Potts Point. Good quality all round.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Torsum
Adam T, General Manager at Ovolo Woolloomooloo, responded to this review

Dear Torsum, Thank you so much for the review and endorsement of our little hotel. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to do so. I hope that we are able to welcome you back again soon. Sincerely, Adam

Collingwood, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago

From the moment you walk in you are hit with a fun vibe! The hotel is unusual and a welcome change from the other high end hotels. Bianca at reception was especially helpful and patient while sorting out our room. Juan and the Brazilians at the bar were tons of fun!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank anniM129
Adam T, General Manager at Ovolo Woolloomooloo, responded to this review

Dear Anni, Thanks so much for your fantastic review. I am so glad that you had such a fun fab time with us and that Bianca really looked after you. I am also pleased you had some fun with our fun and flirty Brazilian boys at the bar! I hope to see you again soon. Adam

Reviewed 1 week ago

From the moment you arrive and see the grand old building on the wharf, the porters dressed like golf caddy’s and an entrance which has trees lit up you realise that this isn’t going to be your average hotel. The most surprising thing with the hotel except its funky décor and colour scheme is how effortless it all is, walking...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark N
Adam T, General Manager at Ovolo Woolloomooloo, responded to this review

Dear Mark, What on earth could I possibly add to that?? Thank you so much for making the great effort to so thoroughly review your Ovolo experience and share it with the world. I do hope to see you again in the not too distant future. Sincerely, Adam

Dayton, Ohio
Reviewed 1 week ago

I chose this hotel based on the great reviews here, and boy was I disappointed. I will list my complaints in chronological order: 1. I was not given the room I booked. I booked a Deluxaroo King room but was given a Loft room. While the hotel viewed this as an “upgrade”, I specifically did NOT want the Loft room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eric O
Adam T, General Manager at Ovolo Woolloomooloo, responded to this review

Dear Eric, I am deeply sorry and really embarrassed for the less-than-ideal experience you had with us recently. I accept that we could have done a few things better throughout the duration of your stay. We do indeed respond to every survey, just as I personally respond to every review on this site. My Operations manager did call and left...

Ottawa, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago

Trendy, funky hotel. Make sure to Book direct on their website, get extra special room, breakfast, open bar at happy hour. Free Retro video games, free lollies, mini bar included. Great restaurants nearby. Very friendly staff. Clean and quiet. Easy access to public transit.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank toffat9
Adam T, General Manager at Ovolo Woolloomooloo, responded to this review

Dear Toffat, Thanks so much for your great feedback on your fun stay here with us at Ovolo Woolloomooloo. I am so pleased to hear that Ovolo is right for you! Now you are part of the family, I do hope that we will see you again soon. Take care, Adam

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Incredible stay, best hotel I've ever stayed at in Sydney. Great location, free wi-fi, happy hour, bike hire, mini bar and 24/7 pool. Highly recommend to anyone. Truly a must have experience if you're in Sydney.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Claire E
Adam T, General Manager at Ovolo Woolloomooloo, responded to this review

Dear Claire, Thank you for the awesome feedback and the hand claps (really not sure how you did those)! That is a great honour to be named your favourite hotel in Sydney, we appreciate the high accolade :) I hope we see you more often whenever life brings you back to Sydney. Sincerely, Adam

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

It was the afternoon after Melbourne Cup and the Wharf was buzzing, lots of people finishing off long lunches and my group was drawn into the Ovolo Hotel for a cocktail at the Lo Lounge. The surrounds are stunning but the bar service appalling. When we arrived I wondered why there wasn't anyone there ... well soon found out. There...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KimnLexi
Adam T, General Manager at Ovolo Woolloomooloo, responded to this review

Dear Kim, Thanks for the feedback. Clearly that type of experience is one we like to hear nor that we try so hard to NOT deliver on a daily basis. From the information given, I am going to assume this was the period prior to 5pm when the bar actually opens. I am only going to assume, but from your...

704 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (361)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (55)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (67)
Viewed
View from Room (17)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (174)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (314)
Viewed
Amenities (6)
Viewed
Cityvoo King Room (30)
Viewed
Cityvoo Loft (41)
Viewed
Cityvoo Two Double Room (38)
Viewed
Deluxaroo King Room (39)
Viewed
Deluxaroo Loft (46)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
The Hotel (45)
Viewed
Ultravoo Room (55)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
City West
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Surry Hills
ADGE Apartment Hotel
ADGE Apartment Hotel
#1 of 179 in Sydney
679 reviews
The Rocks
Park Hyatt Sydney
Park Hyatt Sydney
#3 of 179 in Sydney
2,079 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
Pullman Quay Grand Sydney Harbour
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#27 of 179 in Sydney
3,811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Location, space, views – have it all when you stay at Ovolo Woolloomooloo. Stretched along the longest timber-piled wharf in the world, the hotel is situated over the picturesque Sydney Harbour on the outskirts of Sydney CBD. A boutique hotel, bar and event center, Ovolo Woolloomooloo bridges between history and modern luxury. The architectural design of this heritage listed property is a truly breathtaking sight with its stunning French windows neatly placed in rows along the building, stylishly framed by the signature teal coloring. As you enter the hotel, contemporary design elements and furnishings complement original fixtures of the property, with seamless integration of the Ovolo touch – all the little things that make effortless living a reality for the modern, tech-savvy traveler. Journey through the 100 rooms and suites and you’ll find that each one tells a uniquely Australian story, portrayed through a series of art pieces cleverly infused into the interior design features. A short stroll from the hotel will get you to iconic attractions like the Sydney Opera House, Sydney Harbour Bridge and Circular Quay, as well as popular restaurants and waterholes right on the wharf or in the surrounding suburbs. But really, who needs to go anywhere when your room rate already includes everything? Continental breakfast*, Wi-Fi, mini bar, self-service laundry, happy hour*, 24 hour indoor pool & gym? – Yep, all free. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ovolo Woolloomooloo

Address: 6 Cowper Wharf Rdwy, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia (Formerly BLUE Sydney)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Price Range: RM989 - RM3,330 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Ovolo Woolloomooloo 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Ovolo Woolloomooloo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Sydney Hotel Sydney
Sydney Blue Hotel
w Hotel Sydney
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#22 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#29 Business Hotel in Sydney
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ovolo Woolloomooloo staff and other travellers.
25 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (25)

Questions? Get answers from Ovolo Woolloomooloo staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Choose to stay in the loft suites.”
 of 5 bubbles Beamer23, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
“3rd floor rooms have high ceilings designed from the original warehouse.”
 of 5 bubbles anniM129, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Always book direct”
 of 5 bubbles , 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“City view was nice, something than 3rd floor would have been better.”
 of 5 bubbles toffat9, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Call the hotel to book direct - you get free breakfast and minibar!”
 of 5 bubbles Artisan23, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay