We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Southern Cross Motel & Serviced Apartments

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Southern Cross Motel & Serviced Apartments
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

28 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Southern Cross Motel & Serviced Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Showing 28: English reviews
Reviewed 20 December 2016 via mobile

Rude staff unclean rooms there are better deals at other hotel / motels in Kangaroo Point To many prostitutes and drugs are going on here Police keep regular checks not good for families. Prices are to high for type of room and service. Never be going to staying there again. Thanks for reading Everyone

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank bubblesbabe73
Gerard C, Manager at Southern Cross Motel & Serviced Apartments, responded to this review

Dear bubblesbabe73, Thank you for your post, I'm not sure to what you are referring? Are you sure you are talking about this facility? Your comments seem to be in conflict and completely contrary to the majority of comments we are receiving from other guests. I find your post most offensive, nasty and inaccurate. I urge other travellers to ignore...

Reviewed 15 December 2016 via mobile

I would not want to recommend this hotel too many people who have kids the staff were very much nice no clean sheets and fresh towels available (pam) wasn't doing her job utensils were disgusting uting

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jamesbond0012
Reviewed 27 November 2016 via mobile

After reading other reviews and the managers responses thought i would give it a go but very disappointed. Staff were great but we were very disappointed with room 8, there was a exposed light fitting in the shower and a big blob of what appeared to be wet toilet paper stuck to the ceiling. The foxtell chanels couldn't be watched...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank glenn c
Willunga, Australia
Reviewed 18 October 2016 via mobile

Southern Cross are a three-star rated motel and deliver fine to those expectations. Dated rooms, comfortable beds and old and noisy air conditioners. Just the basics and fine if that is all you require. A few restaurants and takeaway options within walking distance.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank brettw_online
Gerard C, Owner at Southern Cross Motel & Serviced Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you Brettw_online. for your review. You are absolutely right. Southern Cross motel at Kangaroo Point QLD is a 3 star motel at 3 star prices. However, we have many advantages over other motels. We are an inner city motel with free secure off street parking, something you don't get at most other motels of any star rating. The cost...

Toowoomba, Australia
Reviewed 26 September 2016 via mobile

The staff were friendly, and the location is great but the quality of the room we stayed in was not so nice. Very weird layout of the room, ran out of hot water, no kitchen sink to wash dishes, uncomfortable bedding, air con wasn't working properly, very small bathroom, no wifi, no Foxtel and no pool. Feel as though we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank shanburney
Gerard C, Manager at Southern Cross Motel & Serviced Apartments, responded to this review

Dear Shanburney, I am very sorry to hear about your disappointing stay. However, I'm not sure if you are referring to our facility. With regard to wifi and Foxtel They are available in all our rooms. We have a pool and BBQ facilities which our guests use daily. Motel rooms are not the same as apartments, are not designed for...

Reviewed 17 September 2016 via mobile

Great to see this Motel Serviced Apartments is under new management. Recently been updated stylish decor very clean, The staff were very helpful and the rooms were reasonably sized and clean throughout everything in working order. Great price compared to other hotels in the area not far from the CBD and other restaurants and shops. Will definitely be back. Kym

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bubblesbabe73
Gerard C, Manager at Southern Cross Motel & Serviced Apartments, responded to this review

Dear bubblesbabe73, Thank you so much for your kind comments, It's very encouraging to receive such a glowing review. We aim to provide an excellent service and great facilities while keeping prices as low as possible.I have implemented what I call the 5-4-3 rule. To Provide: 5 star service, 4 star accommodation at 3 star prices. While our rooms are...

Bundaberg, Australia
Reviewed 24 August 2016

A very good Manager and he and all the Staff are very helpful in anything one wishes to know .Good clean rooms with all one needs and a good Restaurant . .A small swimming pool is ok .Very jamdu tp Bises ..Taxis and the City

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bevan S
India
Reviewed 21 August 2016

Stayed twice at this hotel which was during a cricket match in January 2016 when Australia played against India, next time was for a family outing in Brisbane. Place is good, kept neat, friendly staff, Woolworth, KFC are closer to this hotel. Only drawback is less parking space during season.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JK1425DAS
Gerard C, Manager at Southern Cross Motel & Serviced Apartments, responded to this review

Dear JK1425DAS, Thank you for your kind comments, We do fill up frequently these days as the word gets around about us as new operators. In the short time since we started running this facility, we have made many changes and improvements and continue to do so and our guests are taking note. We are receiving many nice comments and...

Reviewed 12 August 2016 via mobile

This is by far the worst accommodation I have ever stayed in. Before even arriving I had called up to double check my booking twice and they had lost it both times. Upon my arrival there was no parking available because all the parks were taken up by the people visiting the restaurant. Half the lights in he apartment didn't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alannah L
Gerard C, Manager at Southern Cross Motel & Serviced Apartments, responded to this review

Dear Alannah, Firstly, thank you for your feedback. We are constantly looking to improve our facility and service and we take all feedback very seriously and I am deeply saddened by your comments. I am so sorry you had such a terrible experience at our facility. I wish to assure you that is not the norm here. We are still...

Toowoomba, Australia
Reviewed 2 August 2016

I've been staying here on and off for work over the last half dozen years, and it's changed hands a couple of times and has seen some dodgy times, however the current 2016 management is GREAT. The rooms have been nicely done up, are cleaner than ever before, the rooms are wonderfully equipped and redecorated and the beds are COMFY...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank BeePriz
Gerard C, Manager at Southern Cross Motel & Serviced Apartments, responded to this review

Dear BeePriz, Thank you for taking the time to post such nice comments about us, The team and I try very hard to make our guests' stay as comfortable and pleasant as possible. We are still new here and we are making lots of improvements and it seems people like you are definitely taking notice. The word is getting around....

17 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (17)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.6 km away
Wellington Apartment Hotel
Wellington Apartment Hotel
#72 of 162 in Brisbane
193 reviews
0.6 km away
The Sebel South Brisbane
The Sebel South Brisbane
#97 of 162 in Brisbane
322 reviews
0.8 km away
Swiss-Belhotel Brisbane
Swiss-Belhotel Brisbane
#19 of 162 in Brisbane
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Central Hillcrest Apartments
Central Hillcrest Apartments
#96 of 162 in Brisbane
108 reviews
2.1 km away
BEST WESTERN Astor Metropole Hotel
3.0 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Gregory Terrace Brisbane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Southern Cross Motel & Serviced Apartments

Address: 715/747 Main St | Kangaroo Point, Brisbane, Queensland 4169, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Price Range: RM353 - RM481 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Southern Cross Motel & Serviced Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Southern Cross Motel & Serviced Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Southern Cross Motel & Serviced Apartments staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We stayed in 56A”
 of 5 bubbles pinak2013, 28 Jan 2017 | Read review
“higher floors = better views! :-)”
 of 5 bubbles daysygirl, 1 Jan 2017 | Read review
“ask exactly what room(s) you are getting and 'where'. Ask if anything is on at the GABBA during your stay as it gets 'very' busy.”
  • Kitchen utensils only.
  • 2seater lounge for a 2 bdrm apartment.
  • That view out the studio window is a walkway for the public. Hence the drapes are always closed.
  • Looking from interconnecting studio room into 1 bdrm apartment.
  • Dryer is outside on balcony.
  • Looking inside from balcony.
  • Nice showers
 of 5 bubbles boohi5, 25 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Just ask the Friendly Staff”
 of 5 bubbles BevanS324, 23 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Near to gabba”
 of 5 bubbles JK1425DAS, 20 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5