We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Rydges Tradewinds Cairns

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Rydges Tradewinds Cairns
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,310 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Rydges Tradewinds Cairns
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,183: English reviews
Reviewed 4 June 2015

I am a Club member and have stayed at this ridges 3 time in the last 5 months. I booked a room for 2 adults 2children. On arrival only two towels, so i went to reception to grab more. There was four towels in room wen we left for the morning but on return only two towels again in apartment....

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Carly K
Wallingford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 June 2015

A pleasant hotel but not, I feel deserving a 4-star rating. Receptionists were very pleasant,helpful and welcoming. The room was definitely 'tired' with grouting missing from the bathroom tiles and odd spots on mould along the side of the bath.. The Wi Fi connection was dreadful when I complained, I was told it worked if I stood out on the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Longfellow1928
SLewisatRydges, Manager at Rydges Tradewinds Cairns, responded to this review

Hello Longfellow1928, Thank you for your recent review of Rydges Tradewinds, We are sincerely sorry that your stay was not up to standard, however pleased that staff throughout the restaurant and hotel offered friendly and efficient service. We are sorry to hear the Wi-Fi connection was not as expected, and that you felt the rooms were tired. We appreciate any...

Ipswich, Australia
Reviewed 3 June 2015

Arrived late in the afternoon. Difficult to find driveway to building as entry is in Abbott Street. Address is always supplied as Esplanade. Drove around the block a few times before finding entrance. Room smelled funky. Room clean . Room, in particular the bathroom was dated and a bit worn. Front door would take three goes before it would open....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kathryn B
SLewisatRydges, Manager at Rydges Tradewinds Cairns, responded to this review

Hello Kathryn B, Thank you for your review of Rydges Tradewinds, and choosing to stay with us. We appreciate you bringing these issues to our attention, however it is a shame they were not brought to the reception staff's attention for immediate action. We pride ourselves on having warm and welcoming staff who are willing to help any guest, no...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 2 June 2015 via mobile

I arrived late one night on a business trip, was directed to an elevator and told to find parking on the street or out the back of the hotel. The room was large with a queen bed and single bed. The TV was stuck on a cabinet facing neither bed and lighting was poor. There was nothing in the minibar...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brissiegurl
SLewisatRydges, Manager at Rydges Tradewinds Cairns, responded to this review

Hello Brissiegurl. Thank you for your recent review of Rydges Tradewinds and choosing to stay with us during your visit to Cairns, We are very disappointed to hear you didn't enjoy every aspect of your stay, and assure you the service received upon check in not that of Rydges standards. If you wish to discuss any of these issues further,...

Essex
Reviewed 30 May 2015

An avarage hotel which is being updated -the GPS took us to the old entrance which is now the restaurant -we had to go around to the other side of the hotel. It was a long march along coridoors to our tired room. A plus was that the hotel is on the seafront, just along from the restaurants and shops.Watch...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gladys45
SLewisatRydges, Manager at Rydges Tradewinds Cairns, responded to this review

Hello Gladys45, Thank you for your recent review of Rydges Tradewinds, We are disappointed to hear your experience wasn't entirely positive, however very appreciative that you bought this to our attention, If you would like to discuss these issues further, please feel free to contact us on (07) 4053 0300 Regards, Samara & the Rydges Team

Reviewed 28 May 2015 via mobile

It's great for the price and location and also if you want something stolen from your hotel room. We forgot a piece of clothing in the wardrobe when we checked-out and despite following-up, they've been unable to find it. I don't think I'll be staying here again. Also, had to change rooms because the aircon was spitting water at us...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Tui0200
SLewisatRydges, Manager at Rydges Tradewinds Cairns, responded to this review

Hello Tui0200, Thank you for your recent review of Rydges Tradewinds, We are sincerely sorry for the unfortunate encounter you had whilst staying with us - we assure you this does not happen often, we are very disappointed it wasn't followed up further, If you wish, we would be more than happy to discuss these issues - they are absolutely...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 28 May 2015

staying at the trade winds itself was enjoyable, staff were attentive and friendly. one issue is the rooms, in the first room i stayed in the AIr con looked like it hadn't been serviced for a while and had started leaving black ( dirt) stain marks directly outside the vent where it was blowing the air across the ceiling. the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank thebunneys
SLewisatRydges, Manager at Rydges Tradewinds Cairns, responded to this review

Hello thebunneys, Thank you for your recent of review of Rydges Tradewinds and choosing to stay with us during your stay in Cairns. We are thrilled to hear your stay was enjoyable and the staff provided friendly service. we are concerned however about the state of the room - we are curious as to whether you brought these issues to...

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 27 May 2015

I chose to stay here as it was close to a venue I was attending during my overnight stay in Cairns. My check in was very quick,as was check out and the staff were helpful. My room was clean and quiet and I would happily stay here again

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mel_S_Perth
SLewisatRydges, Manager at Rydges Tradewinds Cairns, responded to this review

Hello Mel_S_Perth, Thank you for your recent review of Rydges Tradewinds and choosing to stay with us during your overnight stop off. We are thrilled to hear the hotel provided everything you needed during your stay, and check in and check out was easy. We do hope to see you again soon when you decide to visit Cairns, Regards, Samara...

Bhuj, India
Reviewed 27 May 2015

There was no to guide us to the room. Staff was very scanty though reception was courteous. Too many ants visited room which gave unhealthy feeling. Not too clean hotel or rooms and not sure about swimming pool.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank shreepathlab
SLewisatRydges, Manager at Rydges Tradewinds Cairns, responded to this review

Hello shreepathlab, Thank you for your recent review of Rydges Tradewinds, We are very disappointed to hear you did not have a positive experience with us, however we are grateful you took the time to let us know about your issues, If there is anything else you wish to discuss, please feel free to contact the hotel on (07) 4053...

Adelaide
Reviewed 27 May 2015

We recently stayed at the Rydges Tradewinds Hotel in Cairns. The hotel is in a quiet location yet it is only a 5 minute walk to the Esplanade, cafes and restaurants and a 15 minute walk to the Pier One Shopping Centre. The hotel is reasonably priced considering it is within easy walking distance to main attractions. Our room was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank KapoAdelaide
SLewisatRydges, Manager at Rydges Tradewinds Cairns, responded to this review

Hello KapoAdelaide, Thank you for your recent review of Rydges Tradewinds and choosing to stay with us during your stay in Cairns! We are thrilled to hear you loved our location, and the convenience, we are however disappointed to hear that our staff, and the amenities were not up to your standards, If there is anything further you wish to...

670 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (470)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (26)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
View from Room (70)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (82)
Viewed
Bathroom (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (104)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (145)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (187)
Viewed
Deluxe Waterview King Room (40)
Viewed
Executive Ocean View Room (46)
Viewed
Ocean King Room (33)
Viewed
Pool (19)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
The Hotel (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.1 km away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#10 of 66 in Cairns
1,009 reviews
0.4 km away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
0.2 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside
1.2 km away
Park Regis City Quays
Park Regis City Quays
#13 of 66 in Cairns
510 reviews
0.9 km away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Our Cairns hotel suites are convenient to Cairns lagoon precinct, where guests can take a dip in the clear, blue water or enjoy sunning on sandy shores. Nearby departure points for The Great Barrier Reef make it easy for guests staying in our Cairns hotel accommodation to explore its incredible natural beauty. The Cairns city centre is also within walking distance and offers premier area shopping and dining hotspots. We offer 246 Cairns hotel rooms exceptionally equipped with desirable features. Most rooms open onto a private balcony overlooking scenic views of the ocean, tropical gardens and swimming pool. All rooms are en-suite and boast complimentary WI-FI, a mini-bar, iron and ironing board and secure safe. Rydges Tradewinds is also pleased to offer recently released movies and games for hire on tablet computers. The cost is just $15 per 24 hours for a tablet which plugs directly into your room TV. Our Cairns hotel executive suites and ocean front rooms include luxurious signature Rydges Dream Beds where guests can rest from the adventures of the day. A variety of Cairns hotel rooms are available to perfectly suit those seeking business, leisure or family accommodation. Dining is available at the onsite restaurant, Drift on the Esplanade, where guests can enjoy a delicious breakfast, lunch or dinner overlooking the Coral Sea. Spa by the Sea offers guests seeking relaxation luxurious onsite spa treatments. Those staying at the hotel for a Cairns event will appreciate its conference and events facilities, capable of hosting up to 500 guests. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Rydges Tradewinds Cairns

Address: 137 The Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Tradewinds Esplanade)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Price Range: RM393 - RM3,409 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rydges Tradewinds Cairns 4*
Number of rooms: 245
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Rydges Tradewinds Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Tradewinds Cairns Hotel Cairns
Rydges Tradewinds Hotel Cairns
Cairns Rydges Tradewinds Hotel
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Cairns
#20 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Rydges Tradewinds Cairns staff and other travellers.
12 questions
Ask a question
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Mumbai (Bombay), India
over a year ago
Mumbai (Bombay), India
over a year ago

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from Rydges Tradewinds Cairns staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you can afford it, a balcony room is worth it.”
 of 5 bubbles cindyk258, 23 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room away from the Elevators, and preferably a sea view!”
 of 5 bubbles Bograt17, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“On this trip we had a room overlooking the Esplanade, but the rooms at the rear still have balconies and a limited view of the bay.”
  • View from our balcony looking toward the airport.
  • View from our balcony looking toward the pier
 of 5 bubbles 179cartoonr, 10 Feb 2017 | Read review
“go somewhere else”
 of 5 bubbles Ckf53, 8 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Pick an ocean view room. Quite spectacular of a morning when the sun is rising over the Coral sea”
 of 5 bubbles grahamwalker1, 2 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5