We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Rydges South Bank Brisbane

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Rydges South Bank Brisbane
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,894 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Rydges South Bank Brisbane
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,867: English reviews
Reviewed 21 October 2015 via mobile

Attended a conference at the conference centre next door so the hotel location was great. Unfortunately, review goes downhill from there. Rooms are tired and very dated. My room was disabled so difficult to comment fairly on bathroom. Close to restaurants but definitely not worth the money. 3 star hotel with 5 star room rate.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank NatAUS44
Rui O, Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review

Deat NatAUS44, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback from your stay. The hotel will b e undergoing a complete renovation to its guest rooms and suites in December. This update will breathe new life into the hotel and will showcase what the Rydges brand has to offer. This will also bring the style and design...

Gold Coast, Australia
Reviewed 21 October 2015

The rooms are fine. The rooms on the second floor however have no view except of the convention centre, but in saying this, it was fine. We usually stay in a larger suite but of course it is more expensive but with a wonderful view of the river and city.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mightymac777
Zoe L, Hotel Duty Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review

Dear mightymac777, Thank you for your review in regards to your recent stay at Rydges South Bank Brisbane. The hotel offers a variety of room types to our guests and as you mentioned the suites are a great option for a more spacious area to relax and unwind, as well as enjoy the views Brisbane City has to offer. Thank...

Caloundra, Australia
Reviewed 21 October 2015

Love the position of this place right in the heart of southbank. Close to markets, pubs, restaurants and cafes. Staff very friendly and accomodating. Room and halls a little dated, could do with a freshen up. We where told this is happening shortly. Overall a great stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 4-Love-to-Travel00
Zoe L, Hotel Duty Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review

Dear 4-Love-to-Travel00, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review in relation to your recent stay. The hotel is lucky to be located in the heart of the South Bank Precinct with everything just a short walk away, making us the perfect base for business and leisure travellers alike. I am pleased to announce that the hotel rooms...

Hamden, Connecticut
Reviewed 19 October 2015

The Rydges South Bank is in the heart of a very interesting portion of Brisbane. Lots of places to eat, walk, and museums to visit. It offers an excellent breakfast which was included in the price of my room as was Wi-Fi. There is even a 6 plex movie theatre a few blocks away if you need an afternoon out...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mike l
Rui O, Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review

Dear Mike l, Thank you for your feedback from your recent stay. The hotel occupies an enviable position in the Brisbane CBD area, close to many great restaurants, boutique shopping and entertainment areas mere moments from our front doors. I am glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to...

Eden, Australia
Reviewed 17 October 2015

The Rydges is in a great location: handy to great places to eat from Eastern European, South American to Vietnamese. Rydges is located on Brisbane's very lively Southbank making it only a short walk to the museums, parklands, shopping and so much more! The rooms are comfortable and well appointed and indeed, spacious. A pleasurable stay!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SharonJB
Zoe L, Hotel Duty Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review

Dear SharonJB, Thank you for your fantastic review in relation to your recent stay at Rydges South Bank Brisbane. The hotel is located in the heart of the South Bank Precinct with an array of restaurants, cafes and bars all within walking distance and is the entertainment hub of Brisbane. Thank you for you comments in regards to the hotel...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 17 October 2015

Let's start with the positives. This hotel is ideally situated on South Bank - close to great restaurants, city beach, the river, rail connections, theartres. Couldn't be better. Our room was comfortable as was the bed. The lobby is very impersonal as are the staff. Going to our room we had to fight our way through cleaning equipment and trays....

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank TOD00
Rui O, Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review

Dear TOD00, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback from your stay. Please accept my apologies for the issues you encountered during your stay with us. I hope that we were able to resolve these issues for you during you stay and I have passed on this feedback to our Rooms Division Manager and Housekeeping Manager...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 16 October 2015

We stayed here recently as our base for our wedding. Although we weren't having our reception at this hotel we stayed here, myself, the bride got ready in the room before the wedding. I was a little disappointed with the suite. As it was the most expensive suite available I expected the furnishings to be newer and of a higher...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lissa1961
Rui O, Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review

Dear Lissa1961, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback from your stay and for choosing the Rydges South Bank Brisbane to celebrate your special day. I am happy to announce that the hotel will be undergoing a complete renovation to its guest rooms and suites, due to begin later this year. This update will breathe new...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 14 October 2015

Staff are excellent friendly and helpful. The hotel is in need of some basic renovations, fresh paint, updated furnings. Our daughter stayed and we had a pull out sofa-bed. sleeping on this would of been worse then sleeping on the ground outside, the metals bars could be felt. they did provide us with a another bed which was much better.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AussieCGS
Rui O, Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review

Dear AussieCGS, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback from your stay. I am excited to inform you that at the end of November the hotel will begin a complete renovation of its guest rooms and suites. This renovation will breathe new life into the hotel and will showcase what the Rydges brand has to offer....

Gold Coast, Australia
Reviewed 13 October 2015 via mobile

Pros: Great location to explore Southbank and inner Brisbane. Staff at reception friendly and helpful. Cons: Fold out sofa was unclean under mattress and very thin & saggy. The mattress was barely useable as it was like sleeping on the bare frame. Air conditioner on low setting was very noisy through night. As one person was asleep did not request...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank brettqwert
Rui O, Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review

Dear brettqwert, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback from your stay. Please accept my apologies that there were issues with your room during your stay. I have passed on this feedback to the Executive Housekeeper and the Food & Beverage Manager for follow up to ensure that we are able to make the changes necessary....

Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Reviewed 11 October 2015

My wife and I stayed here last night, fantastic location, great views, very clean rooms and very friendly staff. 5 minute walk to main part of South Bank (pools, markets etc.), lots of eatery's, bars within 2 minute walk. 15 min walk to Brisbane CBD. Slugged us an extra $30 for parking that we did not know about but all...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Andrew M
Rui O, Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review

Dear Andrew M, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback from your stay. I am glad to read that you enjoyed your time with us, and that you could explore the South Bank precinct and enjoy the city and river views from your room. Please accept my apologies that the valet parking price was not communicated...

525 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (475)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (148)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (32)
Viewed
Dining (22)
Viewed
View from Room (84)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (32)
Viewed
1:18
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (144)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (50)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.1 km away
Mantra South Bank, Brisbane
0.5 km away
Menso at Southbank
Menso at Southbank
#116 of 161 in Brisbane
19 reviews
0.9 km away
Swiss-Belhotel Brisbane
Swiss-Belhotel Brisbane
#14 of 161 in Brisbane
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Oaks Casino Towers
Oaks Casino Towers
#50 of 161 in Brisbane
623 reviews
1.1 km away
Meriton Serviced Apartments Brisbane on Herschel Street
0.9 km away
NEXT Hotel Brisbane
NEXT Hotel Brisbane
#16 of 161 in Brisbane
1,947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Bacchus
Bacchus
Cuisines: European, Australian
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Rydges South Bank is situated in Brisbane’s most enviable location, the South Bank arts and entertainment precinct. The hotel adjoins with the Brisbane Convention Centre via a walkway, it is only a few minutes walk to the Queensland Performing Arts Centre, the Queensland Museum, State Library of Queensland and the new magnificent Gallery of Modern Art. Downtown Brisbane, Treasury Casino and the Queen Street Mall are an easy 10 minute stroll away. With Bacchus South Bank & CBD Cafe, Bar and Dining both located at Rydges you don't need to go far for a fantastic food and beverage selection. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Rydges South Bank Brisbane

Address: Rydges Southbank 9 Glenelg St | South Brisbane, Brisbane, Queensland 4101, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Price Range: RM555 - RM1,256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges South Bank Brisbane 4.5*
Number of rooms: 304
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Rydges South Bank Brisbane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges South Bank Brisbane Hotel Brisbane
Rydges South Bank Hotel Brisbane
Brisbane Rydges South Bank
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Brisbane
#36 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
#36 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#45 Business Hotel in Brisbane
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Rydges South Bank Brisbane staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago
Surfers Paradise, Australia
over a year ago
Brisbane, Australia
over a year ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Rydges South Bank Brisbane staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Brilliant location for art gallery, concerts, theatre and the event centre.”
 of 5 bubbles DonnyColoundra, 25 Feb 2017 | Read review
“ask for 11 floor Queen Delux Riverview”
 of 5 bubbles irisrose48, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Sign up for the PriorityREWARDS before your booking.”
  • Nespresso maker
  • Wet bar, coffee station, microwave
 of 5 bubbles Hibiscus99, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
“If you're high enough, a room with a river view is definitely worth it.”
 of 5 bubbles MarkC1957x, 21 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Give up trying to book; go elsewhere!”
 of 5 bubbles 761gregt, 17 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5