We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Global Backpackers Waterfront

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Global Backpackers Waterfront
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

128 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Global Backpackers Waterfront
See the most recent reviews
Showing 115: English reviews
Reviewed 15 September 2015

Backpacker with nice cheap deal. You get what you pay for. Got for it if you would like to stay in the heart of the city. Stayed for three nights and I don't think I found a reason to complain. Not sure about the amenities over here as I didn't used any.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank shirish t
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 10 September 2015 via mobile

When i book the room there was a list of time i can pick for the check in . I ticked for 11am , however when we arrived there , the staff was saying that i cant check in til 2pm . She was saying that we could leave our baggage in the store room til we checked in, where...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sue L
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 August 2015

You get what you pay for. I was booked in to stay here by Travel Bugs either side of my cape tribulation trip. I was in a room of 10 beds. The only good thing about my stay was the people I met in my room. Most beds in the room had an issue. Mine was so springy and uncomfortable,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CaseySB123
Ciara B, General Manager at Global Backpackers Waterfront, responded to this review

Hi Casey, Thank you for leaving feedback with regarding your stay in our accommodation. I apologise that you did not sleep well during your visit. We are currently on a rolling replacement of our mattresses and will look into the mattresses in this room as well as the sturdiness of the bed frames. Unfortunately in a dorm other travelers can...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 5 August 2015

Only stayed overnight due to being told I couldn't extend my stay in the room i was in, due to no space and therefore was told I'd have pay extra. Also my friend stayed the night and I wasn't able to go in her room even though there was spare beds. I was kept up all night by people coming...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bethany M
Ciara B, General Manager at Global Backpackers Waterfront, responded to this review

Hi Bethany, I am sorry that we were unable to book you into the same room as your friend, as you can imagine we have limited availability in each room. If requested we will do our best to accommodate guests wherever we can, although there may have been spare beds in the room, these will have been reserved by other...

Eden, Australia
Reviewed 3 August 2015

Do I wish I read the reviews here first! We had a terrible stay at this place. Even though we stayed in private room hoping it would be quieter than a dorm, we were kept up all night until about 4:30 am. The sound seems to carry up the courtyard and we could hear every voice, door click and drunken...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shannonwolo
Woy Woy, Australia
Reviewed 27 July 2015

I got a single room for $42 for 4x nights. There are *NO WINDOWS* in *ANY* of the Single Rooms, only 1x chair, and a Single bed. There is an air-conditioner and fan; it was cool all throughout the room. It has a shared bathroom & shower on each floor, which I was able to access with no problems. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AlexP-WoyWoy
Reviewed 6 July 2015 via mobile

A friend and I stayed in a private dorm for $50 a night. It's literally a double bed in a room so I've stayed in better as there were no towels or TV included but it was fine. There was nothing wrong with the hostel and I had a hot shower every single time which is amazing for a hostel!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Becky W
Ciara B, General Manager at Global Backpackers Waterfront, responded to this review

Hi Becky, We really appreciate the feedback you have given us on your stay. As you said the rooms do not include a TV or a towel but linen is provided as well as an air conditioning unit in each room and a fan. We do have a double deluxe room in our other Cairns hostel, Global Central which has...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 2 July 2015

So if you are looking for a good cheap place with a good location, than this is your place. Otherwise I would totally not recommend this at all. The reception lady was useless and not very helpful at all. I was left with unanswered questions and not much assistance to make my stay great. Plus also had no clue where...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Caity H
Ciara B, General Manager at Global Backpackers Waterfront, responded to this review

Hi Caity, Thanks for taking time to let us know about your stay. I apologise that the receptionist couldn't answer your questions, we do have some new staff so we will make sure that they know the answers to general questions that may come up regarding the area. We have changed our policy on music into the hostel before 8am....

Reviewed 5 June 2015 via mobile

Booked to stay for 2 nights, am an australian resident travling domestically and not carrying a passport, was then refused my booking for not being able to produce a passport. Aussies beware. Apart from the travel desk they rest of the staff are not very helpful, when i asked the "lady" at reception if she could call and confirm with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Clint O
Ciara B, General Manager at Global Backpackers Waterfront, responded to this review

Hi Clint, As discussed with you on your facebook review, it does state in the confirmation of the booking that we need passport ID from our guests upon check-in. Our staff provided you with the correct details regarding the booking, I understand that you felt that they were inexperienced however, the information given was consistent and correct. We do also...

West Midlands
Reviewed 28 April 2015

The first room I stayed in was boiling hot, so I stayed in my friends room. Apparently you need to ask reception for the aircon remote? The price is ok, any dealing with the girls in reception in the day is like pulling teeth. They are RUDE and unhelpful. Literally the only rude staff I've met while travelling. The place...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SShaw90
Ciara B, General Manager at Global Backpackers Waterfront, responded to this review

Thanks for leaving us feedback about your time at the hostel. The air conditioning units are generally self controlled with wall switches in the rooms, however, some do require a remote. Our reception staff will always arrange this to be switched on if needed as soon as possible. Each room is also equipped with a ceiling fan if the air...

15 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.3 km away
Pacific Hotel Cairns
Pacific Hotel Cairns
#7 of 66 in Cairns
389 reviews
0.1 km away
Cairns Waterfront Backpackers
0.2 km away
Global Backpackers Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Il Palazzo Boutique Apartments Hotel
0.1 km away
Jazz Cairns Backpackers
Jazz Cairns Backpackers
#54 of 88 in Cairns
38 reviews
0.1 km away
Flying Monkey Backpackers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Global Backpackers Waterfront

Address: 67 The Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Price Range: RM174 - RM174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Global Backpackers Waterfront 2*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Global Backpackers Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Global Backpackers Waterfront staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Global Backpackers Waterfront staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Just tell them if you want anything change”
 of 5 bubbles cryssoue, 26 Jul 2016 | Read review
“if travelling in a pair, private room with the '4nights pay for 3' deal will give you dorm bed prices for a private room.”
 of 5 bubbles , 23 May 2016 | Read review
“choose another hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles deanlin2015, 25 Dec 2015 | Read review
“Be aware that none of the Single Rooms have any Windows.”
 of 5 bubbles AlexP-WoyWoy, 26 Jul 2015 | Read review
“3rd floor - it is a lot of stairs. Stay on the second if possible :)”
 of 5 bubbles 25caityh, 2 Jul 2015 | Read review
5 of 5