We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Blue Parrot Backpackers

Booking.comUS$53*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Blue Parrot Backpackers
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

270 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 247: English reviews
Start your review of Blue Parrot Backpackers
 Click to rate
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I was in the 10-bed dorm and was frustrated that the rooms were stinking with the smell of alcohol. Some of the guests in the room were drunk almost every night. It is not surprising to see this in this area as this hostel is in Kings cross area that has lots of pubs and nightlife. Also, toilets were dirtied...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ajay N
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Reviewed 1 week ago

A very familiar Hostel with a few rooms. We had a 4 bedroom which was quite nice but very small. Very friendly staff everywhere in the hostel. The bathrooms didn't please me because toilet and shower were in one room (The numer of bathrooms ,i think it were 3). Especially in the morning this was a problem if you had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Max W
BParrot, Owner at Blue Parrot Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, we’re glad you would recommend us and liked our location! We are sorry that it didn’t please you that the toilet and shower where both in the same room but this is normal for most bathrooms in the world and our guests usually comment that they prefer this since they have complete privacy. We also...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Truly one of the top hostels I have ever stayed at ! Staff so so friendly and knowledgeable! Because of the amount of bedroom and the size of lounge, kitchen and outside area it was so good for meting other like mind fun travelers !!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris K
Lucerne, Switzerland
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I found the Hostel in the Internet and booked it first for 3 nights but its so nice place that I extend my stay for 4 more nights! A clean and cozy hostel! The two lovely owners are very helpful and the staff are very friendly. You feel like at home! Thx 4 all

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jamiro_ch
Perth, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

When I first got to Sydney I stayed in a large backpackers on Bondi where I felt lost in the masses. Luckily during a walk through beautiful Potts Point I found the hidden gem The Blue Parrot. The wonderful sisters Effie and Sascha and their staff did everything to make me feel at home. Thank you. It's a clean, straight...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dutchguy0031
Prague, Czech Republic
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed for 5 nights. Found it easy to meet other travellers here and make friend. - very clean - great hostel for first time travellers - kind owners who are welcoming and help with anything you need - very clean - great location Highly recommended.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank luciefranko
BParrot, Owner at Blue Parrot Backpackers, responded to this review

Dear Luciefranko, thank you for staying with us and thank you for your kind words about us and our hostel. We are happy you has a great time here and we wish you safe travels. x Effie & Sasha - Blue Parrot Sisters/Owners/Staff

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hostel is clean, cozy and the people in there friendly and polite. The two lovely sisters that own the Blue Parrot are very helpful, they make you feel like at home, if you want to visit Sydney you are in good hands with them, you can't get lost! Kings cross station is at 2 minutes walking and you can...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Angelica P
BParrot, Owner at Blue Parrot Backpackers, responded to this review

Ciao Angelica, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us such nice feedback! We are very happy you enjoyed your time here. You are always welcome back to the Blue Parrot whenever you're in Sydney. All the best, Effie & Sasha, -Blue Parrot Sisters/Owners/Staff

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

small hostel, big waste of money for the price they charge you, you get an hostel which is not very clean, inexistant wifi, smelly and noisy rooms unpleasant staff with bad-tempered owners who cares only about reviews +good location you can for sure find much better place in sydney

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mun0102
BParrot, Owner at Blue Parrot Backpackers, responded to this review

Dear mun0102, We are sorry you had such a poor experience at out hostel. Unfortunately we’ve searched our records, and we have no evidence of your stay. If you’re willing, will you please contact us so we can discuss this with you and see how we can make you happy :-) The positive experience of our guests is always our...

Reviewed 17 April 2017

This is a small "comfy" hostel thats close to everything and comfortable the staff are very nice and helpful with things to do in the area and plan my trips my room was clean and I would stay again if I was in the area. The wifi was ok.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alex H
Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewed 14 April 2017

Compared with other hostels in Australia this one wasn't very clean nor outstanding in any other category. But compared to other Hostels in Sydney it's, in fact, one of the best. Location is okay, takes some time to get to CBD though. They don't organize activities in the evenings, so you need to get to know people by yourself. Would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank arlo_carlo
BParrot, Owner at Blue Parrot Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to leave us feedback arlo_carlo. We are happy you found our hostel to be one of Sydney's best and you’d recommend us! As you can see from our previous reviews we are highly rated for Cleanliness on all websites (eg TripAdvisor, BookingCom etc) so we are disappointed that our cleanliness didn’t meet your standards and...

62 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (21)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (41)
Viewed
Other (41)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Macleay Hotel
#44 of 176 in Sydney
807 reviews
Ovolo Woolloomooloo
#2 of 176 in Sydney
1,110 reviews
Wake Up! Sydney
#4 of 139 in Sydney
1,316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bounce Sydney
#3 of 139 in Sydney
737 reviews
The Rocks
Sydney Harbour YHA
Sydney Harbour YHA
#2 of 139 in Sydney
1,040 reviews
Surry Hills
Big Hostel
Big Hostel
#8 of 139 in Sydney
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Blue Parrot Backpackers is located in the most cosmopolitan part of inner Sydney City (akin to Soho in London and East Village in NYC) and is only minutes walk from the heart of the city, offering vibrant nightlife, clubbing, trendy cafes, bars, restaurants and all the tourist attractions. A friendly hostel run by sisters Effie and Sasha, known for its social atmosphere and warm welcoming staff where you can easily meet other travellers, especially if you're travelling solo. Guests can relax in the large outdoor courtyard or the indoor lounge area, the perfect places to socialise. Blue Parrot is 5 minutes walk from Kings Cross train station. The City Centre, Royal Botanic Gardens, the Opera House and Sydney Harbour Bridge are less than 20 minutes walk away. To make your travels easier reception can organise exciting day trips to the Blue Mountains, Surfing lessons, Skydiving, Whale watching, Wine tasting and more .... AGE RESTRICTION: Adults only 18-35 years old in dormitory rooms. ___________________________________________________________ PROPERTY FACILITIES: FREE Wi-Fi ! Available in all areas and is free of charge. Close to Train Station - Courtyard - BBQ - Tour desk - Luggage storage - Lounge/TV - DVD - In-house movies - Playstation - Wii - Photocopying/Scan - Computers - Kitchen - Laundry - Non-smoking rooms - Designated smoking area - Airport Shuttle bus (surcharge) Popular with solo travellers! Best price guaranteed! No booking fees! No deposit! Additional Information about Blue Parrot Backpackers Price Range: $39 - $45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Bed) Number of rooms: 8 ... more   less 

Additional Information about Blue Parrot Backpackers

Address: 87 Macleay St | Potts Point, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Price Range: RM98 - RM256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Blue Parrot Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, HostelWorld and Ctrip TA so you can book your Blue Parrot Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Parrot Backpackers Hotel Sydney
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Blue Parrot Backpackers staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Blue Parrot Backpackers staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Please choose YHAs as on an average, the guests do not abuse drinking and maintain good behavior while with others”
599ajayn, 25 May 2017 | Read review
“The rooms facing the garden are more quiet.”
dutchguy0031, 2 May 2017 | Read review
“Rooms facing away from the backyard area are quieter.”
kgrote, 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
“i had 10 bed only girls with bathroom and i`m so happy for that”
annviktoriaf, 7 Jan 2017 | Read review
“rooms with views to garden and trees are best!”
pelicano24, 6 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$53* /night
View Deal
Hostelworld.comUS$58
Orbitz.com
Hotels.com
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates