We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Nomads Sydney

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Nomads Sydney
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

382 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 341: English reviews
Montreal, Canada
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I'm not one to write reviews about places, but I feel like I need to warn people about this place so that no one goes here. They gave us a room that as soon as we entered smelled horrible (like mold). This made sense as we found a couple big patches of mold on the wall. We requested a new...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ariellaella
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Central location and a great atmosphere. Friendly staff and met the best people there. The rates are cheap and the rooms are okay. Every day something going on like free barbecues, bondi to coogee walk and free entry + drink in bars every night!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jaana J
Tom C, Front Office Manager at Nomads Sydney, responded to this review

G'Day Jaana! Stoked to hear you enjoyed your stay with us here at Westend and made the most of all the events we chuck on! Have a great time in Australia and we look forward to seeing you next time you're in Sydney! Cheers, Tom

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Where to start? Lets do the positive things and the rason this is two stars and not one: - Location is great - Staff was really nice Now the not positive parts: - The general appearance of the hostel is dirty and run down. - One elevator for over 10 floors. You are guaranteed a long wait for it. And...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sonia H
Lachy E, General Manager at Nomads Sydney, responded to this review

G'Day Sonia, I'm sorry to hear that you didn't have the best stay with us here at Nomads Sydney! I can assure you that the issues you have listed during your stay are not the the standards that we expect here and I truly apologize for that. Our building is fast approaching it's 90th birthday and does have an antique...

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is one ofor the worst places I've ever stayed, and I've slept in an actual jail better than this! The room barely fit the two bunks, there was 0 space for my bags. Thankfully during my 3 night there was only two of us in the room because it was unbearably small. Window was a tiny square in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kmerke
Lachy E, General Manager at Nomads Sydney, responded to this review

G'Day there, I'm sorry to hear that you didn't have an enjoyable experience with us here at Nomads Sydney. During your stay we were conducting maintenance on one of our elevators so I do apologize for the extended wait time for the operational one. With the issues you had in the room might I ask if you came down our...

Sandnes, Norway
Reviewed 3 December 2016 via mobile

Worst hostel I've been in. Smelly and dirty carpets, a lot of hair and dirt under the bed. It's unbelievable that they get guest's, we fled after one night. Location was very good. Rest is crap. Full of baby cockroaches on the bathroom, didn't see there parent's.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Roger B
Lachy E, General Manager at Nomads Sydney, responded to this review

G'Day Roger, Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback about your stay with us here at Nomads Sydney. I would firstly like to apologize for the state of your room when you checked in. We clean all rooms in the property daily but in this instance is sounds as if the room was not cleaned to the standards...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 November 2016 via mobile

They don't change the duvet cover in the rooms !!!! I stayed there almost 2 weeks, lift got problems and you can get stuck inside. Kitchen with insects, rooms small and dirty. Staff not great at the reception, especially the ginger girl. She treat really bad the guest and spent her time to laught with colleagues. You are MAD if...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Charlène L
Newcastle, Australia
Reviewed 26 November 2016 via mobile

Showers hardly functioned, i produce more pressure from my urethra and my urine would be atleast warmer and sterile. Common space filthy. Most stove tops broken. Kitchen filthy. Ate dinner with a cockroach running accross feet. Beer and booze botles, food and rubbish left all over common spaces. 1/2 elevators functioning - barely, waiting up to 20 mins for it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Casey T
Reviewed 25 November 2016 via mobile

Saying that this is the WORST hostel accommodation is an understatement. The photos featured online are MISLEADING, Nomads is a pretty reputable hostel chain and should seriously do something about this Sydney Pitts Street branch. 1. Tiles in bathroom broken and dirty 2. Maggots and flies everywhere in toilet, sanitary bin isn't cleared and more flies and stench would come...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pearlyn Y
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 17 November 2016 via mobile

This is the worst hostel I've ever stayed at absolutely disgusting. Smells like mould, drywall falling off, bugs everywhere, our shower door fell off. Two fridges were out of order, kitchen was always dirty, the elevator worked maybe 1.5 days out of 5. And Ophir bathroom door didn't lock and fell off the slider at one point. Don't stay here

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 166crw
Reviewed 16 November 2016 via mobile

+: location -: not clean, terrible kitchen, ancient elevators, a bit expensive. The air in our room was terrible. People did not wash what they used in the kitchen - annoying. Shared room with some terrible brits, as well.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Morten H

110 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (91)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (62)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (18)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Maze Backpackers
#27 of 133 in Sydney
641 reviews
Central Business District
Base Backpackers
Base Backpackers
#19 of 133 in Sydney
555 reviews
Wake Up! Sydney
#5 of 133 in Sydney
1,233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
790 on George
#44 of 133 in Sydney
188 reviews
Blue Parrot Backpackers
#8 of 133 in Sydney
244 reviews
Surry Hills
Bounce Sydney
Bounce Sydney
#4 of 133 in Sydney
691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nomads Sydney, Westend Backpackers is located right in the center of the CBD, just a stone throw from Central Station and right in the hub of Sydney's' best restaurants, shops and Bars . We're also only a 15min walk from the Opera House and Sydney Harbour Bridge! Our aim at NOMADS Sydney is for you to have a brilliant time and to leave with a smile on your face and a bounce in your step. We have dorms of all sizes ranging from private rooms to our infamous 32 bed dorm "The Church", as well as excellent facilities and legendary staff whose job it is to ensure you have a wonderful time. We focus on providing you with more than just a bed with daily and nightly activities organised for you. There's never a dull moment during your time here , whether it's partying VIP style with us at multiple bars or enjoying a chilled movie night whilst stuffing your face with free popcorn in our tv lounge, there's only one thing you won't want to do while staying at Nomads Westend, and that's leave. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Nomads Sydney

Address: 412 Pitt Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Footprints Westend)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Price Range: RM112 - RM464 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Nomads Sydney 2*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Nomads Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westend Backpackers Hotel Sydney
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Nomads Sydney staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Just don't stay here!!”
 of 5 bubbles alex17242, 26 Aug 2016 | Read review
“want a room closer to the middle, the elevator stopped at all of those floors”
 of 5 bubbles 470emn, 9 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Great for a few nights stay, cheap and great location”
 of 5 bubbles brockym2016, 11 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Dangerous for your health to stay in any of the rooms or floors.”
 of 5 bubbles vigdisb2016, 9 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Don't bother and as for the rating terrible is a high mark for this hell hole”
 of 5 bubbles N2010DTsamc, 1 Feb 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay