We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Rydges Plaza Cairns

Booking.comUS$96*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$116*
US$96*
Great Deal
US$97*
US$97*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Rydges Plaza Cairns
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

451 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Rydges Plaza Cairns
See the most recent reviews
Showing 433: English reviews
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 28 March 2016

You know a hotel is old when reception hands you a physical key with a browning tag fitted in tacky plastic. This sums up the physical state of the Rydges Plaza Cairns i.e. old with a poor appearance. So why does it cost so much to stay there? On average, I paid approximately $150 a night and for what?! Old...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank cn187
Joel D, General Manager at Rydges Plaza Cairns, responded to this review

Dear Trip Advisor Readers I would like to point out once this complaint was received the guest was contacted directly and the issue resolved. It is a shame these issues when experienced are not brought up at the time of the incident so we might correct the problem and resolve the issue immediately. Joel Day General Manager

Townsville, Australia
Reviewed 25 March 2016

We all know you need to read a book rather than judge it by its cover, same for this place. Looks nice but ..... seriously, it's a tired, old hotel with a cheap make over to try and cover up its many flaws. Try ants in every space, thread bare sheets (that was a shock!) tired accommodation and I even...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SandD4810
Joel D, General Manager at Rydges Plaza Cairns, responded to this review

Dear SanD4810, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. If you give us a chance to earn...

Sydney
Reviewed 25 March 2016 via mobile

I am surprised Rydges puts their name to this hotel. I booked this hotel for a business visit because of the location and the Rydges brand. But it did not live up to the Rydges brand. I arrive late and the person on reception was helpful (nothing out of the ordinary) but it went down hill from here. There is...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank FDS100
Joel D, General Manager at Rydges Plaza Cairns, responded to this review

Dear FDS100, Thank you for providing feedback form your recent stay and I am sorry to hear we fell short of your expectations. We are aware the property is old which is why we are currently commencing a soft refurbishment of all hotel rooms and corridors including painting and soft furnishings. In regards to your dining experience I will be...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 20 March 2016

overall OK hotel. Bathroom is a bit wet and difficult to dry. I also feel the room carpet is slightly smelly. Also interesting enough there is no microwave available to the guest . Cannot heat up the take away food before trip

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sunrain321
Joel D, General Manager at Rydges Plaza Cairns, responded to this review

Dear Jeremy, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. If you give us a chance to earn...

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewed 25 February 2016

We stayed in this hotel for two nights and had an experience of most dirty hotel in the world. I really do not understand how the Thomas Cook Management is offering this hotel to its customers claiming that it is a 4 star hotel!! The beds were uncomfortable, with dirty bed sheets, no digital safety locker, leaking taps in the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank abheejeetde
Joel D, General Manager at Rydges Plaza Cairns, responded to this review

Dear Abheejeetde Thank you for your feedback however I am a little confused with your reference to Thomas Cook Management and would like to speak with you further about this. In regards to room cleanliness this is the first I have heard of your complaint. When a guest does not bring an issue to our attention it prevents us from...

Paris, France
Reviewed 22 February 2016

We are quite easy travelers but this hotel was far below our expectations, especially for that price rate! The room was old, dirty and very smelly. AC did not work well. Windows are not isolated at all. DO NOT take a Pool view room as it means also Night Club view! We had to sleep with our ear plugs! The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank carine382
Joel D, General Manager at Rydges Plaza Cairns, responded to this review

Dear Carine Thank you for your review and I am sorry the hotel did not meet your expectations. Rydges Plaza is a older property which is something we are aware of. We are currently taking measures to refresh the property with a repainting schedule currently being put in place for all guest corridors and rooms. We are also sourcing new...

Cairns, Australia
Reviewed 17 February 2016

we were delighted to be offered an upgrade to the suite on the tenth floor which was incredibly good. Spacious, clean, nice furniture, stunning views. but the bed! The bed was easily the best we have ever had in a hotel (and we have stayed in plenty). The pillows were also perfect which made for an excellent sleep. We frequented...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Debbie B
Joel D, General Manager at Rydges Plaza Cairns, responded to this review

Dear Debbie B What a fantastic review! I am so glad you enjoyed your time with us and was able to experience all we offer here at Rydges Plaza Cairns. Looking forward to welcoming you back for you next little getaway! Kind Regards Joel Day General Manager

Reviewed 10 February 2016 via mobile

I stayed here for one night for business. When I walked in the room, I was greeted with a strong smell of mould which quickly became overpowering. I contacted reception who advised me that there were no other rooms and they would send a team member from housekeeping. He did arrived promptly with some tea tree oil and a machine...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kmross01
Joel D, General Manager at Rydges Plaza Cairns, responded to this review

Dear Kmross01 Thank you for your feedback and I am terribly sorry for the issues you experienced during your short stay with us. I will be following up with the relevant departments and addressing these issues immediately. Joel Day General Manager

Cairns, Australia
Reviewed 1 February 2016 via mobile

Pretty much exactly what we expected, after reading the reviews.. we were locals looking for a room to sleep in town for the night. Rooms could use a makeover, same goes for the decor. if we were paying full price (we got a low season discount) I would have been disappointed, but at $100 a night including breakfast for 2...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank jamk07
Joel D, General Manager at Rydges Plaza Cairns, responded to this review

Hi Busty M Thank you for your review from your recent stay. I am sorry we didn't provide that WOW factor and hope we have an opportunity to exceed your expectations in the future. I hope this finds you well. Joel Day General Manager

Port Moresby, Papua New Guinea
Reviewed 24 January 2016 via mobile

Stayed with my family at Rydges Plaza Cairns and it was amazing. The location is convenient and at the centre of Cairns CBD. 5mins walk to Cairns Central shopping Centre or another 5mins walk to the esplanade. Rydges Plaza will always be my first choice whenever I visit Cairns 👍

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Elizabeth N
Joel D, General Manager at Rydges Plaza Cairns, responded to this review

Hi Elizabeth N Thank you for the glowing review and I hope we see you again! Joel Day General Manager

202 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (179)
Viewed
Room/Suite (44)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (25)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (93)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (4)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.3 km away
Park Regis City Quays
Park Regis City Quays
#14 of 64 in Cairns
525 reviews
0.4 km away
Pacific Hotel Cairns
Pacific Hotel Cairns
#7 of 64 in Cairns
438 reviews
1.0 km away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#10 of 64 in Cairns
1,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Il Centro Apartment Suites
0.1 km away
Hides Hotel Cairns
Hides Hotel Cairns
#58 of 64 in Cairns
333 reviews
0.3 km away
Mid City Luxury Suites
Mid City Luxury Suites
#42 of 64 in Cairns
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Modernly appointed rooms overlooking the Cairns CBD. 5 minutes walking distance from the Cairns Convention Centre, Reef Casino, dining precinct, Birch carroll and Coyle cinemas and Cairns Central shopping centre. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Rydges Plaza Cairns

Address: Cnr Grafton and Spence Streets, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Price Range: RM435 - RM670 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rydges Plaza Cairns 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rydges Plaza Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Plaza Cairns Hotel Cairns
Rydges Plaza Hotel Cairns
Cairns Rydges Plaza Hotel
Hotel Style:
#31 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Rydges Plaza Cairns staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
1 month ago
1 month ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Rydges Plaza Cairns staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I was looking south and room view was good and entertaining.”
246PeterV, 26 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Stay away till they do a serious refurbishment”
MaxA84, 23 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Check the room before you unpack”
  • Black stuff on the ceiling - more prominent around the A/C vent
amits727, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Level 10 had a nice view.”
12stefaniem, 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Higher floors have better views.”
wildbrumby58, 13 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$96* /night
View Deal
Orbitz.comUS$97
Expedia.comUS$97
TripAdvisorUS$96
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates