We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Ovolo Woolloomooloo

Travellers' Choice award winner
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Ovolo Woolloomooloo
Ovolo Woolloomooloo
Panoramas (16)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

937 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 900: English reviews
Start your review of Ovolo Woolloomooloo
 Click to rate
Redland City, Queensland Australia
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Enjoyed a week long stay at Ovolu in January 2017. The staff were extremely pleasant and happy to smile and say hello when we walked past. Our suite had a loft bedroom/ensuite with living/dining area, luggage storage and wc on the ground floor. Unit fully air conditioned but it was nice to be able to open the window and get...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CarpeDiemExpress
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

What a breath of fresh air Ovolo is. After staying in big chain hotels where even the luxury end feels a little "samey" Ovolo offers a very unique a modern style where you truly feel you are treating yourself to something special. Little touches like the goodie bag of snacks and free mini bar in the room make it feel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MikeSydney_Australia
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Outstanding hotel, amazing customer service, food and drinks wonderful and not over priced. Rooms are delightful and location is perfect. Great restaurants close by and the valet parking was an added bonus.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lyne W
Tanya R, General Manager at Ovolo Woolloomooloo, responded to this review

Dear Lyne W Thank you….. Thank you..... Thank you….. for your “Brilliant Review”. I am very proud of my peeps and the service they give and its lovely that you had such a wonderful stay with us. See you again soon. Sincerely, Tanya

Scotts Valley, California
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

Stayed for six days last week. From the moment we arrived (early for check in!) we were treated as royalty. Awesome hotel, awesome staff, room was amazing as was breakfast each morning. Don't forget to book online for free breaky 😬. Hotel a 15min stroll through botanical gardens and POW!!! your at the Opera House and views of Sydney Bridge....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dsandjay
Tanya R, General Manager at Ovolo Woolloomooloo, responded to this review

Dear dsandjay, Your review is what I call a “POW” thanks so much for sharing your experience with everyone. We too think it’s rather wonderful to be able to take a stroll thru the gardens on route to the opera house. See you next time. Sincerely, Tanya

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

I have been dying to stay at an Ovolo. My husband surprised me for my birthday. Great location. Easy walk to the city via Botanical gardens. The staff are excellent from valet Owen, to the bar Juan & Maryam at breakfast is a honey to name a few. Thanks for the birthday singsong. I am not use to being put...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank milloz
Tanya R, General Manager at Ovolo Woolloomooloo, responded to this review

Dear milloz, Thank you for your super review! And for singling our some of our team members. I am so glad your birthday was lovely and we do like too sing here at OVOLO whilst we might be the most tuneful bunch we will give it a crack  I am sorry your sleep was disrupted and I hope the...

Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

I can't fault this establishment besides the fact that there was a few cockroaches in the bathroom which shocked my partner a little and made her sleep at night a little un easy, we spoke to someone who I assume was a manager but he did nothing about it which was disappointing. On the brighter side of things this wonderful...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Hercules H
Tanya R, General Manager at Ovolo Woolloomooloo, responded to this review

Dear Hercules H, Thank you for the review. Firstly I am very sorry that we did not come back to you when you reported your issue to us. I have addressed this with the person whom you spoke too, I am very sorry if this caused your partner stress. Thank you very much for your kind words about the rest...

Hong Kong, China
Reviewed 1 week ago

I love the location, love the energy of the staff, like the whole cool set up..... one suggestion, put a sign at the bar advising operating hours. Around 4PM Saturday I stood at the bar for ten minutes waiting, along with 6 other hotel guests, waiting for service, finally approached reception to find out bar does not open till 17:00........

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jrinhk
Tanya R, General Manager at Ovolo Woolloomooloo, responded to this review

Dear jrinhk, We love your review! I am very sorry you were left parched while waiting at our bar. We do serve beer, wine etc at our “Bakers Gonna Bake” for next time before our bar opens. See you again soon. Sincerely, Tanya

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Totally different hotel experience. Housed in the stunning historic Finger Wharf, this quirky, friendly, laid back hotel was a huge hit with us. Loved the decor, the free mini bar, wifi and so many thoughtful touches. Loved the buffet breakfasts (included in room rate), the cheerful and helpful staff, the super swimming pool, the extremely handy laundry (great when you've...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Suzie M
Tanya R, General Manager at Ovolo Woolloomooloo, responded to this review

Dear Suzie M We love that you had an “Amazing Experience” with us, thank you so much for sharing! I am very blessed to have such a wonderful team working for me and they will rejoice in hearing this super feedback. On a sad note :( I am very disappointed to hear about the dirty dishes outside your room that...

Cronulla, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

From the moment we got there the staff were amazing, valet parking ($55) free mini bar, happy hour and continental breakfast. We felt very welcome immediately, very accommodating staff. Room was a decent size and very clean. I seriously can't fault the customer service and attentiveness one bit. The only negative we had was that when we checked in, the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kylie20132013
Tanya R, General Manager at Ovolo Woolloomooloo, responded to this review

Dear Kylie20132013, We love that you had an “Amazing Experience” with us, thank you so much for sharing! I am very blessed to have such a wonderful team working for me and they will rejoice in hearing this super feedback. On a sad note :( so sorry that you had dirty dishes outside your room that were not collected this...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Fun and chic place! Loads of perks, free mini bar and awesome little perks. Staff are absolutely wonderful, and a special thanks to the people who made our anniversary stay that extra bit special. It was amazing!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Meghan92
Tanya R, General Manager at Ovolo Woolloomooloo, responded to this review

Dear Meghan92, Congrats on your anniversary! We love that you love us! See you next anniversary! Tanya

801 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (459)
Viewed
Dining (27)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (71)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (81)
Viewed
View from Room (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (33)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (213)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (314)
Viewed
Amenities (6)
Viewed
Cityvoo King Room (30)
Viewed
Cityvoo Loft (41)
Viewed
Cityvoo Two Double Room (38)
Viewed
Deluxaroo King Room (39)
Viewed
Deluxaroo Loft (46)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
The Hotel (45)
Viewed
Ultravoo Room (55)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
City West
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
The Rocks
Park Hyatt Sydney
Park Hyatt Sydney
#6 of 179 in Sydney
2,201 reviews
Surry Hills
ADGE Apartment Hotel
ADGE Apartment Hotel
#1 of 179 in Sydney
705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
The Rocks
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
#25 of 179 in Sydney
5,910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Location, space, views – have it all when you stay at Ovolo Woolloomooloo. Stretched along the longest timber-piled wharf in the world, the hotel is situated over the picturesque Sydney Harbour on the outskirts of Sydney CBD. A boutique hotel, bar and event center, Ovolo Woolloomooloo bridges between history and modern luxury. The architectural design of this heritage listed property is a truly breathtaking sight with its stunning French windows neatly placed in rows along the building, stylishly framed by the signature teal coloring. As you enter the hotel, contemporary design elements and furnishings complement original fixtures of the property, with seamless integration of the Ovolo touch – all the little things that make effortless living a reality for the modern, tech-savvy traveler. Journey through the 100 rooms and suites and you’ll find that each one tells a uniquely Australian story, portrayed through a series of art pieces cleverly infused into the interior design features. A short stroll from the hotel will get you to iconic attractions like the Sydney Opera House, Sydney Harbour Bridge and Circular Quay, as well as popular restaurants and waterholes right on the wharf or in the surrounding suburbs. But really, who needs to go anywhere when your room rate already includes everything? Continental breakfast*, Wi-Fi, mini bar, self-service laundry, happy hour*, 24 hour indoor pool & gym? – Yep, all free. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ovolo Woolloomooloo

Address: 6 Cowper Wharf Rdwy, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia (Formerly BLUE Sydney)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Price Range: RM1,123 - RM1,956 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Ovolo Woolloomooloo 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Ovolo Woolloomooloo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Sydney Hotel Sydney
Sydney Blue Hotel
w Hotel Sydney
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#22 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#28 Business Hotel in Sydney
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ovolo Woolloomooloo staff and other travellers.
26 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (26)

Questions? Get answers from Ovolo Woolloomooloo staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms on the city side have views over the Botanic Gardens with glimpses of the Harbour Bridge”
 of 5 bubbles CarpeDiemExpress, 21 Feb 2017 | Read review
“I believe all rooms would offer something special”
 of 5 bubbles carolej45, 4 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for water views”
 of 5 bubbles titans2511, 26 Jan 2017 | Read review
“City view is hard to pass up. No such thing as a high floor, only four in this heritage wharf building”
 of 5 bubbles Meltp, 22 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Perhaps ask for a room away from the function room (if one is being held during your stay) if you are a light sleeper.”
 of 5 bubbles MichelleH107, 21 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5