We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Kings Canyon Resort

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Kings Canyon Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,485 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,060: English reviews
Antwerp, Belgium
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

A motel style hotel with parking in front of the door. This is the middle of nowhere, so there is not much choice if one intends to visit Kings Canyon. Room with 2 large beds and a terrace. Difficult to cool the room in daytime. There is a bar, a restaurant and a shop opposite the hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter D
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

The spa rooms are great with an amazing outlook over rocky small cliffs. The view alone makes up for a small aging issues. Decor is a bit dated but clean and tidy. Sukin products were a nice touch. Nice pool area but a long ish walk from the spa rooms. Not surprisingly food is pretty expensive and limited but you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bannaua B
michellei811, Front Office Manager at Kings Canyon Resort, responded to this review

Dear Bannaua B Thank you for your review of your recent stay in our Deluxe Spa Room. We are always delighted to hear our guests have enjoyed the facilities and service we offer in this very remote part of Central Australia (Watarrka National Park). Our current dining options available the Desert Oaks Bistro include full buffet breakfast , café style...

Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

The rooms are large with good facilities. Have a small porch outside with shading. Bar and restaurent across the street and a nice spot for sunset viewing. Staff is helpful and inform you about the sights in the area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte R
michellei811, Front Office Manager at Kings Canyon Resort, responded to this review

Dear Charlotte R Thank you for your review of your recent stay in one of our Hotel Standard rooms at Kings Canyon Resort. All rooms have their own private verandah so guests can enjoy the natural bushland setting , bird watching and tranquillity of our surrounds amongst Watarrka National Park . Our Resort facilities and services include Carmichael’s Restaurant ,...

Grouville, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

This was a one night stopover as part of an AAT Kings tour to the Kings Canyon. As other reports have mentioned, this is a very welcoming, friendly resort situated in the deep outback convenient for access to the Kings canyon. The comfortable accommodation is spread over a range of single storey chalet type buildings which are well air conditioned...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brian W
michellei811, Front Office Manager at Kings Canyon Resort, responded to this review

Dear Brian W Thank you for your review of your recent stay at Kings Canyon Resort as part of your AAT Kings tour. Glad to hear you enjoyed the rooms and surrounds of the natural bush setting within Watarrka National Park. We are located in a very remote part of Central Australia , which does mean no mobile phone coverage...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We arrived here by bus from Uluru and it was very hot!!! The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful . We were fortunate enough to have a spar room and one side was plate glass. The view of the stars was unbelievable . The room was impeccably clean. For dinner in the restaurant we had one of the best...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rw309-mark1
michellei811, Front Office Manager at Kings Canyon Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of your recent stay in a Deluxe Spa room . We are pleased to be able to offer the best in Outback hospitality and facilities in our remote location within Watarrka National Park. Glad to hear our wonderful staff , including Matt , made your visit even more special . We look forward to your...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed three nights at the Kings Canyon Resort, and we loved every minute of it. Firstly, the setting is stunning. It really is in the middle of nowhere, with small red earth hills just outside your window (the biggest window being next to the spa bath - what a view!). The rooms are large, clean, comfortable, and most importantly,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sue V
michellei811, Front Office Manager at Kings Canyon Resort, responded to this review

Thank you Sue V for your review of your stay in one of our Deluxe Spa Rooms . So delighted to read you enjoyed the tranquillity of our natural bushland setting amidst the spectacular landscape of Watarrka National Park . We are very proud to be able to offer our hospitality services and facilities in such a remote location for...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

When you go to Kings Canyon you can stay at Kings Canyon Resort. It is a nice place with pool and restuarent. It is close to the canyon and they offer drinks at sunset. Our visit was outside the holidays but It is still nice.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brian N
michellei811, Front Office Manager at Kings Canyon Resort, responded to this review

Thank you Brian N for your lovely comments regarding your stay at Kings Canyon Resort. We are located only 10kms from Kings Canyon itself, which enables all guests to enjoy the remote facilities in style ! Our Sunset viewing platform with its portable bar and amazing views over the George Gill ranges and Watarrka National Park is a highlight for...

Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

In the middle of the outback this resort has a range of different types of accommodation. We stayed in the hotel which was in single storey arrangement. Beds were comfortable and the bathroom was adequate. You don't come here for a long stay but to access the local scenery. Don't expect Wi-Fi and mobile signals or extensive television channels. That...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Philip S
michellei811, Front Office Manager at Kings Canyon Resort, responded to this review

Dear Philip S Thank you for your review of your recent stay at Kings Canyon resort. We do offer a range of accommodation and camping options , including our budget Lodge rooms with shared facilities , Hotel Standard rooms - each with their own outdoor balcony and bathroom that includes a bath, and our Deluxe Spa rooms offering the ultimate...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

If you want visit the kings canyon..Just this place is really close but Dirty! Old! Room like prison.. better sleep in the car. They can't call this place "resort". Look like a ghost town. Please don't go there

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Odoardo S
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

As the only resort in miles they can price as they want. At hotels.com it claimed that the rooms should be 28 square meters, but the room was less than 20 and very basic. Bed was bad, after 2 nights our backs struggled. Toilet facilities was really dirty even if I came there 1 minutes after they cleaned it. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Arnt E
michellei811, Front Office Manager at Kings Canyon Resort, responded to this review

Dear Arnt E You booked and stayed in a Budget Double room with shared bathrooms and are priced as the cheapest rooms in our resort at only $129 per night These Backpacker Lodge style rooms are small, and designed for the budget travellers . We do offer upgrades to standard hotel rooms , which are the advertised rooms of 28...

526 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (515)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (91)
Viewed
Room/Suite (103)
Viewed
Dining (30)
Viewed
View from Room (36)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (27)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
1:49
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (217)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)

Near Kings Canyon Resort

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Kings Canyon Resort

Address: Luritja Rd | Watarrka National Park, Kings Canyon, Northern Territory 0872, Australia
Region: Australia > Northern Territory > Red Centre > Kings Canyon
Price Range: RM423 - RM1,118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kings Canyon Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 164
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Kings Canyon Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Canyon Hotel Kings Canyon
Kings Canyon Lodge
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Kings Canyon Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The spa rooms have a gorgeous view and are very private and quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles SueV503, 7 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Premium room is the Spa Room (and it's priced accordingly)”
 of 5 bubbles JeanieU, 13 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Take a room that gets morning sun as afternoon sun is intense.”
 of 5 bubbles jd1701, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Go in the quiet season to be able to change rooms if necessary!”
 of 5 bubbles samb101, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms on the ends of the Lodge are quieter as they are further away from the common kitchen.”
 of 5 bubbles , 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5