We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Jen Brisbane

HotelJen.comUS$82*
View Deal
#33 of 157 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$142*
US$82*
Great Deal
US$87*
US$87*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel Jen Brisbane
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

985 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 961: English reviews
Start your review of Hotel Jen Brisbane
 Click to rate
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The best hotel restaurant dinner I have ever had. Very authentic and The staff were happy to engage in conversation and were exceptionally helpful when they were needed. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Travllrrrrr
Jen H, General Manager at Hotel Jen Brisbane, responded to this review

Dear Travllrrrrr, Thank you for sharing your positive review with us during your recent stay at Hotel Jen Brisbane. These comments will only enhance the already smiling faces of the Hotel Jen team as they continue to offer that and deliver that “Jen” feeling. I look forward to welcoming you back soon and have a great day. Kind Regards, Zac...

Port Glasgow
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Lovely hotel with fab views over Brisbane. Really comfortable and gave us 1st class impression of Brisbane. Booked in for couple of days at end of holiday as well. Lantern tree is stunning. Great for getting a feel of Brisbane

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PortGlasgowDocs
Jen H, General Manager at Hotel Jen Brisbane, responded to this review

Dear PortGlasgowDocs, Thank you for positing such a positive review regarding your stay with us. It is a pleasure to hear that your room was clean and comfortable, and you thought our location convenient. I will share your feedback with my team as it will serve as encouragement to continually provide quality services. I hope to welcome you back in...

North Bay, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago

A great hotel, nice staff, very clean, comfortable room, free wifi. Close to public transit and pickup point for excursions. The on site restaurant was ok, but not a large selection, mostly Asian, price reasonable. Not many restaurants within walking distance that served dinners, but lots of cafes and places for a quick lunch.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ina C
Jen H, General Manager at Hotel Jen Brisbane, responded to this review

Dear Ina C, Thank you for your informative review of the hotel and surrounding area. We are proud that you recommend us and hope to welcome you back to Hotel Jen very soon. Don’t stay away too long and have a fantastic day. Kind Regards, Zac Hope General Manager

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The hotel is located a short walk from the city center. The hotel offers large and nice rooms. The Hotel was clean and had very friendly staff. Easy for parking, large spaces available .During this stay we booked without breakfast.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Remco V
Jen H, General Manager at Hotel Jen Brisbane, responded to this review

Dear Remco V, Thank you for your kind review of Hotel Jen Brisbane. We’re glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind Regards, Zac Hope General Manager

Gold Canyon, Arizona
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Location good, within walking distance to restaurants on the riverside. Hotel located in same building as the transit station and had food courts next door (which 2nd floor walked into this area). Our room was large with king bed with a corner view overlooking the city and river. The room seemed clean. The bathroom was large, but the shower was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CactusCaro
Jen H, General Manager at Hotel Jen Brisbane, responded to this review

Dear CactusCaro, Thank you for staying at Hotel Jen and taking the time to review your experience. We are really pleased to have been able to leave a lasting impression on you. Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind Regards, Zac Hope General Manager

Rockhampton, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel is located in a convenient location for transit to and from Brisbane Airport. Due to flooding up north we had an extended stay, and felt that the location was convenient for visiting Brisbane City as well as the suburbs, as the hotel is located very close to Roma Street station. The hotel is walking distance- around 1 km-...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Barbeng
Jen H, General Manager at Hotel Jen Brisbane, responded to this review

Dear Barbeng, Thank you for sharing your positive review with us. I am glad you enjoyed the simple pleasures we have to offer through our facilities and services. I do hope you got home safely after the floods. I look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Jen Brisbane soon and have a great day. Kind Regards, Zac Hope General...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

After a mistake with our queen deluxe booking for a city river view on level 11 (they had us booked looking over the railway lines which isn't great) we checked into level 8 twin room which had a nice distant view of the river. Located within walking distance to mall and kurilpa bridge it was a pleasant stay. Quiet room....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KerryH7
Jen H, General Manager at Hotel Jen Brisbane, responded to this review

Dear KerryH7, Thank you for your review and feedback which we take on board. I am sorry that you were not fully satisfied with your experience. I have shared your comments with those responsible so we may learn and improve where require. I do hope you have an enjoyable day. Kind Regards, Zac Hope General Manager

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

First time in Brisbane. very handy location for both walking and driving. Friendly and helpful staff. The only negative and this was slight, was the noise of the external cladding when the sun rose in in the morning. The heat of the sun made the cladding and windows creak as they expanded.

Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brett R
Jen H, General Manager at Hotel Jen Brisbane, responded to this review

Dear Brett R, Thank you for your kind review of Hotel Jen Brisbane. We’re glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind Regards, Zac Hope General Manager

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed for a couple of nights and, the position of the hotel is very good for exploring the city or if you are there for business. Check in and check out was both good and fast, the room itself is nice and with enough space but even if we where on the 11th floor we could here the noise...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Luca G
Jen H, General Manager at Hotel Jen Brisbane, responded to this review

Dear Luca G, Thank you very much for taking the time to provide valuable feedback! All our rooms have been fitted with acoustic curtains to block the noise of the trains. I apologise if this negatively affected your stay and if you return to Hotel Jen, we would be happy to ensure your room is located as far away from...

Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed at a central apartment hotel and decided to go to a hotel for more comfort. Having read the reviews paid a lot more than apartment and was disappointed. Decor tired. Bathrooms grubby and toilet brush had clearly not been replaced for some time...!! Asked for more towels and never received them. Not centrally located, next to train station but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank karenachocolate
Jen H, General Manager at Hotel Jen Brisbane, responded to this review

Dear karenachocolate, Thank you for your review and feedback which we take on board. I am sorry that you were not fully satisfied with your experience. I have shared your comments on Housekeeping with those responsible so we may learn and improve where require. I do hope you have an enjoyable day. Kind Regards, Zac Hope General Manager

511 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (183)
Viewed
Room/Suite (56)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
View from Room (16)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Other (78)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (309)
Viewed
Amenities (58)
Viewed
Deluxe Twin Room (26)
Viewed
Executive King Suite (32)
Viewed
Penthouse Suite (103)
Viewed
Dining (33)
Viewed
The Hotel (57)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.3 km away
ibis Brisbane
ibis Brisbane
#58 of 157 in Brisbane
1,507 reviews
0.9 km away
Four Points by Sheraton Brisbane
0.5 km away
Grand Chancellor Brisbane
Grand Chancellor Brisbane
#27 of 157 in Brisbane
1,407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Ibis Styles Brisbane Elizabeth Street
0.3 km away
Hotel Urban Brisbane
Hotel Urban Brisbane
#40 of 157 in Brisbane
745 reviews
0.1 km away
Meriton Serviced Apartments Brisbane on Herschel Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel Jen Brisbane, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts' first Hotel Jen in Australia, is located on Roma Street, ideally located close to the Central Business District, Queen Street Mall, Suncorp Stadium, Brisbane Convention Centre and South Bank precinct, the cultural and entertainment hub of Brisbane. Easy connectivity to greater Brisbane and beyond is right on my doorstep, with Hotel Jen Brisbane adjacent to the Brisbane Transit Centre, the hub for local and regional bus and train travel. My Deluxe rooms boast a spacious 34sqm with a bright and modern décor, configured with either a Queen, King or 2 Double beds. For those who are looking for a little more room, my Executive King rooms offer a very spacious 46sqm, configured with a King size bed. All of my rooms in Brisbane are furnished with comfy pillow top ensemble beds, a sitting area with either chairs or a day bed, high coffee table, and ample desk space for you to either plan your next day's adventure, or to put the finishing touches on that important work presentation. I know how important it is to stay connected, so I have included unlimited Wi-Fi internet access for all my guests while staying at any of my hotels. I have also embraced the coffee culture here and have provided Espresso pod machines in all of my rooms in Brisbane. Inspired by Asian street food and mixed with a modern Australian twist... Nest restaurant and bar, is the perfect place for lively conversations or laid back relaxation. I am also very proud to tell you that my very own 'Sky Garden' and hardworking Honey Bees, both located on-site, contribute some of the wonderful fresh ingredients you will find throughout Nest's tasty food and beverage offerings. At Nest Restaurant and Bar you'll find an à la carte menu to suit any craving. Open for breakfast with a sumptuous buffet, and à la carte lunch and dinner from 6:30am to 10pm daily with the exception of Sunday when Nest is open until 2pm. Nest is also the perfect spot for a refreshing drink at the bar or relaxing with friends over one of my famous coffees, cakes or light snacks. Mixologists have crafted signature cocktails and bevvies to be savoured and discovered. Nest Bar opens from 11am until late every day except Sunday, when we are open until 2pm. It's easy to explore Brisbane from Hotel Jen, with so much sitting within a short stroll from my doors, and everything else easily accessible by bus or train from the adjacent Brisbane Transit Centre. If you are a lover of gardens and nature then Roma Street Parklands and South Bank parklands are spectacular oasis' within the city, with each boasting 16 hectares of lush parklands, world-class eateries, with the later offering stunning river views and great events year round. If you prefer a little culture, then there is the Queensland Museum, GOMA (Gallery of Modern Art) and QPAC (Queensland Performing Arts Centre), along with the Brisbane Convention Centre (BCEC), which hosts numerous trade shows/expos, sporting and music events year round. Then there is Suncorp Stadium, only an easy 10 minute stroll away, which hosts some of the greatest sporting team's and music acts from just around the corner to around the world. Why not have a staycation with Jen when coming to support your team when they play our local Broncos, Reds, Roar, Firebirds, Lions, Heat or Bulls, or when our national Australia teams have a fixture. If shopping is what you love, then a 5 minute stroll to Queen Street Mall will provide you with global brand names and specialty shops from around the world, while those on the hunt for less main stream items, a two station trip on the train will bring you to Fortitude Valley, the hub of the Brisbane independent shopping scene. So whether it is business, a special event, family and friends, a holiday or staycation that brings you to Brisbane, I have got your comfort, cuisine and connectivity covered. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Jen Brisbane

Address: 159 Roma St, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia (Formerly Traders Hotel, Brisbane)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Price Range: RM365 - RM669 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Jen Brisbane 4.5*
Number of rooms: 191
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Jen Brisbane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Brisbane Hotel Brisbane
Brisbane Holiday Inn
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Brisbane
#19 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#23 Business Hotel in Brisbane
#33 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Jen Brisbane staff and other travellers.
15 questions
Ask a question
Lismore, Australia
Cranbourne, Australia
over a year ago
bb11 lancs
2 months ago
3 months ago

See all questions (15)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Jen Brisbane staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Bathrooms need some love but otherwise a lovely stay. ”
Travllrrrrr, 22 Apr 2017 | Read review
“We were given a corner room on the 16th floor, we heard no noise coming from other rooms and the halls were quiet as well.”
InaC689, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
“rooms on the corners have better views”
ashleymG9693GJ, 23 Mar 2017 | Read review
“12th floor and up are quiet”
Equitecnoc, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We had an executive suite on floor 13 which had views of the city and river.”
Ryokoka, 25 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
HotelJen.com
US$82* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$87
Expedia.comUS$87
TripAdvisorUS$87
View all 13 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates