We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Takarakka Bush Resort

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Takarakka Bush Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

277 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 275: English reviews
Montreal
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We booked a Takka Tent online from their website for 2 adults and 2 children for one night. Though we travel with a tent and gear, we wanted to get an early start in the am and avoid taking down our own tent. We planned to hike to Big Bend and overnight there the next day. We tried calling several...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank moremanoi
Takabus, Manager at Takarakka Bush Resort, responded to this review

It is always a pity when guests are not prepared to take the advice of locals and have pre made plans that we do not see as safe or appropriate for the season. We always endevour to explain the best way to see the gorge in the time that our guests have to spare. It appears you have grossly misunderstood...

Ipswich, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

very friendly and informative staff. facilities where clean and we thoroughly enjoyed a hot shower at the end of our hiking through the gorge. generous camp sites . there is a platypus pool if you are lucky you may just seem them. the beach/ creek was refreshingly cool although it wasn't very deep

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wendy M
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We had an enjoyable five night stay in the mostly renovated self contained cottage. It was fairly private and surrounded by trees and lawns where several pretty faced wallabies grazed and snoozed. Lovely! It had a small kitchen with basic equipment and good quality crockery and a full sized fridge. It was air conditioned and had several windows to enjoy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Batwoman2013
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

OMG!!! What a place. You have to go visit if you have not. It was out first time traveling across Australia and this place blew out minds. It was exactly what we were after and the staff at Takarakka are amazing.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Katmoser
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed 3 December 2016

We had a wonderfull stay. The studio was just perfect. A bbq and carnarvon underground the stars and wallabis all around. There are plenty of tracks and the national park is nearby. In the shop, there is not much for food. So bring your own. Look forward to the net time!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alex W
Reviewed 27 November 2016

We have stayed here before in a Takka Tent and loved the place. This time around we booked a powered site for 3 nights and stayed in our own tent. On arrival we noticed a large colony of Flying Foxes had taken up residence along the creek, which immediately put my wife off. The noise and smell of them got...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tracey E
Reviewed 21 November 2016 via mobile

No fridges in camp kitchens, but kitchens were clean and well maintained. Needed more bins. Not much information given upon arrival by staff, i.e.: about bats,swimming hole and platypus watching times. Camp site good,limited grass campsites. Facilities were clean. Great base for the National park.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sillybuggers2
Redcliffe, Australia
Reviewed 11 November 2016

After hearing good stories about Carnanavon Gorge we boarded our motorhome and went. On the resort (?) grounds we found almost no powered/unpowered sites with grass. Just leafs and dirt. Management implemented water restriction - they issued a board notice blaming customers for use of 80 mcub of water per day and overloading wastewater treatment plant. At the evening time...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kuba b
Emerald
Reviewed 6 November 2016 via mobile

We had an overnight stay at Takarakka with friends to visit Carnarvon Gorge. One night is not long enough!! We stayed in an ensuited Takka Tent. The accommodation was fantastic, the tent was spacious enough for two people, very clean and tidy and the bed was very comfortable. It was worth paying the extra for our own ensuite aa the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rosemarie K
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 4 November 2016

A beautiful place to visit, lots to see. The staff at the resort could not have been more helpful or friendly. The facilities were great, we had a very relaxing time. The wildlife are right on your doorstep, and if you want a night off cooking, their roast dinners are definitely the way to go.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Bronwyn W

184 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (158)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (123)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Other (26)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queensland hotels
346.5 km away
Ironbark Inn
Ironbark Inn
#1 of 2 in Barcaldine
21 reviews
239.8 km away
Raintree Motel Biloela
Raintree Motel Biloela
#6 of 8 in Biloela
25 reviews
406.3 km away
Moore Park Beach Motel
Moore Park Beach Motel
#1 of 1 in Moore Park Beach
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
534.8 km away
Coral Point Lodge
Coral Point Lodge
#1 of 1 in Shute Harbour
56 reviews
338.0 km away
Palm Valley Motel
Palm Valley Motel
#1 of 2 in Tannum Sands
22 reviews
399.6 km away
Rangemore Estate
Rangemore Estate
#1 of 1 in Maclagan
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Takarakka Bush Resort

Address: Carnarvon Gorge via Rolleston, Queensland, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Takarakka Bush Resort 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Takarakka Bush Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Takarakka Bush Resort staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Takarakka Bush Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Taken the studio!”
 of 5 bubbles AlexW535, 3 Dec 2016 | Read review
“If possible, book a site away from the creek . The Zamia grove camping area looked good.”
 of 5 bubbles 263traceye, 26 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Do not know I slept un my own bed.”
 of 5 bubbles 637kubab, 11 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Not a hotel.”
  • Sunset
 of 5 bubbles maggief836, 27 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Tent & caravan sites are very close together”
 of 5 bubbles sharony188, 5 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay