We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Mantra on the Esplanade

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Mantra on the Esplanade
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,294 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,267: English reviews
Start your review of Mantra on the Esplanade
 Click to rate
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed yesterday NEW

This is our second stay in a one bedroom apartment. Beautiful view of the harbour. Clean room with everything we needed. Great staff. Nothing was too much trouble. Well done Mantra! We were on the 7th floor which was perfect. Stayed 6 nights so the room was so important. Drinks on the balcony every night - great!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank christinebT7636FJ
Darwin, Australia
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

Our second stay at the Mantra Esplanade for a local getaway. It's just a great place to zone out and enjoy yourself in a great city. Fast and friendly check in staff that were able arrange everything for us with a real smile on their face is a big win locally. Fantastic views of the bay from the balcony with...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ntjack01
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

This is a very pleasant hotel & I will stay again. My apartment room had views across the harbour with a separate sitting room & well fitted out kitchen. I slept so peacefully in this quiet and comfortable hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GenevieveMary
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Disappointing we had to ask for new battery in TV remote, hard soap, moisturiser and TV to be tuned correctly. 9GEM was tuned to 9HD which meant I couldn't watch netball on Sat night. For paying top $ shdn't have to ask for these things.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anne C
Mike B, General Manager at Mantra on the Esplanade, responded to this review

Hi Anne C My apologies for the TV remote battery - they get checked by Housekeeping during room servicing but I guess they can die at any time. TV channels as a commercial operator we don't have access to the same number of Free to Air channels as a Domestic user has due to system configurations for Foxtel and Pay...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Pleasant stay - comfortable spacious rooms (one bedroom apartment) with hotel centrally located to business district - staff attentive and very helpful. Second stay and have no hesitation in using again for future visits.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank robertneilmrb
Geelong, Victoria, Australia
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Best staff ever, so nice and helpful. Room had everything we needed. Buffet breakfasts lovely. Location in city, close to nightlife, shops, supermarket, hop on hop off bus. 15 minute walk to waterfront.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Debra D
Darwin, Australia
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We had a family weekend away. The view and location is excellent. Our room was old and in need of refurb. I had a three bedroom apartment with one TV. Bathrooms were not very functional, taps in the bathroom very very noisy, need repair. Aircon cold. I would avoid the restaurant at all costs. We order room service first night...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank P8299OUamandag
Mike B, General Manager at Mantra on the Esplanade, responded to this review

Hello P8299OUamandag Thanks for posting and I was concerned to read you did not enjoy your dining experience. Your stay information identified you'd ordered Spring Rolls, S&P Calamari and 2 Burgers with the Executive Chef being responsible for cooking the ordered. Please feel free to contact me directly to further review your concerns. Kind Regards Mike

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

again this was a pleasant stay ( having stayed here several times before, ( and I will again) for some reason the staff at breakfast were slow in their service. however the room was again very comfortable

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank caddyshak1
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I would have given an overall rating of 5 but a negative experience clouded my stay: in the first room I was given I noticed later that the toilet was very dirty. The man at the reception offered another room and kept looking for another room until he found one of the same size and set up. He also helped...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank ann756
Mike B, General Manager at Mantra on the Esplanade, responded to this review

Hi ann756 Thanks for taking the time to write - I have referred your toilet comment to our Executive Housekeeper for comment as this should never happen - all rooms are approved by a Supervisor before releasing. We'll also spend a little time couching the young gentlemen from Reception on communication. We hope to welcome you back again in the...

A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

We chose this hotel due to The Central location and reasonable pricing . We didn't expect anything fancy which was just as well because other than the lobby there wasn't. We were offered an upgrade with a kitchenette for a small nightly fee but as we planned to eat out we didn't opt for that. But having Coles in close...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Mike B, General Manager at Mantra on the Esplanade, responded to this review

Dear Guest (I'm sorry your profile was not available) Thanks for your feedback and my apologies for the door with a rattle and lamp issue. All items notified are immediately added to the Hotel Maintenance Log and attended to on the day - I'm unsure as to your situation but have forwarded it to the department manager for review. We...

246 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (213)
Viewed
Room/Suite (52)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (28)
Viewed
View from Room (26)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Other (83)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (33)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Darwin hotels
0.5 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin
0.9 km away
Vibe Hotel Darwin Waterfront
0.3 km away
Darwin Central Hotel
Darwin Central Hotel
#1 of 38 in Darwin
1,701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Mantra Pandanas
Mantra Pandanas
#4 of 38 in Darwin
694 reviews
0.4 km away
Palms City Resort
Palms City Resort
#2 of 38 in Darwin
836 reviews
0.4 km away
Hilton Darwin
Hilton Darwin
#8 of 38 in Darwin
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Mantra on the Esplanade offers guests an unrivalled location near Darwin Harbour and the convenience of close proximity to Darwin's CBD. The property boasts panoramic views across the harbour, out to the Arafura Sea and presents the ideal vantage point from which to experience a famous Northern Territory sunset. Accommodation options include 64 hotel rooms, plus 140 one, two and three bedroom apartments, all designed to reflect the local tropical style and comfortably casual laid-back ambience. Apartments also feature a large private balcony, fully-equipped kitchen and laundry and the convenience of an in-room office in selected apartments, providing modem and facsimile plus ISD/STD direct dial phones and voice mail message services. Mantra on the Esplanade offers 24 hour reception, 24 hour room service, concierge, outdoor pool, beauty salon, same day laundry service (excluding Sunday), business and secretarial services, tour desk and foreign exchange desk. Business guests can choose from two conference rooms, Bathurst and Melville rooms, accommodating up to 50 delegates. Conveniently located onsite is the Finz Restaurant and Bar boasting a range of contemporary a la carte cuisine choices. Guests can enjoy a cold beverage from the bar, or dine in style at the perfect location for a casual meal, romantic dinner or family feast. Mantra on the Esplanade is an ideal accommodation choice for travellers and perfect for people relocating to the Northern Territory or those on a long stay work assignment. Leisure travellers will enjoy the hotel as a base to explore the Territory's lively capital city and a host of stunning natural tourist attractions, all located within close proximity to Mantra on the Esplanade. Short and long-term rates are available. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mantra on the Esplanade

Address: 88 The Esplanade, Darwin, Northern Territory 0800, Australia (Formerly Saville Park Suites Darwin)
Region: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Darwin
Price Range: RM344 - RM1,232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra on the Esplanade 4.5*
Number of rooms: 204
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Mantra on the Esplanade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra On The Esplanade Hotel Darwin
Mantra On The Esplanade Darwin
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Darwin
#4 Luxury Hotel in Darwin
#9 Business Hotel in Darwin
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mantra on the Esplanade staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
Darwin, Australia
5 days ago
over a year ago
Ocean Grove, Victoria, Australia
over a year ago
Sydney, Australia
over a year ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Mantra on the Esplanade staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for ocean view”
 of 5 bubbles Hometown88, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a sea view room.”
 of 5 bubbles proyle, 6 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Harbour facing rooms are recommended but not all have balconies”
 of 5 bubbles brianwR6658FB, 6 Feb 2017 | Read review
“opt for a sea view”
 of 5 bubbles GoannaSydney, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Quieter rooms are facing the harbour..the other side faces backpackers and the bars”
 of 5 bubbles sachah357, 22 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5