We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Alice Lodge Backpackers

Hostelworld.comUS$41*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$48*
US$41*
Great Deal
US$48*
US$48*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Alice Lodge Backpackers
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

433 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 390: English reviews
Start your review of Alice Lodge Backpackers
 Click to rate
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

Pretty average place and a budget back packers to stay in. The highlight I suppose would be the staff itself who are quite friendly and accommodating. The guests, maybe a little rude and reckless since they don't leave the facilities clean. I'm still rating it a little low because in a way the staff can manage these behaviours for e.g....

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank ssdb22
Alicelodge, Manager at Alice Lodge Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi ssdb22. Thank you for your review, we really appreciate your feedback. I'm very happy that you were impressed with the staff, we do our best to accommodate our guests. Thank you for your suggesting that we can encourage our guests to clean up after themselves, we'll look into buying extra mops. Sometimes we are not aware that something is...

Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed in Alice for one night in between flights. The room was very basic which was fine, but the hostel felt a little run down. The bathrooms could've done with an overhaul and could've been a little cleaner. Decent location and an average free breakfast were probably the better things about the hostel.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Amy F
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Room was run down and fan and aircon didn't work. Staff didn't seem to care about guests. Quilt covers were unwashed. Breakfast was cereal and white bread. Music was played into the evening. Fridge in room was appreciated.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Something S
Alicelodge, Manager at Alice Lodge Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Something S, Thank you for taking your time and reviewing our hostel. In regards to the fan and air-con not working, did you report those issue to the staff? We only switched off air-conditioning recently as the weather is getting colder but would be happy to turn it back on if requested. And. we do not wash the quilt...

Venice, Italy
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hostle are very good. Nice peolpe of al the world. A little pool☺👍Near to the town and the shops. Anzac Memorial is 10 min to walk. Good hostel to stay any nights. Or a stop before you make a trip to uluru....

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
4Thank O8624URstefaniem
Alicelodge, Manager at Alice Lodge Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi stefanie, I'm delighted that you found time to review our hostel. I appreciate all the positive comments; we do strive to make our guest feel welcome and address any issue they may have. I wish you happy travels, Alicja

Ottawa, Canada
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed here for 3 nights in a 3-bed female dorm and had a fine experience. The hostel has a good location, about 10 minutes walk to the centre of town and is in a nice quiet neighbourhood. The dorms are small, but it was great to have air conditioning in the middle of the desert! There were a few...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank kateO5045QH
Alicelodge, Manager at Alice Lodge Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi kateO5045QH, Thank you for taking your time and reviewing our hostel. I appreciate all the positives and negatives; we are in the process of upgrading our lockers. We'll see what we can do about the extra hooks/hangers! Our reception opens at 8:30 until 2:15 and then 4:30 till 7pm, we apologize if you sometimes weren't able to reach us...

Annapolis, Maryland
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The two of us stayed here for two days before and after going on a 4 day backpacking trip. The A/C was great and we got free breakfast and wifi and we had really comfortable beds. We were also super close (within walking distance) to the town and shopping areas. The only problem with this hostile was the girl working...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank maddi_b15
Poitiers, France
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

It's nothing extraordinary, it's a hostel, but I felt welcome, there's a small pool, people are friendly, showers are good. There is air conditioning, but it sometimes stops. But there are fans just in case. A breakfast is available. It remains a hostel in the desert, but honestly, it's a good place to stay in between trips.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank CXuor
Alicelodge, Manager at Alice Lodge Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi CXuor, Thank you for your positive review. There's nothing really I can add other than we do our best to make our guests feeling comfortable and I'm happy that we've succeeded! I wish you happy and safe travels, Alicja

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Was economical and convienient. The venue could benefit from some maitance particularly in their double rooms and entry doors to abulution block. Lovely staff. Very close to town via foot. Would stay again if I was required to visit alice again.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
2Thank emarsh_899534
Alicelodge, Manager at Alice Lodge Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi emarsh_899534, We appreciate you reviewing our hostel and that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for the feedback, both positive and about the need for some renovations. We are happy to address any issues that are raised to our attention. We wish you safe and happy travels, Alicja

Whangarei
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

In total I stayed in that Hostel for 3 nights and was the perfect accommodation for the my Mulgas Tour. You could easily store your big backpack there. My room was a four bedroom wich was quite cute. The only thing I didn't like was that they don't change the blanket and you just had a loose cover to cover...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Sophia S
Memmingen, Germany
Reviewed 19 March 2017

Friendly staff, very good WiFi, nice pool, clean room.... The rooms we stayed in had an air condition and a fridge. Free breakfast (Toast and cereals) aveilebal. Good choice to stay in Alice Springs!!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
3Thank bernhard524

78 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (72)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (37)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alice Springs hotels
2.4 km away
Crowne Plaza Alice Springs Lasseters
1.9 km away
Quest Alice Springs
Quest Alice Springs
#1 of 13 in Alice Springs
418 reviews
2.0 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Alice Motor Inn
Alice Motor Inn
#6 of 13 in Alice Springs
359 reviews
0.5 km away
Aurora Alice Springs
Aurora Alice Springs
#9 of 13 in Alice Springs
894 reviews
1.8 km away
Desert Palms Alice Springs
Desert Palms Alice Springs
#5 of 13 in Alice Springs
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Pool
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Alice Lodge Backpackers

Address: 4 Mueller St, Alice Springs, Northern Territory 0870, Australia
Region: Australia > Northern Territory > Red Centre > Alice Springs
Price Range: RM89 - RM244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Alice Lodge Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Alice Lodge Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Alice Lodge Backpackers staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Alice Lodge Backpackers staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“4 bed girls dorm! :)”
sophias877, 24 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Avoid being near the front entrance of the hostel; I was placed near the front my first night and was kept up all night by someone who was yelling violently from a room next to mine who I believe lives or takes extended stays in the front section. However, I was given a refund for that night and a room switch with no hestitations.”
Q4568TIlauraf, 17 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Take advantage of the little fridge in your room - nothing beats a cold drink upon waking up!”
ryanbB2813AL, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Air conditioning a little bit low ”
avetrani, 7 Feb 2017 | Read review
“14 15 16 17 basic”
peterdavidson1986, 25 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Hostelworld.com
US$41* /night
View Deal
PricelineUS$48
Booking.comUS$48
Agoda.com
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates