We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

iStay River City

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
iStay River City
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

388 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for iStay River City
See the most recent reviews
Showing 381: English reviews
cairns
Reviewed 19 April 2015

My twin sister and I stayed here 3 weeks ago on the weekend of March 28th & 29th. We live at opposite ends of the country and it was our birthday so Brisbane is half way for us. We wanted a property close to Queen street mall and the river for easy access to the river cats. As we only...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank twins64
Hotel M, General Manager at iStay River City, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay with us here at iStay Rivercity. I am extremely pleased that your sister and yourself had a thoroughly enjoyable weekend away and stay at iStay Rivercity. I will definitely being passing on your positive feedback to Ben and I am happy that he was able to organise...

Canberra, Australia
Reviewed 18 April 2015

What a find. Modestly priced, wonderful city location just a few short blocks from Queen St Mall. The 1-bedroom apartment was very spacious. It wasn't fancy, but not run down either. I loved the balcony. The bed was comfy and everything was spotlessly clean. My only criticisms are that the pillows weren't great (why do so many hotels have those...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank michelle863
Hotel M, General Manager at iStay River City, responded to this review

Hi Michelle, Thank you very much for your feedback provided on your recent stay with us here at iStay Rivercity. I am extremely pleased to hear that you found the apartment to be spacious and spotlessly clean. I will definitely pass these comments on to housekeeping in addition I will have the housekeeping manager check the pillows and replace any...

Brisbane
Reviewed 16 April 2015

We stayed in a 2 bed apartment on the 33rd floor. the apartment was spacious, but lacked personality,. The view was fabulous- we looked out over the city and the river. The location was . very convenient to the mall as well as walkable to .Southbank. For a family stay, it was affordable but the extras were not provided. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank muskie3
Hotel M, General Manager at iStay River City, responded to this review

Hi, We really appreciate you taking the time to review your recent stay with us here at iStay Rivercity. I am very pleased to hear that you took full advantage of the unique city location and were able to appreciate the view of the river and city. I am sorry that you found the room to be lacking some amenities-...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 15 April 2015

Two bedroom apartment 30th floor. Great views. Loved the balcony for breakfast in the morning. No shampoo as most hotels do. Very stingy with dish soap. Kitchen fairly well stocked with pots pans etc. We cooked breakfast daily and dinner one night ( 2 night visit). Room was clean. We were accommodated with 4 single beds as we are 4...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bisbeemum
Hotel M, General Manager at iStay River City, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay here with us at iStay Rivercity. I am pleased to hear that you took advantage of the kitchen and laundry facilities and that you found the room to be clean and spacious. As we are an un-serviced hotel we do not provide shampoo and conditioner in the apartments...

Reviewed 8 April 2015

Very good location, near Queen street mall ! You can walk to south bank too. Fantastic !! The apartment was clean, just little bit old. Nice pool and spa. You just have to bring your own consumables. I spent 6 nights in this hotel, very good time !

 Report
Helpful?
Thank marine l
Hotel M, Manager at iStay River City, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time to provide such great feedback. I am pleased to here you found time to enjoy South Bank and the other conveniently located Brisbane attractions. I will pass on the positive feedback about the apartment cleanliness to our housekeeping department. It is great to hear that you had a nice stay here at iStay Rivercity...

Darwin, Australia
Reviewed 7 April 2015

We booked this on the basis of good reviews, but left feeling disappointed. Check in was slow. One reception staff member was helpful, but others were not. Car parking a bit confusing and on one night was overbooked, so we wasted some time in search for a non existent space. As with other reviews, we also noted a strange garbage...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank darwingal2
Hotel M, Manager at iStay River City, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us here at iStay Rivercity. I am sorry to hear that you felt the check-in process to be a bit slow but I can assure you the staff do their best to make sure that they provide each guest with the same level of service and rushing the...

Warwick, Australia
Reviewed 7 April 2015

When I book, I check the excellent, average and poor reviews. This hotel was tops, great inner city location, reasonably easy to access for out of towners. Parking should be booked and costs (but arn't they all now). We got a good price for our room (booking.com), only to find upon arrival we had a two bedroom appartment at the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jude O
Hotel M, Manager at iStay River City, responded to this review

Dear Jude, Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a positive review about your recent stay here at iStay Rivercity. I am glad you found the location to be convenient and I hope you managed to take advantage of what Brisbane CBD has to offer. We pride ourselves on our customer service and I am very...

