We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Travellers Oasis Backpackers

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Travellers Oasis Backpackers
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

853 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 778: English reviews
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

Beautiful hostel, oustandingly clean! The staff is really helpful. The kitchen is very well equipped and has anything you need. They hold on to their house rules and guarantee for a good night sleep with no noise after 10pm. Entirely great stay!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Judith E
Espoo, Finland
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Great atmosphere, quiet and clean, very friendly staff, good location. Stayed for 4 nights at a private room with a nice balcony. The pool looked nice, we were away on snorkeling and diving tours during the days. Thank you! I would highly recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Suvi S
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

We stayed in travellers oasis for 4 nights. The hostel is really clean and in a good location. The staff is really helpful and welcoming, thanks for that :)! I would recommend the hostel if you are staying in Cairns!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 414kristav
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed at the Travellers Oasis hostel for 2 nights, while in Cairns to sight-see and go on a reef live-aboard tour. The staff, including Micky and Kirsten, were very helpful, knowledgable and hospitable in our time there. The accommodations were fine, about what I would expect from a hostel at this price, but the people were what made this...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Samarth B
travellersoasis, Owner at Travellers Oasis Backpackers, responded to this review

Firstly thank you for staying with us and we are totally delighted you enjoyed you stay with us. Your words are very kind, so we Thank You. You are more than welcome to return anytime. Enjoy the rest of your trip

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Travelleres Oasis is a great place to stay when in Cairns. Its in a good location right by the train station and a shopping mall. Its about a 10 minite walk to the Lagoon. The facilities are very clean and well maintained. The pool is really nice. There are two kitchens that are very well equiped. It has nice sitting...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fabienne P
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I spent four days at Travellers Oasis and loved my time there. The staff was very welcoming and helpful, despite having a lot to take care of. Some people complain on here about waiting a while to be taken care of at the desk, however the front desk staff are there to both check people in as well as help...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris U
travellersoasis, Owner at Travellers Oasis Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Chris, thank you so much for staying with us. We all really enjoyed the time you spend here.Safe travels until next time

Curitiba, PR
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My boyfriend and I started there for a night because of the price and the excellent reviews. We got a twin bed room because there were no more doubles. The place is okay but the guy in the check in was not that friendly and left us waiting a long time while chatting with a cute female customer. Our bedroom...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mipontal
travellersoasis, Owner at Travellers Oasis Backpackers, responded to this review

Firstly thank you for staying with us. We do try out best to give guests a great experience upon check in , I am sorry you feel there was a delay , however we do like to treat all guests equal and do try to offer the best service we can by explaining the surround area , shop restaurants etc....

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed there 5 nights in a 4 bed share. All in all it was okay. What I liked: helpful staff, friendly vibe, nice setting, free WiFi, towels included, comfortable bed, relatively clean What I didn't like: not enough bathrooms, to go to the bathroom I had to walk a pace where there was no roof; so when it rained...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Svenja E
travellersoasis, Manager at Travellers Oasis Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi, thankyou for staying with us and we are really happy about you enjoying the helpful staff, free WIFI, comfortable beds etc. We understand there was no plug socket right next to your bed, however there are actually 6 plug sockets in that 4 bed share, because it has solid walls we found it hard to install them right next...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We had travelled from Melbourne up to Cairns and spent our last night in this hostel, really good vibe and the friendliest staff I came across in Australia. As soon as we arrived they set about making sure that our room was ready as quickly as possible and spent the short wait discussing what we wanted to do in Cairns...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tanisha C
travellersoasis, Owner at Travellers Oasis Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks for your lovely review, makes it all worth while to heard those words, You are welcome any time, and every time

Warrington
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Clean, friendly with a max of 3 people in each room. Couldn't fault for the price. Close to the shops incase you run out of anything with discounts available for some local restaurants. Pool could have been bigger but not many people around in the day

 Report
Helpful?
Thank allycat79
travellersoasis, Owner at Travellers Oasis Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi, it is our pleasure and thank you for staying.Glad you enjoyed your visit.

165 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (163)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (98)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
2.1 km away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 68 in Cairns
519 reviews
1.2 km away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#10 of 68 in Cairns
951 reviews
0.9 km away
Tropic Days Backpackers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Dreamtime Travellers Rest
0.5 km away
Gilligans Backpackers Hotel & Resort
0.1 km away
Gecko's Backpackers
Gecko's Backpackers
#8 of 88 in Cairns
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to Travellers Oasis Backpackers Hostel in Cairns.Travellers Oasis is a charming little guest house offering cosy and clean facilities to the budget conscious traveller, in a friendly and relaxed environment.Centrally located in a quiet area, our guests can relax in our sparkling pool, or lie back in our hammocks and chill out to the music. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Travellers Oasis Backpackers

Address: 8 - 10 Scott St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Price Range: RM93 - RM223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Travellers Oasis Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travellers Oasis Backpackers Hotel Cairns
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Travellers Oasis Backpackers staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Travellers Oasis Backpackers staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“back rooms are the quietest and most cosiest”
 of 5 bubbles ni0mij, 24 Jun 2016 | Read review
“quite and friendly hostel,”
 of 5 bubbles vanesa_carralero, 29 May 2016 | Read review
“Single room, one person price available.”
 of 5 bubbles mme8771, 28 Mar 2016 | Read review
“The double bed room has it's own TV and little fridge and even in the shared rooms each person has access to a personal safe.”
 of 5 bubbles aliner274, 20 Mar 2016 | Read review
“It doesnt matter in which room you are - they are all beautiful. :)”
 of 5 bubbles Van1103, 4 Jan 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay