We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Kings Canyon Resort

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Kings Canyon Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,473 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Kings Canyon Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,052: English reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Upon entry to the reception it stank!! We booked a double room with shared amenities. When we went to our room there was a full garbage bag out the front (note there are signs up in relation to dingos and putting rubbish away) and the grass we had to step over to get on to the patio; yep impressed so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aimee M
michellei811, Front Office Manager at Kings Canyon Resort, responded to this review

Dear Aimee M Thank you for your comments regarding your walk in booking on 24.12.16. On arrival you requested the cheapest room we had available . At $129 per night our Backpacker Lodge double rooms with shared facilities, located within the Campground are what they are - basic , small and clean . The kitchens are used by all lodge...

Rome, Italy
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel has three levels of rooms plus camping. The lower level is in the camping area with no bathroom inside. Not particularly clean and not adapt to family. The middle level rooms have a bathroom and more space as well the beds and bathroom are clean and acceptable. Deluxe rooms are far better and the only I would recommend...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank scia69
michellei811, Front Office Manager at Kings Canyon Resort, responded to this review

Thanks scia69 for your impressions of your stay at Kings Canyon Resort . We are delighted to be able to offer a range of accommodation types within Watarrka National Park and only 10km from Kings Canyon itself . they are Budget Lodge rooms in double or quad shared rooms with shared bathrooms external to the lodge rooms, Hotel Standard rooms...

Maidstone, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here for just one night after a long drive from Alice Springs. The reception staff were not especially friendly, but they were informative and our standard room was clean, although it was in need of modernisation and some maintenance (loose taps etc). The bathroom in particular was very dated with a strange modular shower/bath unit retro fitted seemingly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gary S
michellei811, Front Office Manager at Kings Canyon Resort, responded to this review

Dear Gary S Thank you for taking time to review your recent stay in a Standard Hotel room at Kings Canyon Resort . It is very disappointing to read your opinions and comments of our staff and facilities. We would certainly have welcomed any feedback during your stay to help us improve on these aspects. I do hope you enjoyed...

Darwin, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Food was terrible, was offered spag bog for my son then to be told no we can't do that after waiting 15mins. The spa in the room didn't work. We were offered the keys to another room just to use the spa (didn't as this would mean having to move 2 kids under 6 and making more of a mess)....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kloe J
michellei811, Front Office Manager at Kings Canyon Resort, responded to this review

Dear Kloe J I am sorry to read of your experiences during your recent stay in a Deluxe Spa Room at Kings Canyon resort. Unfortunately our maintenance person was unable to rectify the issue with the spa pump at 7pm , and our team offered an alternative room for your family's use, not just the spa. The water supply throughout...

Germantown, Wisconsin
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

This was our first trip to visit Kings Canyon and we stayed in the lodge accommodations for one night. Our lodge was very clean and the shared bathroom facilities for the lodges were well-kept, but the beds in the lodge definitely weren't the comfiest. They were sufficient for the one night we stayed, but if you're not young or in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dr_j_now
michellei811, Front Office Manager at Kings Canyon Resort, responded to this review

Thank you dr_j_now We appreciate your comments regarding your stay in a Budget Lodge room within the campground . Sorry that you did not find the bedding comfortable, I do hope you advised of same at check out . we do offer upgrades to our hotel rooms subject to availability for a small charge , but as you said, it...

Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 7 December 2016

We stayed for two nights and upgraded to a room with an ensuite bathroom. The room was adequate with a terrace. The fence on the terrace could have been a bit higher as it doesn't offer a lot of privacy. The beds were comfortable. The fridge was small. The water supply was safe to drink but a bit smelly as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 2muchmusic
Orlando, Florida
Reviewed 5 December 2016

The use of the word "resort" is questionable. Two of the five eateries are closed at this time of year. Ate at Carmichaels, but understaffing made for long waits for service. Poor blonde woman did her best to cover guests, but definitely fault of management, not her level of service. Little bugs on our bed when we pulled back the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John D
michellei811, Front Office Manager at Kings Canyon Resort, responded to this review

Dear John D Delighted to hear you enjoyed the reasonable rate for your 2 night stay at Kings Canyon Resort, and especially our delightful staff at both Carmichaels Restaurant and the Thirsty Ding Bar . Thank you for your comments on how we may improve , we certainly appreciate the feedback and suggestions . regards Michelle Ikin Rooms Division Manager...

Innsbruck
Reviewed 4 December 2016 via mobile

A comfortable oasis in the absolute outback. You are so far out - no mobile reception. Big rooms with all necessary features (but for a safe). Excellent bath rooms - best water pressure of all hotels during the 3 week tour). A short walk to Carmichaels Restaurant. Excellent dinner, very good steaks, excellent barramundi fillets. Vegetables and salad to go...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank UrsulaHans
Alice Springs, Australia
Reviewed 1 December 2016

stayed here for my partners birthday, booked 2 budget lodge rooms. checked in and went to the room, opening the door we saw layers of dust on all the windowsills and corners of the room, also dead flies and other sorts of bugs lurking around. went to the other room and no difference at all also extremely dirty. went to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gamsadventures
michellei811, Front Office Manager at Kings Canyon Resort, responded to this review

Dear Gamsadventures Thank you for your extensive review of your 2 Budget Double rooms booking at $129 per room , per night with shared bathroom facilities . These rooms are designed for budget travellers and offer share communal bathrooms which are cleaned daily. We are located in the midst of Watarrka National Park which is home to hundreds of species...

Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed 25 November 2016 via mobile

A long drive before you actually get there... but it's a very nice hotel. We had a Deluxe Room, with a nice bubble bath and outside view. We enjoyed the sunset on the viewing platform and had a lovely dinner in Carmichael's restaurant. They also have a nice pool area and laundry facilities. So yes... totally recommendable!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WorldTravellers1980
michellei811, Front Office Manager at Kings Canyon Resort, responded to this review

Dear WorldTravellers1980 so glad to read you enjoyed your stay in a Deluxe Spa room with its amazing views from the spa bath to the rock escarpment surrounding our resort. Our Sunset viewing platform is very popular with all guests to enjoy the Watarrka National Park setting while watching the setting sun's array of colours on the George Gill Ranges...

528 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (517)
Viewed
Room/Suite (103)
Viewed
Dining (30)
Viewed
View from Room (36)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (89)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (27)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
1:49
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (221)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kings Canyon
0.0 km away
Kings Canyon Wilderness Lodge
Kings Canyon Wilderness Lodge
#1 of 1 in Kings Canyon
175 reviews
0.0 km away
Bullo River Station
Bullo River Station
#2 of 2 in Timber Creek
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Near Kings Canyon Resort

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Kings Canyon Resort

Address: Luritja Rd | Watarrka National Park, Kings Canyon, Northern Territory 0872, Australia
Region: Australia > Northern Territory > Red Centre > Kings Canyon
Price Range: RM393 - RM1,148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kings Canyon Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 164
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Kings Canyon Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Canyon Hotel Kings Canyon
Kings Canyon Lodge
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Kings Canyon Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Premium room is the Spa Room (and it's priced accordingly)”
 of 5 bubbles JeanieU, 13 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Take a room that gets morning sun as afternoon sun is intense.”
 of 5 bubbles jd1701, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Go in the quiet season to be able to change rooms if necessary!”
 of 5 bubbles samb101, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms on the ends of the Lodge are quieter as they are further away from the common kitchen.”
 of 5 bubbles , 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a quiet room”
 of 5 bubbles , 6 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay