We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Desert Rose Inn

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Desert Rose Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

82 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 65: English reviews
Start your review of The Desert Rose Inn
 Click to rate
Darwin, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

Bed Bugs on the floor and ceiling, they were even climbing into my bags. Appalling room, not clean and rotting floors. Not impressed at all, conditions are bad. Informed owner and he was like 'oh really' Demanded a refund and went elsewhere in town.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pavle2017
ManagerDesertRose, Owner at The Desert Rose Inn, responded to this review

Thankyou for your information. Because of your care in informing us of your concerns we were able to inspect and treat the room. My, "oh really", was genuine surprise that you had seen two bed bugs in the room. One on the ceiling and one beside the bed as you informed me. We are an older establishment but I can...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed just for the first and last night of the outback tour but can't complain. Good and comfortable bed, nice shower with hot water, shared kitchen if you want to cook or 5 minutes walk of a dominos, McDonald's or the Coles Supermarket. The guy from the reception was really nice, helped us with the laundry and also called for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marjorie M
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Have stayed here a couple times now and strongly recommend Dessert Rose. Excellent value accommodation and very centrally located. Owners are really nice and friendly and were very helpful. They have a lovely big German Shepherd dog on duty for added friendly security .. Plenty of off street parking and a decent pool. Also a lovely area to sit and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bede R
Queensland, Australia
Reviewed 16 February 2017

Friendly and helpful staff and a beautiful German shepherd. in a convenient location close to everything. Communal facilities are good and free wifi. Rooms need freshen up n little bit touch up. shower facility in my room are old and leaking. got a dead roach tucked under the blanket. aircon working great. good value and nice place to stay if...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kyielee
Mooloolaba, Australia
Reviewed 23 November 2016 via mobile

I stayed at the Desert Rose Inn for 10 nights whilst working in Alice. It is budget accommodation. Rooms really do need a freshen up. In my room i had a bad drain smell. It is very central and i could easily walk ever where. Restaurant's, shopping services. Staff were friendly OK if you are on a budget.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank klja1961
Perth, Australia
Reviewed 3 June 2016

Check in/out was smooth. Could do with a clock. The ceiling was peeling off. There's laundry and shared kitchen. Close to Hungry Jacks, MacDonald's, KFC and Domino's. Two Streets behind you will find Our Lady of Sacred Heart Catholic Church and Uniting Church. Town is just 5-10 minutes you will find Coles, Woolworths and Target is on Todd. Also close...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank chrissyfran
Canberra, Australia
Reviewed 31 May 2016

Very much a budget location, but near the centre of town. Communal facilities are good, with excellent free wi-fi, and helpful staff. Friendly atmosphere and good value car rental right next door. Nice place to "launch from".

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank GrdnWht
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 19 April 2016

Booked a twin room and it was clean, with a fridge, sink, shower and tv. There's a communal kitchen with all the necessary facilities. The owner Bryan is lovely, and I had a great stay there. Highly recommended if you're looking for short-term affordable accommodation!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mgmgmgmg2015
Reviewed 6 December 2015 via mobile

Accommodation was cheap, the room was good except the tv was so small, the person running it could have been alot friendlier and welcoming. Did not get any sleep as you could hear doors constantly closing loudly all night and echoed throughout the corridor, the pillows were so thick and uncomfy. And to top it off someone kicked or punched...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Rebecca R
Clare Valley Australia
Reviewed 5 November 2015 via mobile

Affordable, clean and location excellent. Equipped kitchen and lounge (communal) allowed us to cook meals. Laundry on site. Staff are extremely helpful. Building has a 70's feel so don't expect the ritz. We enjoyed our stay here in Alice Springs and meeting others, which does not happen in all motels.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aussiesonthemove

16 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alice Springs hotels
0.6 km away
Aurora Alice Springs
Aurora Alice Springs
#8 of 13 in Alice Springs
873 reviews
1.8 km away
Quest Alice Springs
Quest Alice Springs
#1 of 13 in Alice Springs
399 reviews
1.9 km away
Desert Palms Alice Springs
Desert Palms Alice Springs
#5 of 13 in Alice Springs
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs
2.6 km away
Crowne Plaza Alice Springs Lasseters
1.5 km away
Alice Motor Inn
Alice Motor Inn
#6 of 13 in Alice Springs
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about The Desert Rose Inn

Address: 15 Railway Tce, Alice Springs, Northern Territory 0870, Australia
Region: Australia > Northern Territory > Red Centre > Alice Springs
Price Range: RM234 - RM296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Desert Rose Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, HostelWorld, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Desert Rose Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Desert Rose Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Upstairs rooms are nice.”
 of 5 bubbles 371beder, 7 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Upstairs is best.”
 of 5 bubbles GrdnWht, 30 May 2016 | Read review
“maybe rooms near reception are better but ones around the court yard are old”
 of 5 bubbles stelladd2015, 2 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Ask for room away from the pool. But, generally the area is very quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles JoanieG59, 14 Jul 2015 | Read review
“Get a private double on the ground floor at the back away from the main hostel section of the hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles 616andrewe, 11 Mar 2015 | Read review
5 of 5