A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2015 via mobile

We stayed here with a group of girls as we were going to a concert at River Stage.... The location is fantastic! Walk to River Stage and Queen Street Mall - everything close. The units were great - modern and clean. The shower wasn't great and the lifts were a bit of a nightmare! We booked two rooms but they...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Hotel M, Manager at iStay River City, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at the IStay River City. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our location and found the apartments clean and modern. We apologise for the inconvenience caused due to the lifts. Checkout time can be a bit busy and housekeeping do have a short window to service...

Moree, Australia
Reviewed 21 March 2015

My friend and I stayed here for 3 nights. The moment we stepped out of the lift onto our floor, our nostrils were violated with the most God awful smell. At first we played a game called what is that smell (we both agreed it was vomit that had been steamed cleaned mixed with septic). Then we opened the door...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank kle82
Hotel M, Manager at iStay River City, responded to this review

We really appreciate you taking the time to comment on your recent stay at the IStay River City. We are glad that you found the rooms clean and enjoyed the location. It is disappointing to read that you were inconvenienced with the smell in the corridor due to a blockage in the chute which would have affected some floors. I...

Masterton, New Zealand
Reviewed 19 March 2015 via mobile

4 of us stayed here for a girls weekend. 27th floor. There was a terrible garbage smell in the corridor but couldn't smell it from inside the room. Rooms were spacious and the beds comfortable. The shower was amazing (water pressure). Staff very helpful and polite. Very clean and we had an awesome balcony. The gym was good compared to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Colleen S
Hotel M, Manager at iStay River City, responded to this review

Dear Colleen, Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at the IStay River City. It is wonderful to hear that you found our apartments spacious, comfortable, clean and beautifully presented; it is always great to have the additional space whilst travelling. We are glad that you were able to enjoy our location and found the...

191 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (155)
Viewed
View from Room (29)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (42)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (43)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (36)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.1 km away
Oaks Festival Towers
Oaks Festival Towers
#51 of 166 in Brisbane
578 reviews
0.3 km away
Oaks Casino Towers
Oaks Casino Towers
#47 of 166 in Brisbane
576 reviews
0.3 km away
Oaks Felix
Oaks Felix
#56 of 166 in Brisbane
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Oaks Charlotte Towers
Oaks Charlotte Towers
#57 of 166 in Brisbane
627 reviews
0.0 km away
Capri by Fraser, Brisbane
Capri by Fraser, Brisbane
#11 of 166 in Brisbane
716 reviews
0.0 km away
Four Points by Sheraton Brisbane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
iStay River City overlooks the Botanic Gardens and the CBD, and offers centrally located Brisbane accommodation. Hotel apartments at iStay River City are known for their contemporary style, convenience and amazing views. With a selection of 1 and 2 bedroom apartments, each boasting full length windows, full kitchen and laundry amenities and balconies averaging 20m² to really take advantage of the views and alfresco lifestyle, iStay River City is the choice of discerning business and leisure travellers. To be able to bring you exceptionally low rates, iStay hotels offer a different and more flexible level of service. If you have chosen to stay at an "IStay" property, you will receive the best available unserviced rate. You will have the choice of cleaning service options, at an additional cost upon check in at your Hotel. If your length of stay is for more than 7 nights you will receive a complimentary full cleaning service in the middle of your stay. If you are staying more than 12 days you will receive this service every 7 days. Amenities included in iStay properties: Tea/Coffee Starter Pack, Bath Towels, Bath Mat, Soap, as well as Kitchen consumables (Tea Towel, Cleaning Cloth, Dishwashing Liquid and Powder). Amenities not included in iStay properties: Hand Towel, Face Washer, Shampoo/Conditioner/Body Lotion, Laundry Powder, Scourer and Tissues. ... more   less 

Additional Information about iStay River City

Address: 79 Albert St, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Price Range: RM364 - RM674 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — iStay River City 4.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your iStay River City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Istay River City Hotel Brisbane
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from iStay River City staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from iStay River City staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you are a couple ask that you don't have 2 single beds together as it is quite uncomfortable.”
 of 5 bubbles jennak597, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Best views from higher floors but still very noisy.”
 of 5 bubbles Calliegirlgreen, 3 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Can be a bit noisy, so try not be on main street or higher rooms”
 of 5 bubbles garysW9180ES, 10 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Can't comment still angry about our money being taken from our VISA!!”
 of 5 bubbles PaulaMareeD, 6 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Wi fit free only for 30 minutes and expensive car park at 25 Aud per day. The higher the room, the better the view.”
 of 5 bubbles Malcolml371NU, 21 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay