We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Rydges South Bank Brisbane

Agoda.comUS$121*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$237*
US$121*
US$237*
US$121*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Professional photos
Rydges South Bank Brisbane
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,980 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Rydges South Bank Brisbane
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,952: English reviews
Qld, Australia
Reviewed 2 April 2016

Great location, couldn't get any closer to QPAC and all South Bank has to offer. The room was refurbished, we may have even been the one of the first in it. Had a 2 x twin and it had ample of space. All amenities were great. Concierge was also fantastic with luggage.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sim038
RuiLOzorio, Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review

Dear Sim038, Thank you for your kind review of your stay. I am glad to read that you enjoyed your time with us. Our newly renovated rooms are an exciting addition to the hotel and mark the start of a new phase for us at Rydges South Bank. I will pass on your feedback to our Chief Concierge so that...

Reviewed 31 March 2016

Can't beat Rydges for location on Southbank. Walking distance to QPAC, galleries and museums. So many wonderful restaurants to choose from on Little Stanley Street. Stayed in a recently refurbished room on level 4. Contractors have done a great job. Beautiful bathroom and modern appliances. Professional staff. Couldn't ask for better service. Only issue was renovation noise on upper levels...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sue T
RuiLOzorio, Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review

Dear Sue T, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback from your stay. I am glad to read that you enjoyed our new rooms. We have been undergoing renovations to our rooms since December 2015 and we are looking to be completed in May this year. Please accept my apologies for the inconvenience caused by noise...

Gold Coast, Australia
Reviewed 30 March 2016

We booked 2 nights and there was no indication the hotel was being renovated. On check in we were informed renovations were under way and the next day there would be no hot water between 11 am and 2 pm. The next morning jackhammers started at 9 am and went all day. Upong going to the pool area we found...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 17dirkv
Scott W, Rooms Division Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review

Dear 17dirkkv, Thank you for your detailed review in relation to your stay with us at Rydges South Bank Brisbane. It was disappointing to read the comments referring to a lack of communication from the Hotel in regards to the rooms refurbishment. Please be assured that there are certainly no intensions to leave our guests with a false impression of...

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 March 2016

We recently stayed at the Rydges for 7 nights and its in a very good location ideal for the Southbank area, museums, streets beach etc lots of bars & restaurants in the immediate vicinity. The problem was the renovations currently going on at the hotel. There was lots of noise from 6.30 am until 5pm and the balcony attached to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarah H
RuiLOzorio, Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review

Dear Sarah H, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback from your stay. I am glad to read that you enjoyed your time with us and that our team were able to make your stay more enjoyable and a highlight of your experience with the hotel. The hotel is located in an enviable position within the...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 27 March 2016

This is our second time at Rydges South Bank, chosen because we want something close to the Queensland Art Gallery and the Gallery of Modern Art. The rooms on the lower levels have finally been renovated so the bathrooms and beds are in good shape. The staff are very helpful and they do a delicious Aperol spritz in the podium...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JennaPrice
RuiLOzorio, Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review

Dear JennaPrice, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback from your stay. I am glad to read that you were able to enjoy our newly renovated rooms. We have received some fantastic feedback from our return guests and it is encouraging to see that the hard work we've put into the renovation is paying off. I...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 21 March 2016 via mobile

Was more than extremely disappointed. Rung the reservation department to enquire about a room for the night, they told me the price and the price for valet parking. It was cheaper through Qantas so I booked through them. On arrival the valet parking had increased in price and there was a note on the reception desk stating renovations were occurring,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Laura W
RuiLOzorio, Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review

Dear Laura W, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback from your stay. I have spoken with our Reservations Manager regarding the notification of works at the hotel. The QANTAS website should have been updated to reflect the closure of our gymnasium, spa and sauna due to renovations occurring at the hotel through to early March...

Port Macquarie, Australia
Reviewed 21 March 2016

We booked rydges and paid top rates expecting the normal rydges quality! We had no knowledge of renovations until we checked it, my husband hesitated, and asked should we go else where but we where assured they would only be working 9-4. This while not ideal, was liveable. 7am or earlier everyday we where awoken with renovation noise, one of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kimberley D
RuiLOzorio, Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review

Dear Kimberley D, Thank you for your review of your stay. Please accept my apologies for the issues you experienced during your stay. I would like to discuss these issues with you further and it would be greatly appreciated if you could contact the hotel at your convenience. I hope that we will be able to welcome you back to...

Emerald, Australia
Reviewed 21 March 2016

We got a 1 bedroom apartment which had plenty of room for my small family which included a 1 year old. There was plenty of room for the cot in the bedroom which meant we could relax in the lounge room without fear of waking our child up and the lounge room itself was very spacious. The room was a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cayne A
RuiLOzorio, Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review

Dear Cayne A, Thank you for your feedback from your stay. The hotel is currently undergoing a renovation project to its guest rooms and suites, due to be completed in May 2016. This update will rebuild the rooms from the ground up and marry the style and design with the recently renovated Podium Functions Centre, Soleil Pool Bar and award-winning...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 17 March 2016

I was warned prior there was a reno on but wasn't banking on the level of noise!! Needed the room to work in for 2 days and there wasn't a quiet spot in the hotel. I was on level 4 and it sounded as though there were three jack-hammers going all day long in the next room. When using the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ian H
RuiLOzorio, Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review

Dear Ian H, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback from your stay. Please accept my apologies for the inconvenience caused by our renovating team. As part of this project it is necessary to conduct impact works that may cause disruption to our guests. The team at the hotel will endeavour to minimise the impact or...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 16 March 2016

I only rate this as "average" because it's not "poor". First the good...the Doorman was a good first impression and its location is good. A lot of the interior was fine - but not great. Now for the bad - and there is a list. I agree with other posters that renovations were constant and REALLY disturbing - and I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rhysw552016
RuiLOzorio, Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review

Dear rhysw55, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback from your stay. I am sorry to read that you did not enjoy your stay and that several issues combined to create frustration and an inability to enjoy the hotel as expected. I would kindly ask that if you are able to contact the hotel, I would...

567 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (517)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (35)
Viewed
View from Room (91)
Viewed
Bathroom (34)
Viewed
Room/Suite (150)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
Dining (22)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
1:18
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (172)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (50)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.1 km away
Mantra South Bank, Brisbane
1.0 km away
Swiss-Belhotel Brisbane
Swiss-Belhotel Brisbane
#17 of 157 in Brisbane
392 reviews
0.5 km away
Menso at Southbank
Menso at Southbank
#118 of 157 in Brisbane
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Oaks Casino Towers
Oaks Casino Towers
#51 of 157 in Brisbane
657 reviews
1.2 km away
Stamford Plaza Brisbane
Stamford Plaza Brisbane
#24 of 157 in Brisbane
2,455 reviews
1.6 km away
The Point Brisbane Hotel
The Point Brisbane Hotel
#6 of 157 in Brisbane
1,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Bacchus
Bacchus
Cuisines: European, Australian
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Rydges South Bank is situated in Brisbane’s most enviable location, the South Bank arts and entertainment precinct. The hotel adjoins with the Brisbane Convention Centre via a walkway, it is only a few minutes walk to the Queensland Performing Arts Centre, the Queensland Museum, State Library of Queensland and the new magnificent Gallery of Modern Art. Downtown Brisbane, Treasury Casino and the Queen Street Mall are an easy 10 minute stroll away. With Bacchus South Bank & CBD Cafe, Bar and Dining both located at Rydges you don't need to go far for a fantastic food and beverage selection. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Rydges South Bank Brisbane

Address: Rydges Southbank 9 Glenelg St | South Brisbane, Brisbane, Queensland 4101, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Price Range: RM559 - RM1,409 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges South Bank Brisbane 4.5*
Number of rooms: 304
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Rydges South Bank Brisbane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges South Bank Brisbane Hotel Brisbane
Rydges South Bank Hotel Brisbane
Brisbane Rydges South Bank
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Brisbane
#35 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
#36 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#45 Business Hotel in Brisbane
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Rydges South Bank Brisbane staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Rydges South Bank Brisbane staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“all suites are great”
1911naomi, 23 May 2017 | Read review
“quiet rooms,”
2soothill, 18 May 2017 | Read review
“We had back of the building views Views over Southbank would have been fantastic, however we had a great deal, had nothing to complain about”
rodbrad, 17 May 2017 | Read review
“High floor with river views”
CMSlater, 17 May 2017 | Read review
“Rooms overlooking to Highgate Hill interesting”
219barryp, 17 May 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Agoda.com
US$121* /night
View Deal
Hotels.com
PricelineUS$121
AMOMAUS$237
View all 14 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates