We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Wake Up! Sydney

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Wake Up! Sydney
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,275 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Wake Up! Sydney
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,106: English reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

One of the better kept and appointed hostels around. 24 hr reception, internet access and computers available. Clean facilities, showers and toilets. Rooms are basic but comfortable (stayed in a double room) and have a large TV which is a bonus for a hostel!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Matt C
United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We had booked this place, despite it being more expensive than other hostels available, on word of mouth from a few people who raved about it. Be warned - this place is full of party people. There is a bar in the basement, and you can drink in the communal kitchen until 10. They put on pub crawls and entertainment...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank LindyBopper
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed for 6 nights in a double room ... with a friend for a couple of nights then on my own. Rooms were clean and spacious with adequate showers and toilets a little walk away. Sadly the communal area was always really busy so I wouldn't get into cook. People used to sit outside my room in the corridors...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank laurarara22
WakeUpTeam, Manager at Wake Up! Sydney, responded to this review

Hi Laura. Thank you for your review. Great to hear you enjoyed the rooms. I apologise for the noise in the corridors. We have 24 hour security and do hourly floor checks throughout the night and into the morning. Unfortunately it sounds like you had some guests who were not appreciative of our no noise after 10:00 PM policy. We...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Absolutely loved my stay here. They do a fabulous job of entertaining guest with activities everyday, making it very easy to meet people! The facilities are VERY clean and new!! Kitchen is large and wifi free if you book through HostelWorld

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mimi T
WakeUpTeam, Manager at Wake Up! Sydney, responded to this review

Hi Mimi, Thank you so much for your review - always great to hear such positive feedback! So glad you found it easy to meet people - that is one of the best things about staying in hostels so it's great to hear this was made easier for you here. Hopefully we can have you stay here again. Thank you....

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The rooms get better as you go up the floors, first time I stayed there is was on the first floor it was a big room 8bed dorm, but the music from side bar downstairs pumping out till all hours means it's very hard to sleep! Kitchen was quite small for the amount of guests,most of the staff were all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andyburn91
WakeUpTeam, Manager at Wake Up! Sydney, responded to this review

Hi Andy. Thank you for your review. Great to hear you enjoyed the size of the room and the plug sockets provided. There can be some noise from the bar on level 1 on our busier nights. Room moves are always facilitated where possible if you are looking for a quite night in - we also have ear plugs available...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed at this hostel for two weeks and I must say this one of the best hostels I've stayed at. First of all, it was very clean. The common areas are clean a couple of times a day and the room were cleaned every morning. Staff was friendly and helpful. This hostel is also a great place to meet...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jeanne-Charlott... W
WakeUpTeam, Manager at Wake Up! Sydney, responded to this review

Hi Jean-Charlotte, Thank you so much for your review. Glad to hear you had such a good stay. I know you just checked out so i hope you enjoy the rest of your time in Australia. Hopefully we can have you back here to stay again! WakeUp! Management

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This hostel is a great place to stay! The rooms are really well maintained and nicely laid out with lockers to put your valuables in. The kitchen is ok, it can get very busy during peak times and there is not a lot of room to cook and prepare food. Also the space for you ambient goods is always full...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tasha H
WakeUpTeam, Manager at Wake Up! Sydney, responded to this review

Hi Tasha, Thank you for your review. Great to hear you enjoyed your stay here. Always great to hear positive feedback on our staff! When the hostel is full we have over 500 people staying which can lead to a full kitchen at dinner times. We do daily checks of the shelves to remove any food which is outdated and...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great hostel, super clean and the staff were very helpful. Side Bar downstairs makes nights out very easy! Everyone I meet in the hostel was very friendly, rooms were clean and lockers were a good size. Bathrooms were clean and there was the added bonus of a hair dryer. Only disadvantage of this hostel was that the kitchen was not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sophiemidds94
WakeUpTeam, Manager at Wake Up! Sydney, responded to this review

Hi Sophie, Thank you so much for your review. With over 500 people staying upstairs the lifts can take a little longer around checkout times. Great to hear you enjoyed other aspects of the hostel! Enjoy your travels! WakeUp! Management.

dublin
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed back in 2009 for about 2 months. Best hostel experience I've ever had. Clean spacious. The Travel agent rebooked everything for me after my tour operator from home cancelled my trip and got it much cheaper. Hostel was super fun for nights out in the bar, good food, TV Room, Internet access, Kitchen, Laundry. Many fun nights in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dublinboi5
WakeUpTeam, Manager at Wake Up! Sydney, responded to this review

Hi Dublinboi, Thank you so much for the awesome review - glad we made a lasting impression on you! We've had some refurbishments done upstairs and in Side Bar in recent years. If you are ever back in Sydney we will treat you to a few beers down there. Hopefully we can have you back one day! Ryan - WakeUp!

Barcelona, Spain
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Our 10 days in Wake Up were really good. The hostel is on the best location ever...super super clean and with instalations modern, spacious and very convenient. The only but for us was the ambiente. The hostel in itself rocks, but probably you will enjoy it better if you are under 25. The mood is like a non stop party...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank violeta y
WakeUpTeam, Manager at Wake Up! Sydney, responded to this review

Hi Violeta, Thank you for your review. Great to hear our Central Location was convenient for you to enjoy Sydney! We pride ourselves on our cleanliness so it's great to hear positive feedback on this. Our bar does attract a lot of backpackers from all over the world and there are nightly activities designed for guests to meet each other....

145 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (104)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (3)
Viewed
Other (67)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (41)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (22)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Mercure Sydney
#57 of 179 in Sydney
4,647 reviews
Surry Hills
Bounce Sydney
Bounce Sydney
#3 of 136 in Sydney
714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rocks
Sydney Harbour YHA
Sydney Harbour YHA
#2 of 136 in Sydney
1,021 reviews
Blue Parrot Backpackers
#8 of 136 in Sydney
256 reviews
Sydney Central YHA
#10 of 136 in Sydney
673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Smoking rooms available
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Winner '3rd Best Extra Large Hostel Worldwide' and 'Most Popular Hostel in Sydney' at the 2017 Hostelworld 'HOSCARS' awards. Wake Up! Sydney Central represents all that Sydney has to offer. It's modern, it's clean and it's the hub of backpacker activity, right in the heart of Sydney. With a fresh layout, friendly staff and funky activities, Wake Up aims to offer an experience, not just a bed Join us and experience Wake Up! Sydney today. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Wake Up! Sydney

Address: 509 Pitt St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Price Range: RM137 - RM452 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Wake Up! Sydney 2*
Number of rooms: 113
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Wake Up! Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wake Up! Hotel Sydney
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Wake Up! Sydney staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question
Watsonville
7 months ago
5 months ago

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Wake Up! Sydney staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I'd recommend to ask for a room that is not on the street side as you may hear the music coming from side bar at this night.”
 of 5 bubbles jeannecharlottew, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
“First floor is relatively close to the street and you can sometimes hear the music and noise from the bar downstairs.”
 of 5 bubbles tarrynhassell, 2 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Any of the 06 or 10 bed dorms are the best- very spacious and sociable”
 of 5 bubbles Amy2062017, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“it's quite noisy on weekend nights”
 of 5 bubbles _missanhtran_, 10 Jan 2017 | Read review
“6th floor good, no street noise”
 of 5 bubbles Daylee-BH, 8 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5