We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Traveller (74)
Room & Suite (48)
Dining (2)
Overview
  • Excellent16%
  • Very good37%
  • Average28%
  • Poor12%
  • Terrible7%
Travellers talk about
“central station”(34 reviews)
“big lockers”(6 reviews)
“fridge space”(4 reviews)
AMENITIES
Internet
Self-Serve Laundry
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Pool
Restaurant
2 Star accommodation
All hotel details
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerAttributes":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Reviews (222)
Filter reviews
189 results
Traveller rating
32
62
56
23
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
32
62
56
23
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscentral stationbig lockersfridge spacebed female dormweekly ratecommon roomlaundry facilitiesstayed here for a weekdouble roomhappily stay here againdarling harbourcleaning staffdecent sizevisiting sydneyopera househostelplug
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 189 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Great people great staff great environment I would recommend this place near china town near the heart of the cbd lots of good facilities a great affordable place to go so if u are visiting check it out

Thank nickfounder
Response from Prasanna790, Manager at 790 on GeorgeResponded 1 week ago

Hey Nick! Thank you so much for your positive feedback, we really value our guests opinions and are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us! We hope to see you again The Team @790

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hostel is a decent place to stay for a few nights whilst exploring Sydney, we had a private room but the door didn't actually lock. There were lockers in the room though at least. The lockers in the kitchen are a really good idea...More

Thank 13Nic13
Response from Prasanna790, Manager at 790 on GeorgeResponded 1 week ago

Hey! We really appreciate your review, so thank you for taking the time to write one. We're sorry about your door not locking properly, it was probably due to the locking mechanism needing new batteries, if we had known of it prior to you moving...More

Reviewed 6 July 2018 via mobile

A quiet hostel which is good for a couple nights stay but I think mainly workers lived there so it wasn’t super lively. Rooms and bathrooms were ok but there weren’t many plug sockets in the rooms and it wasn’t super clean. The kitchen downstairs...More

Thank Aimee T
Response from Prasanna790, Manager at 790 on GeorgeResponded 1 week ago

Hey Aimee, Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate that you took the time to write to us. We don't consider ourselves a party hostel for the reason you mentioned, but we do promote nights out from around the area, especially ones that are aimed...More

Reviewed 11 June 2018

Really not the best hostel considering it really isn't cheap compared to many other hostels where you get a lot more for roughly the same price. Only one lift which is obviously an issue when its a 7 floor building. Wouldn't recommend to anyone. I...More

Thank Lily T
Response from Prasanna790, Guest Relations Manager at 790 on GeorgeResponded 18 June 2018

Hello Lily! Thanks for taking the time to leave a review despite the hostel not reaching your standards. We appreciate all the feed back we receive as it helps us to continuously improve upon our standards! As you were unhappy with the room and amenities...More

Reviewed 6 May 2018 via mobile

I stayed here for one week whilst I was finishing my last week of work. I wanted to choose a hostel that wasn’t very partyish so that I wouldn’t loose sleep. This kind of back fired as I still didn’t sleep well and to my...More

Thank Coppernel
Response from Prasanna790, Guest Relations Manager at 790 on GeorgeResponded 21 May 2018

Hello! Thanks for taking the time to review our hostel! We're sorry that some parts of your stay weren't up to your expectations but your review will help us in our continuous effort to strive to be the best! Safe Travels! - Team 790

View more reviews
About
Amenities
Hotel Amenities
Self-Serve Laundry
Price range
US$21 - US$77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Number of rooms
70
Reservation Options
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your 790 on George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Location
Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Also Known As
790 On George Hotel Sydney
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (74)
Room & Suite (48)
Dining (2)
Pool & Beach (1)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (4)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
sandrine-mathide
9 February 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Prasanna790 | Property representative |
Hi there, I can confirm the Wi-Fi does work in our kitchen/common area and is free for one hour each day. If you would like access to Wi-Fi in your room or anywhere else in the building it can be purchased from reception... More
0
Votes
123marns
6 February 2015|
Answer
Response from Prasanna790 | Property representative |
Hi there, We do supply towels the cost is $6.00 and $3.00 is returned when the towel is returned. Linen is provided at no additional cost. Kind regards, James
0
Votes
Matz T
28 July 2014|
Answer
Response from 790Management | Property representative |
$14!
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Try and get a room on a lower level to avoid waiting for the one elevator."
Read review
"Rooms 108, 208, 308 and so on have a great corner view up George St"
Read review
"anything above 07 e.g., 409 or 710"
Read review
"Rooms finishing in 8 are the most spacious, there are the corners ones. You will get a discount for future..."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing