We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Elephant Backpacker

Save
Traveller (126)
Room & Suite (60)
Dining (11)
Membership_Slide_Up_Placement_on_Hotel_Review_Price_Refresh
Watch prices for this hotel.
We’ll alert you of any changes.
Sign up
Overview
  • Excellent6%
  • Very good31%
  • Average16%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible39%
Travellers talk about
“budget hostel”(5 reviews)
“clean linen”(7 reviews)
“big hostel”(8 reviews)
Free Internet
Non-Smoking Hotel
Self-Serve Laundry
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Pool
2 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (407)
There are newer reviews for Elephant Backpacker
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
347 results
Traveller rating
25
119
59
31
113
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
25
119
59
31
113
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbudget hostelclean linenbig hostelcleaned dailythe ground floorhot watercommon areascouple of nightsenjoyed my stayfew minutes walkopera househeaps
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
61 - 65 of 347 reviews
Reviewed 15 October 2016

Stayed here for 3 nights from the 12th to the 15th of Oct 2016. I stayed at a 6 bed female only dorm , roommates were decent and nice. To be honest I was skeptical about making this booking due to some negative reviews, but...More

1  Thank nikky1010
Response from Roisine C, Manager at Elephant BackpackerResponded 18 October 2016

Hi Nike, Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and can see that the negative reviews are not a true reflection of the property. We hope to see you again some day!

Reviewed 26 September 2016 via mobile

Rude staff, place falling apart rooms were stinky and extremely dirty... toilets even worse. Would rather sleep on the street then in this place.. wouldnt recommend this place to anyone ever.. pics dont come close to doing justice, felt like my feet could fall through...More

1  Thank Marcus G
Response from Roisine C, Manager at Elephant BackpackerResponded 6 October 2016

Hi Marcus. The building is perfectly safe, due to a new handrail being installed the carpet is lifted while the works are being carried out. It seems like you have only written this review due to being asked to leave the hostel, especially since you...More

Reviewed 25 September 2016

When we first arrived we weren't sure we would last a week but ended up staying for 6 months through the winter whilst working and saving through winter. The location is amazing! It's just a short walk from the train station and the city making...More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank katecolbs94
Response from Roisine C, Manager at Elephant BackpackerResponded 27 September 2016

Hi Kate. Thank you for taking the time for writing a fair and balanced review. I am glad you enjoy our no alcohol policy as our guests peace and comfort at night is really important to us. We agree that the hostel is not perfect...More

Reviewed 18 September 2016

I stayed at Elephant for 4 nights when I first arrived in Sydney. My friend had recommended the hostel and I was not disappointed. I stayed in a female dorm and it was spacious and clean. The bathrooms were right next to my room and...More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank saurabhk258
Response from Roisine C, Manager at Elephant BackpackerResponded 19 September 2016

Hello, thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am glad that you enjoyed our stay with us. I understand your feedback regarding our TV room and this is an area we intend to upgrade in the near future. If you are...More

Reviewed 18 September 2016

I've stayed at elephant a couple of times now. I sometimes work late in the city and its easier to get a bed for the night. It's cheap, it's basic but it's exactly what you need. Rooms are pretty big, has lockers (you do need...More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ks872016
Response from Roisine C, Manager at Elephant BackpackerResponded 19 September 2016

Hello, thank you for taking the time to write your review. Its great to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and I hope you keep coming back to us! We always aim to improve the hostel and will continue to do so. Your...More

View more reviews
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Internet
Hotel Amenities
Self-Serve Laundry
Details
Price range
US$16 - US$64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
US$16 - US$64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (126)
Room & Suite (60)
Dining (11)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Rikawa
30 December 2016|
Answer
Response from Benjamin R | Reviewed this property |
it's not really clear, what you want to say, but I can say, for the time when I was there, which was a year ago, that I enjoyed my stay. it's a low budget hostel. that's what you pay for, that's what you get. no more, not... More
-2
Votes
Room Tips
"Great value for money.Leafy views.Quiet in the evening."
Read review
"Don't expect 5 star and u will be happy :)"
Read review
"book somewhere else... DON'T stay here !!!"
Read review
"Higher floors are quieter"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing