We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Rydges Camperdown

Hotels.comUS$101*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$119*
US$101*
US$119*
US$101*
US$119*
US$101*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
Rydges Camperdown
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

526 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Rydges Camperdown
See the most recent reviews
Showing 519: English reviews
Reviewed 11 December 2015

Stayed at the Rydges with two mates this week as a place to stay after a concert in Newtown. The rooms are non-smoking, however our room smelt of cigarette smoke, and upon return from the concert the stench was overpowering. The room was generously sized, and very neatly presented. The air conditioning did not seem to be functioning in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank stegosaurusjim
RNCAMP, Director of Sales at Rydges Camperdown, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and feedback on your most recent stay with us. I am sorry to learn your stay with us was not as enjoyable as it should have been. However, if you choose to stay with us again, we will make sure it will be a memorable experience stay. Regards, Richard Hoe Director of Sales

Reviewed 6 December 2015

have visited many times as close to rpa for checkups. has not been updated for 10 yrs that we have been going there. always clean staff are always great never a problem . getting pricey for the standard of rooms on offer . wi fi now available and works well needs updating to stay competive

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Keith S
RNCAMP, Director of Sales at Rydges Camperdown, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel very soon! Regards, Richard Hoe Director Of Sales

Forster, Australia
Reviewed 29 November 2015

Rooms are a bit old and could do with a refurbish especially the bathrooms. Hated having to climb over a bath to have a shower. The staff were very pleasant but one let down was that the restaurant is not open on weekends

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Debra S
RNCAMP, Director of Sales at Rydges Camperdown, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel very soon! Regards, Richard Hoe Director Of Sales

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 18 November 2015

Close to Newtown and easy access to transport. The room was just OK. Bathroom very old and not very clean. Bed was comfortable but pillows were like rocks. There was no minibar ( not even a bottle of water) which wasn't a problem for me but I was asked at checkout if I had used anything from the minibar. When...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dewey7780
Clair W, Guest Relations Manager at Rydges Camperdown, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am disappointed to see your stay was not as enjoyable as we would have hoped, and apologise for any inconvenience caused. I have spoken to our Executive Housekeeper about the cleanliness of the bathroom and condition of the pillows, these issues will be followed up with her team and resolved as quickly as possible....

Dubbo, Australia
Reviewed 12 November 2015

Usually stay for o close as wellur sydney visits.Good transport close by.Staff friendly. Recent provision of Wifi. Basic and dated. Comfortable. Food places are also close. Reasonable prices.Join the Rydges club

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Geoff M
Clair W, Guest Relations Manager at Rydges Camperdown, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay with us. I am pleased to see you enjoyed your stay, found our team friendly and our location convenient for the purpose of your visit. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel again in the near future. Kind regards, Clair Warner Guest Relations

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 6 November 2015

I think the rest of the reviews here really sum it up nicely. It's tired and in desperate need of some attention. The A/C was really old and noisy, one of the lights in my room didn't work, there were stains on the curtains, chairs and carpet, the bathroom had a bit of mould around the edges... It's all just...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emmaline1234
Shaun D, Guest Relations Manager at Rydges Camperdown, responded to this review

Good Evening, Thank you for your review. I am disappointed to read your stay wasn't as good as what it should have been. I do apologise for the air conditioner. Our maintenance is in the process of repairing some noisy air conditioning units. If you have a noisy air conditioner we can always try and change your room. Our rates...

Reviewed 31 October 2015 via mobile

last minute booking to help my sister move into usyd campus, good location being down the road from her campus but prices are way too steep for 3 star accom! paid 300$, lifts are slow & rickety, initial room smelt really bad like cat piss, changed to another room which was better in terms of smell but for some reason...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wenopuff
Shaun D, Guest Relations Manager at Rydges Camperdown, responded to this review

Good Evening. Thank you for your review. I do apologise about the smell in your room. I have advised our housekeeping supervisor of this issue to ensure it does not happen in the future. Regarding the rate of your room, our rates do vary during the year and can increase when major events are in Sydney. However our rates are...

Australia
Reviewed 20 October 2015

Staff: Evening staff are happy to assist with issues and resolve them in as satisfactory a manner as they could the moment the issues were raised with them. Price: initially had a family room. Requested for a swap due to condition of room and smell. Was put in a Queen Queen with city view- tariff was supposed to be 260/night,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cassa01
Shaun D, Guest Relations Manager at Rydges Camperdown, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your feedback on your recent stay with us. Thank you for bringing to our attention the rate change for your stay. I'm pleased that matter was resolved quickly for you. I do apologise for the condition of your room. I have taken your comments to our executive housekeeper to rectify immediately. I hope you choose...

Greater Newcastle, Australia
Reviewed 19 October 2015

Room needs a good painting and carpet clean. 1 light not working but wasn't a big enough preoblem to request fixing since we stayed only 1 night. Very convenient location to Sydney Uni & RPA hospital.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 101oztraveller
Clair W, Guest Relations Manager at Rydges Camperdown, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. I am pleased to see you found our location convenient for the purpose of your visit. We hope to welcome you back again in the near future. Kind regards, Clair Warner

Cowra, Australia
Reviewed 17 October 2015

We stayed on the 7th floor, the air conditioning didn't work so we had to chock open the door and open the window to get some cool air into the room, we informed reception but as it was the weekend it was not fixed. The bathroom also looked dirty but this may be old worn tiles, I am hoping. There...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 995holidayer
Shaun D, Guest Relations Manager at Rydges Camperdown, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I do apologise for your air conditioning not working in your room. If we couldn't offer a room move due to occupancy, we can always offer a fan to your room. I have made sure housekeeping are aware of the tiles in the bathroom, they will rectify this immediately....

151 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (132)
Viewed
Bathroom (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (56)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Camperdown Suites
#128 of 175 in Sydney
16 reviews
Glebe
Best Western Haven Glebe
Best Western Haven Glebe
#121 of 175 in Sydney
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Newtown
The Urban Newtown
The Urban Newtown
#1 of 1 in Newtown
444 reviews
Song Hotel Redfern
#118 of 175 in Sydney
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff

Additional Information about Rydges Camperdown

Address: 9 Missenden Rd | Camperdown, Sydney, New South Wales 2050, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Price Range: RM459 - RM870 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rydges Camperdown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 144
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Rydges Camperdown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Camperdown Sydney Hotel Sydney
Rydges Camperdown Hotel Sydney
Sydney Rydges Camperdown Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Rydges Camperdown staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Rydges Camperdown staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for city view on 6th floor.”
283nancyeb, 11 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Check your room first before you unpack - run the shower!”
kymmccauley, 18 Mar 2017 | Read review
“first hotel that we could'nt hear doors closing during the night, nice and quiet”
roston2, 24 Feb 2017 | Read review
“lower floors are a bit better”
178abigaylet, 22 Nov 2016 | Read review
“City view is probably a marginal advantage with early sun to wake you.”
GKSWanderlust, 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotels.com
US$101* /night
View Deal
TravelocityUS$101
Hotwire.comUS$101
TripAdvisorUS$101
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates